We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Comfort" rooms are small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong to your Saves list
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok) (Tai Kok Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Comfort" rooms are small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The two of us booked for a 6 night stay but found the comfort room too cramped for two people. We had to squeeze past each other at the foot of the bed! This would be OK for an overnight stay but difficult for long stays. Upgraded to a Suite-Air room which was much better. The breakfast was good and omelettes are cooked on the spot. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel Cosmo don't have a bar but the hotel Rosedale next to the Cosmo has a bar on the 30th floor with excellent views of Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room if you plan to stay awhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    854
    195
    34
    16
See reviews for
430
558
137
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 kids and we stayed in a family quad room for four nights. The room has a double bed and twin beds for the kids. This was the biggest room available and the rate included breakfast for 4. Thou the room is not all that big, I should compliment the designers for making effecient use of the space. On the plus side are the friendly staff especially the ones at the concierge. The rooms are clean and well layed out. The breakfast was more then ample with a good mix of local and continental varieties. My kids appreciated the free goody bag and the welcome basket that was given to us on arrival. The only thing that was 50-50 and not entirely to my liking was the location. The hotel is located in a middle class neighborhood and is a good 15 mins walking distance to monkok and olympic stations. For the first timers to HK especially the ones traveling with children I suggest looking at options closer to Tsim tsa tsui or Admirality neighborhoods. For others this is a good bet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Karthik

Thank you for your comment. We’re delighted to learn that you and your family had an enjoyable 4 nights stay in our thoughtfully designed guestroom.

As for the location, our hotel is only a 6 to 10-min stroll from Olympic MTR train station. Alternatively, you may take our free shuttle service to Mong Kok train station which take only 5 minutes. In fact, we are located midway between Mong Kok and Tai Kok Tsui where many travellers find it an ideal place to experience the local cultures. The hotel is also close to many tourist attractions such as Temple Street and Ladies Market and mega shopping mall like Langham Place.

On your next visit, our concierge team would be happy to show you the nearby swimming pool and children’s activities venue which are located at the Tai Kok Tsui Government Complex Building right opposite to the hotel and will give you more travel tips so that you and your family can experience the best of both worlds.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with husband and son. Stayed in the suite air. Very good location walking distance to Olympic mtr station which is just a few stations away from Sunny Bay station if you're going to Disneyland. McDonalds, Mannings, Watsons, Wellcome, 7-11 and local restaurants are just a few steps away from the hotel. Very convenient.

Hotel staff are nice and really helpful. Service is prompt. Check in and check out was fast. Service can be compared to a 5-star hotel.

Facilities wise, we didn't really encounter any issues with the elevator. Most of the time we used it, elevator was fast but there was one morning where we had to stop to every floor. Probably it was the hotel's peak hours and many guests were using the elevator all at the same time. The only complaint that we had was the wifi connection in our room. It was really slow and it was never mentioned when we checked in that we cannot do simultaneous login to the net. So if you have 2 ipads or laptops only 1 person can login to the wifi. The breakfast buffet served on the 2nd fl will fill you up but I would have to agree with most of the guests feedback that there weren't much variety in the food.

Overall, i would highly recommend the hotel to anyone and would definitely consider staying again in this hotel next time we visit Hong Kong.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Cynthia

Thank you for your comment. We’re glad to learn that you were pleased with the excellent service rendered by our professional staff and found the location to be convenient.

As for the speed of the WiFi connection, we had our IT team to look into this issue to identify the problem as we want to ensure our guests will have seamless access to Internet, our apology for any inconvenience caused. Also, your comment on the breakfast is noted.

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon and experience the same pleasant stay with enhanced breakfast selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel was satisfactory. They provided everything advertised. There were some communication problems and the sofa bed was uncomfortable but these things are expected when travelling through parts of Asia. All round sufficient for our short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

On the plus side - the front of house staff were excellent. I found the mattress as hard as rock and when the staff understood my problem they provided a lovely feather topper - hey presto a good nights sleep. However, the so called queen sized bed was a challenge for a couple of "larger" people, and if you're over 6 foot tall then your feet will definitely be off the end. We didn't mind the rather open bathroom but we've been married for 27 years! We had the hotel breakfast one day and a Macdonalds on another, the hotel was pricey but as its a buffet style you could fill up and not need a big lunch! Two different metros that are walkable (10 minutes) but Kowloon is in the heart of Hong Kong and not as pretty as the Island. Be prepared for noise, traffic, people, high rise flats - the real everyday Hong Kong is here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Tina

Thank you for your comment.

We regret to learn about the bed size, in fact, bed extension is available for our taller guests upon request to ensure guests have a good rest. However, it’s good to know that you found the additional topper comfortable.

Regarding our bathroom, our Suite Air and Room Family Quad both offer a spacious separated bathroom for guests who valued privacy, perhaps next time you may reserve an alternate room type to experience a more relaxing stay.

It’s also nice to know that you were pleased with the excellent service provided by our front office staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for 4D3N in a twin room. The room is small as compared to other similar hotels I had stayed before. My friend and I still knocked into each other sometimes though both of us are small Asian size girls. The toilet is small and the frosted glass toilet door can't close fully, leaving a tiny gap in between but we are ok with this since the toilet door is facing the wall not the beds.

The location of the hotel is great, with many local shops, cafes (cha chaan teng) and a 24hr McDonalds just across the road. We often walked to the Olympic MTR station which is just 10mins away (faster route to Central MTR station) rather than the Mongkok station which is further away. In fact, we skipped the free hotel shuttle service since it did not coincide with our timing. We only used it on arrival and for departure to the Kowloon Airport Express line. The rooms smelled "smoke-free" and clean as not all hotels in Hong Kong which claimed "smoke-free" smelled the same way. The Simmons beds were also a bonus to sleep in - comfy and with just the right softness for me. Water flow from showers and heaters were in great working condition. Our rooms were not on a high level, next to the main street and a highway (no view to speak of) but we have no problems sleeping through the night - either we were too tired or the bed was just great to sleep in!

You need to request for Wifi access in the rooms at the front desk. The connection is inconsistent and keeps dropping off so you have to reconnect a few times. Only one person can access at any one time in the room. The wifi at the lobby is much faster and better. Hope the hotel can look into improving the in-room wifi connection.

On our arrival, we asked the Concierge for lunch recommendation and we had ourselves a great roast goose and wonton noodles at a local cha chaan teng near the hotel! Best of all is the dessert shop named Noble, we went there 3 nights in a row for the fantastic desserts (especially the mango varieties), way better than any Xu Liu Shan (许留山) chains. For those who want to visit the one-Michelin star Dim sum restaurant Tim Ho Wan near Olympian City 2, it is just a 10mins walk via the route to Olympic MTR.

The hotel is also quite near to the Ladies Market, Argyle Centre and Langham Place area for shopping, though it requires a 10-15mins walk. We didn't mind as it helps us to "digest" all the food we have taken!

Overall, the hotel location is a great place to stay if you do not want to get stuck in a crowded noisy central area and do not mind some walking. It's pretty quiet at night and though the rooms can be a little bigger, we are fine as we are out most of the time. For the price we paid, this is quite decent (we made early online reservations online and got the early bird discount) . Probably will try the Cosmos at the Central/CWB area the next time.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor - above 12th to have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear June,

Thank you for your detailed review and sharing your experience at Cosmo Hotel Mong Kok! We’re happy that you had an overall very enjoyable three nights stay with us.

For guestroom size, we offer five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m. Our Suite Air and Room Family Quad both offer ample spaces for a more relaxing experience and provide a spacious separated bathroom for guests who valued privacy. CosMorganic Room in particular, offers an impressive bird-eye view of the city, I hope you will consider staying in this room on your next visit for a complete different experience.

We have noted your comments on the WiFi coverage in room. Our IT team will certainly investigate further and rectify as appropriate to ensure guests will have seamless access to
internet. We regret for the inconvenience caused.

Again, thank you for appreciate our 100% smoke-free policy and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Comfortable room with separate lounge and ensuite. Clean and well stocked.Fruit on table on arrival wonderful surprise,and quality very good. Staff friendly and willing to assist.Good bus service gets you out and about. McD's over road for coffee, and minimart on opposite corner has cold cheap beer/wine.Overall, enjoyable stay in Cosmo Mong Kok

Room Tip: Take a deluxe suite for size. Understand standard suits cramped. Extra cost well worth extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#105 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Booking this hotel online to enjoy 100M Free WiFi in-room, flexible 24-hour check-in time and a full 24-hour stay! (for hotel official site booking only.This Mong Kok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free with Ladies Market and Temple Street night market just 10-15 minutes’ walk away for an local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon available. 24-hr open fitness studio available. Cosmo Mongkok is a Green City Hotel award winner and a certified Green Globe Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.