We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little jewel in kowloon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong to your Saves list
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok) (Tai Kok Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,681 Reviews
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“little jewel in kowloon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Cosmo Hotel is a very good solution for your stay in Hong Kong. The structure is very nice and clean, and you are almost surprised to find this in Mongkok. The room was absolotuly great, very comfortable and cozy, the bathroom as well was stylish and clean, with a nice view. Buffet breakfast is a full meal with a wide variety from international and local cuisine: yoghurt, cereals, bread, butter, mermelade, oatmeal, eggs any style, mashed potatoes, beans, noodles, little dumplings....
The staff at the front desk is absolutely helpful, especially Eddie was very kind and efficient.
The hotel offers a very useful shuttle service that helps you connect to the most important places in the surrounding area and to the metro stations. In a walking distance : Ladies Market and Argyll Street.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    858
    195
    34
    16
See reviews for
432
559
138
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yangshuo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay at the cosmo. Staff are welcoming and helpfull. Rooms are imaculate clean, small but well conceived with large windows. The bed was very confortable. The location is little out of the action but its a 10 minute walk to the subway. The hourly shuttle with 3 different stops works amazingly well. Good value for Hong Kong.
Would go back anytime!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. It’s our great pleasure to hear that you’ll be coming back to stay with us. It’s good that you were impressed with the cleanliness in our modish guestrooms and its large window that allows you to oversee the hassle and bustle of the city. It’s also nice to know that you have enjoyed the warm hospitality rendered by our professionally trained team. Location-wise, the hotel is at the heartbeat of Kowloon Peninsula and the nearest Olympic MTR station is only 4-minute walk away. The free shuttle services runs daily brings our guests to explore the famous shopping area and local interests around the city. It’s great that you considered your stay with us a great value in Hong Kong and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel doesn't provide the corresponding value for the amount that you pay. It is in a decent neighborhood but not the best. The rooms are very very small. I was in a suite, and it was tiny. The worst has to be the complimentary breakfast. The chef obviously does not taste what he serves as it is lacking in any taste whatsoever. Doesn't look good either. In the land of dim sum, they have chosen to warm up frozen pre-packaged dim sum instead! what sense is that? You're better off walking out and finding some local cheap eats for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Wendy, thank you for your feedback. The hotel in fact comprises of five room types sizing up to 42 sq m and all of them are smartly designed to maximize space for guests’ comfort, guests can select the room with size that best fits your needs when making reservations. While situated in the heart of Kowloon Peninsula, the nearest Olympic MTR station is only about 4-minute walk away, our free shuttle services runs daily to multiple destinations in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon brings our guests the utmost convenience. The breakfast buffet available on the 2nd floor provides a wide selection of Asian and Western options including fresh fruits, cereals, bakeries, made-to-order egg dishes and more. Your comments in regards to the breakfast is well taken and it will be directed to the restaurant for their review and further improving the food variety and quality. Meanwhile, the neighborhood surrounding the hotel also provides an array of restaurant and eateries featuring local and international cuisines for guests’ selection. We look forward to serving you a better stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We're sending this email is to share with you our feedbacks regarding of the excellent service given by your managers and staffs especially Mr Eddy Lo and some of the managers that had served us (we have forget about their name) that are working at cosmo mongkok hotel. We had a unforgettable stay at this hotel. The managers are making things impossible to possible that made my husband and i impressed. They're friendly with a smile all the time. Its equally good as s'pore 5 star hotel. Keep out the good excellent service skill from them. Mr Eddy Lo had always guided us on where to go. We are even planning to stay at this hotel during my birthday. Thank you for the red wine and the complimentary upgrade of the room. We'll be checking out on 25 oct 2012.

Mr Teo Sin Eng, dominic and wife

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were very impressed with the hotel (service, staff and room) and is in a great location from the airport, shopping and sites. The staff was friendly, accomodating and handling every need and question efficiently. Once, when we were standing outside the hotel trying to map our location, one of the staff came out to help us. We have never encountered that degree of helpfulness in any other hotel. The room was a delight. It was well-appointed, creatively designed and had every necessary essential we could have wanted. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent as well. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

First trip to HK but we had done our research, noting that HK hotels tend to be expensive and small. With this in mind, the Cosmo is great. Modern and clean, everything we needed and nothing we didn't. Very helpful front desk staff and concierge. MacDonalds opposite does a surprisingly good coffee. Free shuttle bus will pick you up either from the airport train station or the ferry terminal complex and is reasonably regular, mitigates you being outside walking distance from the main tourist areas in TST. 10 min walk to MRT stations. Mongkok as a suburb is fantastic, gives you that more 'local' HK experience but still has some nice shopping centres and cheap markets. Would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for 4 days 3 nights in Family Quad Room. Our room had a great city view on high floor as our request. Room was spacious and clean. Hotel shuttle bus service was another choice to get the shopping area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#105 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Booking this hotel online to enjoy 100M Free WiFi in-room, flexible 24-hour check-in time and a full 24-hour stay! (for hotel official site booking only.This Mong Kok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free with Ladies Market and Temple Street night market just 10-15 minutes’ walk away for an local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon available. 24-hr open fitness studio available. Cosmo Mongkok is a Green City Hotel award winner and a certified Green Globe Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.