We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely come back again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong to your Saves list
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok) (Tai Kok Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,684 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Would definitely come back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We are a family of 5 who stayed at the Cosmo Hotel in early October for 10 days in their Quad Room. We booked this hotel direct via their website and the process was efficient with quick responses on several questions which I had. The professionalism of the whole process was demonstrated when I received an email several days prior to my arrival noting the weather forecast and upcoming activities during my period of stay in Hong Kong. My request for a higher floor to see the views 48 hours prior to my arrival was also met. We were provided with a fantastic view on the 25th floor! Yes, I admit the room is small but the way in which the room is designed still made our stay comfortable. Besides, this is Hong Kong where space is limited and in any case, we were out everyday during our stay.
This is still a new hotel so our room was clean and very modern. Water pressure in the shower and bath was exceptional. House Keeping was also trust worthy and spot on with their services. There was a lovely lady (with glasses) who looked after us very well and it is unfortunate that I did not get her name to personally thank her. The Cosmo has it's own shuttle bus which we found very handy during our stay. A taxi fare from Canton Road should set you back no more than AUD$6 if you miss the last shuttle (I think at 10.45pm). The MTR is within a 10 minute walk from the hotel if required.
The staff at the Cosmo Hotel, especially Mr Andrew Lee and his team undoubtedly made our stay worth remembering. There is indeed a high level of service which Mr Lee installs in his team who were helpful with their recommendations and answers. Special thanks to Gary and Hugo, and once again Mr Lee who allowed us to extend our check out time to 2pm as our flight back to Melbourne was not until late afternoon.
My only disappointment with the Cosmo Hotel was their breakfast buffet which did not offer much variety. We were provided with breakfast during our stay but choose to eat out instead.
Wifi is available at Cosmo but I believe at a charge. We were provided with complimentary usage throughout our 10 day stay via our Internet booking.
The hotel is conveniently located with McDonalds, restaurants, convenient stores and a supermarket across the road. There is also a local playground and indoor swimming centre located across the road in another block.
I would definitely stay at the Cosmo Hotel again and I highly recommend people take the positive reviews noted on Trip Advisor from myself and others into their consideration should accommodation be sought in Hong Kong. Please note that this is also a child friendly hotel. My 3 children were provided with gifts upon our check in.
Definitely a stay worth remembering!

Room Tip: It is worth the effort to request a room on a higher floor for the night time view. We were provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed review. It’s our great pleasure to know that you would consider your stay with us worth remembering! Nice to learn that you have enjoyed the free WiFi services that offered exclusively for guests who make bookings through our hotel website, there are also more to offer including free 24-hour check-in/out services and best rate guarantee. We’re glad that you were impressed with the weather forecast and events highlight sent prior to your arrival, clean and modish room with exciting city view, attentive services rendered by our professionally trained team. Your kind compliments will be directed to Mr Andrew Lee and the front office team, as well as the housekeeping team. It is always encouraging to hear from satisfied guests as the positive feedbacks strive us to further uplift our standard of services. While the breakfast buffet offered a wide range of Chinese and Western choices with fresh fruits, cereal, bakeries, made-to-order egg dishes for guests’ selection, your comments will be directed to the restaurant so they can further revisit the menu options. Though our neighborhood offers all you may need, the free shuttle services to multiple destinations extends utmost convenience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    862
    195
    34
    15
See reviews for
432
560
138
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a very good hotel the only let down is that the rooms are small we had to upgrade to a suite for more room. Food, service and staff where very good. All staff speak a good level of English, the hotel also offers a free shuttle bus which runs regular and is very good. We where very happy here and the view is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Danial, thank you very much for your feedback. It’s great to know that you have enjoyed the exciting view of the hassle and bustle in our tranquil Suite Air. Our hotel in fact comprises of five room categories sizing up to 42 sq m to serve different needs of international travelers. Guests can feel free to contact our reservations team upon booking and they would be happy to give suggestions that best suit the needs. The free shuttle service available daily runs multiple destinations in Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon which brings our guests utmost convenience. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Took the entire family of 7 (grandma, 2 parents, mother in law, my wife, daughter aged 22mths and myself) for a getaway. Was trying to look for a place accessible but not too cRowded, child and elderly friendly meaning min 2 lifts so that at least one is working at any point in time and has food stalls nearby). Was abt to give up until I saw this hotel on groupon. Was in Macau for a night befOre coming to here and the weather wasn't very good on the ferry. Check-in using groupon coupons didn't prove to be too difficult or time consuming as it toOk less than 15 mins to get the correct roOms specs exactly to the way we wanted! When we entered the room, was surprised they really can fit 3 beds in that small room! My girl is small but she needs lotsa space to turn and toss herself around when she is asleep. I must compliment the house service and desk for meeting our needs! They looked so young but nOnetheless v professional. A hour after our rest, they slipped a letter informing us on the tour details we have had made. Impeccable svc attitude after they followed up with us on their own as we made our way to the concierge. Free wifi unfortunately is limited at the lobby and not all the areas. Didn't think it is that worth it to pay since I promised to spend family time. The hotel to our understanding is a new hotel hence no worries on the cOndition.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It’s our great pleasure to learn that you are satisfied with our accommodation which fits the needs of your family vacation and the smooth check-in, also nice to know that you were impressed with the attentive services that rendered by our professional team. The hotel provide five room types sizing up to 42 sq m and all are smartly designed to meet different travelers’ needs. Apart from the restaurants and eateries providing a host of local and international cuisines that appeal to different taste in the neighborhood, the hotel offers complimentary daily shuttle services to multiple destinations which bring our guests to explore other exciting happenings around the city. Please visit our hotel website for the latest promotions, guests who book on the official hotel website will enjoy exclusive privileges including free WiFi, free 24-hour check-in/out service, best rate guarantee and more. We look forward to welcome you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I want to comment on the extreme helpfulness of the staff at the hotel. The guest services manager, Yannick Lau, was especially helpful when the internet cable was not working in my room. He called the techicians and others to make it right.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms are clean, and yet the service of the staff is what stood out to me.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are small so make sure you get the right sized room for your need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Rook booked prior 30 days with hardly remark for double bed but failure. I'm concerning what the purpose to raise the 'Comment and Special Request' to the hotel and what they are provided. And the lobby staff always talking funny with themselves, respond late. No remind for any of their services like how to contect internet. As they did not reserve the double room so they arranged to combine single bed to one but I need to wait outside the room almost 15 mins. and state in the room wait half hour for their worker. Fortunately, their staff manner still in place when face to customer. And I better to change my hotel to east HK and found 100% better than Cosmo Hotel Mongkok. Just my feedback at first day of my trip. too bad..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Ken, thank you for sharing your comments. We would like to learn our guests’ preferences and needs upon their bookings and we always strive to accommodate all the special requests during their stays. We regret to learn that your request regarding double bed could not be accommodated due to tight situation of the hotel and high demand during your stay. Your comments was brought up in management’s meeting and we’ll further look into the demand of double bed and increase to fulfill the needs. We’ll also reinforce the training for frontline staff in order to uplift the standard of services, also further review the procedure for change of beddings and rooms to ensure guests’ convenience and comfort. We hope to be serving you a better stay in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a wonderful hotel to stay. From the first email from reservations to the last regarding an item we left behind the staff are wonderful and always willing to help. We had a family quad room (2 adults & 2 kids 4 & 6 yrs) and it was more than enough. The shuttle bus is very good but we also walked to the ladies market as it is not that far and we felt very safe. Breakfast was a good selection of east and western foods. Would recommend anyone to stay here if you want to be close to the markets. Our only regret is we only stayed 2 nights. Will be back again

Room Tip: We had family quad rm 1060 which was the disabled room and I think gave us a little more room. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

we have just got back from hong and singapore, the hotel in hongkong was amazing, the service is outstanding, they go out of thier way for every thing for you, the hotel is clean, comfortable,the room size is very good, and the bed is so good to sleep in i was sleeping in every morning, and missed some of the breakfast, which is a buffet breakfast with plenty to choose from every time.
the location is fantastic to, macdonalds across the road, supermarket and chemist all 2 mins away.
over all i would definatley stay here again, and would highly recommend the hotel to others!
and many thanks for the gift at the end of our stay, it was a nice way to end our trip!
keep up the great work guys, your hotel is one of the best we have stayed in for a long time and we travel a lot.

Room Tip: we have a 13 year old and the suite air room was perfect for us, with plenty of room, 2 tvs and free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#101 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Booking this hotel online to enjoy 100M Free WiFi in-room, flexible 24-hour check-in time and a full 24-hour stay! (for hotel official site booking only.This Mong Kok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free with Ladies Market and Temple Street night market just 10-15 minutes’ walk away for an local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon available. 24-hr open fitness studio available. Cosmo Mongkok is a Green City Hotel award winner and a certified Green Globe Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.