We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong to your Saves list
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok) (Tai Kok Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Disney / Ocean Park Tkt
Ranked #60 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at Cosmo in April 2012 for 2 nights. It is a wonderful hotel, the staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs. We booked a Family Quad Room, which slept 4, as we wanted our 2 year old son to have his own bed, not use "existing bedding" as many other hotels offered! We had heard the stories of how small the rooms were in Hong Kong and was very pleasantly suprised with our room. It had a wonderful view down to the city and a very large bathroom. The cleaning staff came regularly. The hotel is situated within a comfortable 5-10 min walk to a shopping centre and Ladies Market. There are food markets nearby also, which is fun to check out. The Cosmo complimentary bus is very handy to get around. The only issue we had was finding the pickup point at the Kowloon Station. We booked for a late checkout of 6pm, which cost us about $70 Australian, as we had a late flight out, but this worked out much better than having to book an additional night to allow us to keep our room late. Will definitly use Cosmo again when travelling through Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Quad Family rooms offer a queen and two single beds, which can be pushed together. Great for famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    1,019
    223
    39
    17
See reviews for
494
687
175
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and speak English beautifully. However the rooms you are actually booking are just so small and compact you can barley move around let alone have any privacy. I suggest if booking with this Hotel choose rooms higher than Superior or Orgainic as we had to do a last minute upgrade to a larger room that was suitable.

Room Tip: When booking only book the top suites - the superior & organic rooms are the smallest I have eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our hotel provides various room types that feature different room size for multiple travel purposes. Our Suite and Quad Room is at a spacious 42 sq. m. especially our Suite is designed with separate dining room and bedroom for more privacy. We are glad to hear that you reckon our property beautiful and our staff friendly with good proficiency in English. We hope to have you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

we stayed in the hotel from 6th -11th April. having stayed with family in a tiny flat, we were looking foward to staying at the hotel. How disappointed we were. The hotel and rooms themselves were great, the only problem we had were that the other people staying there were forever banging doors and shouting up the corridors to each other at all times of the night, which meant we didn'ty get much sleep. The second night i asked to be moved but when i went back to get our things ready i was told by the maid that the two rooms directly in front, who were making all the noise had checked out and she was now cleaning the room for other guests so we decided to stay in that room....we should've moved, as the next people were just as loud.At one stage i stood by the door and told them to be quiet, this was at 3am!!
Overall, the 5 nights iwe stayed there we awful, 1 good sleep in 5 days, only because i turned the air con on full, therefore it drowned out the noise of the doors and people.
The people who made the noise were either Phillopinos or Mainland Chinese as i followed them out of the lift one time. One room at 2am,were having a party, the noise was so loud.
One thing the hotel could do is put some sort of strip on the door to stop it banging each time it is shut and put families with children on different floors to groups of friends who will obviously come in late and bang doors all night going to each others rooms.
Not good stay..Found a hotel, pacific Island for £45....was great hotel with massive rooms and even useed there swimming pool, shouldve stayed there for the 5 days...No door slamming.
I wouldnt recommend this Cosmo Hotel unless you were hard of hearing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us! Cosmo Hotel Mongkok offers multiple room types that feature room size from 18 to 42 sq m. If a more spacious option is opt for, we would suggest our Suite or Quad room which is a roomy 42 sq m. In case if there is any issue or even a room change is required during the stay, guests can always approach our 24-hour on duty guest services manager to assist and arrange. Thank you for your suggestions on the door strip and in fact, all rooms of us are equipped with sound-proof facilities to endure high degree of privacy inside the room. Our hotel offers free shuttle service running around neighborhood, free Wifi is accessible in public areas which are extra perks and also a 24 hours open gym room which definitely add good value to the accommodation. We sincerely hope you will choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I found this hotel after months of searching on the internet, and it was a great.
It´s located at walking distance to the main shopping area, including markets and many bus tour stops. They´ve also got a hotel bus with many stops to main attractions which was a lot of help.
As in for the hotel, the rooms are pretty small, but we got a room on the last top floor and despite its size it was lovely. If you´re a couple, the best thing is to organize your bags and clothes, and once thats over without things in the way, its actually a really nice size. The room also had these big window looking out with lovely views.
The bathrooms is also small, but had a normal shower and a rain like shower too, so after long walks in the city, it was great to come back to this.
All in all, id definetely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us! The hotel is amid busy junctions between Tai Kok Tsui and Mong Kok where heaps of shopping spots and local experience await. The hotel provides daily free shuttle service to Mong Kok (Langham Place Mall and subway station), Tsim Sha Tsui (Canton Road and Harbour City) and West Kowloon (Elements and airport express train station) for guest convenience. Room-wise, we offer different room categories featuring room size between 18 to 42 sq m. All rooms are smartly deigned to boost space for storage and moving around. We are glad to hear you love the big windows with the views. Rain shower head is one of the most favourite facilities while our suite room is equipped with a bath tub for a different experience. Thanks in advance for recommending us. We hope to be of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I had an almost wonderful stay at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok from 25th - 28th March 2012. Family Quad room is fantastic but how i wish if there is a bathtub in. But i feel the drainage design of the shower area should be further improved. The water never once drained totally. But its just a very minor area. The tv was great in the sense we can rotate it to the direction we preferred but only 1 side of the room is able to view, the other side have to move over to enjoy the program. The only area i was a little upset was the cleaning of the room daily. The day after our first night the rubbish we bag and place on the table was not cleared perhaps they dont know it was rubbish however after our second night the house keeper threw my shoe box away! Was pretty surprised and upset because we have difficulties trying to bring back my shoes without the proper shoebox and my brad new shoelaces were inside.

Other than that, everything was great. Location is good, lots of nice food around and never worry about nothing to grab in the middle of night as MacDonald is just opposite. Shuttle bus every hour to Mongkok, Tsim Shatsui and Kowloon which is super convenient but be there to reserve a seat as it can get pretty crowded at times. A hotel I strongly recommend and high chance to choose again if i visiy HongKong.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for submitting us a review! Our family quad room fits 4 persons and glad to know that you enjoyed your accommodation! If a bath tub is preferred, our Suite would be the right choice. Thank you for your comments on the drainage and we will look into the matter closer. Regarding the room cleaning, our housekeeping team is briefed once again having to pay more attention on trash disposing yet of anytime of the day if you need assistance in getting rid of any trash, please do not hesitate to contact our housekeeping team. Location-wise, we are nestled in a unique location and just across the street will find numerous eateries and convenience stores that surely add convenience for travelers. The hotel provides daily free shuttle service (28-seat coach) running on a first-come-first-serve basis to Mong Kok (Langham Place Mall and subway station), Tsim Sha Tsui (Canton Road and Harbour City) and West Kowloon (Elements and airport express train station) for guest convenience. Please choose us again! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in Cosmo Mongkok for a full two weeks and had a great time. The service in this hotel was awesome! Girls and boys on the front desk were very polite and helpful as was the manager also (we had some trouble with the shower and it got fixed while we were out shopping). The hotel was a nice surprise; very clean and modern. Although the room was very small, it was functional and the view from up high was great. AC was a gift from the gods as it was over 30 degrees Celsius outside. The breakfast is a bit overpriced and is every morning quite the same. The hotel is easy to find and a nice walking distance from the Olympic station. We always walked to the Olympic or to the Langham Place (a little further away) but the hotel also provides a free bus service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I will give the service, location and cleanliness of this hotel an A+. I enjoyed my 3 nights staying here and will definitely recommend it to everybody. The hotel shuttle is very convenience. You can take it to either shopping areas or to the MRT station that links you easily to other places or to the airport. The restaurants close by open at 6:30 am and serve tasty local food. The only draw back is the tiny room - not much space to move around. But, it's Hong Kong! It's a place where you only need a bed to rest after a whole day of non stop activities.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.