We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok) (Tai Kok Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Hotel itself is fairly new. It's somewhat close by a Olympic subway station (about 10 minutes walk). They do have shuttle bus to major subway stations. The shuttles run every hour or so. The room is a little small for the money I paid however. Even tho it's a little further away from the major Mongkok area, there are plenty of local small eateries around the hotel. If those places are not your taste, there is a McDonald's right in front. One thing that pisses me off is that when I book this hotel, they claims to have free internet access. However, when I'm inside my room, the wifi is locked and the LAN needs to paid in order to go online. I called the reception for the price, and the lady said it's going to be HKD$12 for 24 hours. After I went for lunch and came back to the reception and ask for the price again, they told me that it's HKD$140 for 24 hours. I ended up not paying for the internet because no one can tell me the correct answer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Cosmo Hotel Mongkok is only a short 4-min walk from subway Olympic Station and a 10-min walk from Nathan Road – centre of Mong Kok. The hotel also provides free daily shuttle to drop off guests at Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon for shopping and sightseeing. For room size, we have 5 different categories vary from 18 to 42 sq m with our Room Family Quad spacious enough to fit in 4 adults. Surrounding the hotel you’ll find plenty of local style eateries for example Chinese restaurants, congee shop and one very famous cart noodle shop which is just a 3-min walk from us!

About the Internet charge, the standard 24-hour plan is HKD$120 plus 10% service charge. And if Internet service is included in the room rate, guests will still need to pay a HK$12 per day as the service charge which is to be collected by the service provider. Such terms are stated on the hotel website as well as on the booking confirmation. Thank you for your comments though, and we will pay more attention to our staff on giving out information. We hope that our convenient location will bring you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    458
    697
    164
    31
    12
See reviews for
364
450
107
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011 via mobile

Hotel is clean and I have a wonderful stay during my trip to hong kong. The Wifi line at the lobby is fast. Friendly staff and the hotel provides free shuttle service to most of the mtr station. But the hotel only has 2 elevators which has limited space, so if in that morning a group of customers need to check out then you'll need to wait 10-15 minutes to get a ride. But overall I'll like to stay here again for my future visits.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for writing us a review and we are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our Internet enjoys a speedy 100MB connection for a pleasurable surfing experience. MTR subway station is only a 4-min walk away and our free daily shuttle service drop off guests at Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon for shopping and sightseeing. Regarding the elevators, as a matter of fact a 3rd guest lift is scheduled for construction in early next month and will be in service in mid of December 2011.

Once again we are pleased to have you here and hope to be of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria bc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This was our first stop on our honeymoon and we were quite satisfied with the Cosmo Hotel. The location is a little farther away, but we found everything in Hong Kong to be in walking distance, plus the hotel offers a free shuttle hourly I believe. There is lots to do and see nearby, and public transportation is great in this city. The hotel rooms are small, but nothing uncommon in Asia. The front staff were helpful and friendly also. We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and liked the blackout style curtains and little reading lights attached to the headboard. There is no free internet in the rooms which is a bit of a nuisance, however, in the lobby you do have free access. It can be busy there, but we never had too much trouble finding a seat. There is also a 24 hour McDonalds across the street, which is convenient if you are hungry at odd hours.

Room Tip: Book early to get a better rate on the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you very much for writing us a review! You are right that there are a lot to do and see nearby our hotel area as we are overwhelmed by an array of shops and local eateries such as Chinese restaurants, congee shops, herbal tea parlor, so on and so forth. We also have a few convenience stores within walking distance which adds great convenience to hotel guests. To ease guests a little bit more, we offer free daily shuttle to drop off guests for shopping and sightseeing in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon. In terms of room size, we have 5 different sizes ranging from 18 to 42 sq m. for various travel purposes. Wired and wireless Internet is accessible with a charge inside the room, while free WiFi is available in hotel lobby and restaurant on 2/F.

We thank you for the praises that go to our friendly and helpful staff! Currently our official website is offering some special early birds promotions and those exclusive offers will be updated from time to time. Do check out our website when you next visit us and be prepared to come to us with good surprises!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

First of all, the hotel is not accessible by MTR or public transport. This is made up by an excellent free shuttle bus that leaves the hotel every hour at half past for MTR Mongkok, China ferry terminal and Kowloon MTR station.
The neighbourhood is nice and safe, full of restaurants, shops and eateries.
To walk to Mongkok MTR takes about 15 minutes.
Nearest big shopping Mall is Olmpian City at Olympic MTR.

The staff, especially concierge and porters are all very helpful and friendly.

Our double room was very small. Not really enough room to leave your backpack or suitcase.
Clean, with good bed and hard mattress. Full of mirrors.
The safe in the room is a good thing.

Only drawback is a double beep(tone) every time the lift opens to the corridor. This we even heard at night, although our room was about 4 metres away from the lift.

Forget about the breakfast buffet in the hotel for HKD 110.
Across the street there is a nice bakery.

Room Tip: 1. not near the lift 2. the higher up the better (hotel has more than 25 floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Your subject “Good value for money” marks a very good compliment for us so thank you! You are right our hotel is located at a very accessible location where subway stations are just a few minutes’ walk away. Our daily free of charge shuttle service is also our most favorite service that has eased hotel guests from doing shopping and sightseeing in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon. Your praises have also been passed on to our concierge team in which their helpfulness and friendliness have won applauses from other hotel guests too. For the room size, we have thoughtfully designed 5 different categories measuring 18 to 42 sq m. Our Suite Air and Room Family Quad provide a spacious living environment for triple and quadruple occupancy respectively! Our bed is from the internationally famous brand Simmons and as we understand sleeping is a very personal experience hence we provide mattress topper if a fluffier support is what is sought after. Our Housekeeping team will be delighted to assist if you need anything in the room during your stay.
All our rooms are equipped with sound proof facilities that ensure privacy in-room, if there is a need for room change, guest can approach our 24-hour on duty Guest Services Manager for assistance anytime of the day. Breakfast is served at the famous in-house Italian Cinecitta restaurant where a variety of hot dish and cold cuts are served in the morning. To experience a taste of Hong Kong, there are abundant selections of local eateries such as Hong Kong style café, congee shop, Chinese restaurants, etc immediate around the hotel. Hope to have you here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The room was lovely, the view was amazing, and the free buffet breakfast made my day. It was easy to walk to Olympic Station and the mall at Langham Place. But while the staff was perfect in a robotic way, I wish they had been a little more human. I understand that check-in doesn't start until 2, but when you see a guest waiting for an hour beforehand wouldn't it be nice to say "your room is ready now" at some point? At one breakfast a staff member interrupted my meal to demand my meal coupon -- which I'd just given to her co-worker. Nitpicky, but I just got a cold, inflexible vibe in general. Again, everything that mattered was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Location: It's approx 10-20mins walk from the hotel to the nearest Olympic MTR. walk across the road to Mcdonalds, past Mannings (Guardian) store and you'll be at the start of the bridge walkway. after that, its a breeze.
To get to Mongkok for Ladies Market, its bus 18, just 2mins front of the hotel or 2mins towards the left side of the hotel. although the return trip is just 3 bus stops away from mongkok (take the bus 18 across Langham Palace, Mongkok Market), the route to mongkok from the hotel may take about 15stops as it goes thru the neighbourhood area. but really, its so convenient if you don't wanna walk to the MTR.
There are restaurants all over the area beside the hotel, 7-eleven, 24hour cafe, mcdonalds, pizza & western food restaurant and a grocery store.

Room: Comfort Room was clean, the housekeeping does that everyday too, mine was on the 25th floor, its quiet enough not to hear televisions from other guests but you can hear them chatting when they walk past. (encountered noisy families) toiletries from towels, shower gel & body lotions, tooth brushes, paste etc were provided. the room had wifi router which you could plug your laptop to using the lan cable provided. my room had an ipod/iphone speaker which you can plug your iphone to, very nice touch. mini refrigerator, safe with complimentary water. the room had a good view with automated blinds that you can keep close for privacy.
i would think a couple with luggages may find the comfort room small as the walkable areas in the room may be blocked if you place the luggage on the floor. the bed was comfortable and lush. the room i had didn't have a closet. so comfort room would be good for single travelers

Service: Staff could speak english, cantonese, mandarin I'm not sure about other languages, their service was prompt and good.



Finally, yes, i would stay there again!

Room Tip: Comfort Room - For Single travelers and Couples who do not mind the lack of area for luggages to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I did not read abt their quad room review thus give it a try for my family of 4. It was excellent and spacious and is exactly what we wanted. A double bed and 2 single bed. Mr Augustine and his team were very helpful and thoughtful thru our stay. Mr Augustine attend to our need and send little gift for the children personally and tat make their days. The shuttle bus is useful but is not a problem to hail as cab if u miss e bus. Food is everywhere around e hotel. I will come back and recommend to my friends. Well done

Room Tip: go for quad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Booking this hotel online to enjoy 100M Free WiFi in-room, flexible 24-hour check-in time and a full 24-hour stay! (for hotel official site booking only.This Mong Kok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free with Ladies Market and Temple Street night market just 10-15 minutes’ walk away for an local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon available. 24-hr open fitness studio available. Cosmo Mongkok is a Green City Hotel award winner and a certified Green Globe Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.