We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China (Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #35 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The view was spectacular, and I found the service was quite nice. The staff were polite, the transport was convenient and the facilities were really cool. The pool was quite long, but it was good, because it didnt have a deep end, or a shallow end. And near the pools, there were changing rooms which had spas in them. I found it quite refreshing, and relaxing to stay there. Overall, I think it was the best hotel I have ever been to.

Room Tip: Have a room near the lift, because the hallways were quite long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    737
    110
    27
    23
See reviews for
340
414
210
554
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queen Charlotte
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

You'd choose this hotel for its proximity to the airport, and you'd find you'd made a good choice. It's very modern, which means if you aren't comfortable living with rectangles and corners, you're out of luck, but it's very functional, and perfect for a late or early flight. Don't book this fhotel or a long Hong Kong holiday, and then gripe because it's a long way from town! It does a good job of being an airport hotel, and that's what you should expect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

An unexpected cancellation required us to book a stop over hotel in Hong Kong. Normally we stay on HK Island or Kowloon, but due to urgency we booked the Sky City at the airport. What a fabulous result. The ease of transfer from the airport was amazing - very speedy, very efficient and very helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable - better standard than other Marriotts, and the reception, bar, restaurant and heath facilities were of very high standard. The hotel operates frequent shuttles to the MTR and the airport - so we were able to buzz into Kowloon in next to no time, with the greatest of ease. We also had very helpful concierge who drew up great sightseeing plans and routes for Lantau Island which took in some beautiful sites and used local buses (great way to see the island) and the cablecar. Breakfast was one of the better buffets. Whilst undoubtedly a business hotel (but with all the service to match), the staff were great in helping the tourists. The spa and wellness facilities were available to guests after check-out, helping those with late night flights. A great stay. An unexpected surprise. Makes HK stop over very very easy.

Room Tip: We were on the water side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Tip: look out for deals from Zuji, got mine at 16% cheaper than other online deals. For a group of 4, you can book a deluxe room and request for two double beds.

Reached airport and took the shuttle bus for a 5-min ride to the hotel. Check-in was smooth. Nice lobby.

They have free shuttle to airport and to Tung Chung MTR. So pretty okay although there is practically nothing near the hotel.

Room is clean and of good size, okay for a party of 4. Amenities are okay for 4-star hotel. Food is great though, albeit expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel for one night to meet my business partner for some business meeting. In general the hotel is quite good in terms of hardware, such as room size and cleanliness, restaurant, and other facilities. although the location is far from city, the shuttle bus service to main metro station and airport is really helpful. And I must say the shuttle bus drivers are really polite and kind.

But one thing makes me really angry to this hotel. When I checked-in, the front desk is quite polite and efficient, although it was in a very late night. However, the next morning, when I walked to the front desk for some help, there is a guy wanted to find his friend who supposed to wait for him there, He just wanted to check the information of this guest. From what he said, I can tell that it might be his first time to go overseas and also in such a 5-star hotel, some questions he asked might be inappropriate and even funny but it is obvious that he does not know how to deal with his issue. What makes me really angry is the attitude of the duty manager, which is very very very rude and impatient, not a service attitude at all, even like a father shouted at his own son. I think maybe because this guest is from mainland China and does not look and act in a Hong Kong style? I cannot accept that such different behavior when you deal with guests from different country.

Never to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff is very agreeable, almost too eager to assist....but the hotel is not being properly maintained. The windows in my room were so dirty I could not see clearly outside. The wall coverings (cheap to begin with) were peeling off in my room. Marks, scuffs and scratches in the hallway and in my room.

Transportation to the hotel is sometimes very needlessly cumbersome....go to a waiting area, check in at a desk, be seated in a lobby, sit and wait, be escorted to another waiting area, board an SUV, be crammed-in and driven to the hotel.

The room service food is awful and pricey. I mean criminally bad food at above NY hotel prices.

There is no place to walk to, no other businesses of any kind within sight.

This is not what you expect from a Marriott. Feels like a cheap convention hotel with overeager trainees staffing it.

It is close to HKG, and convenient that way, but next time I will invest the extra 1/2 hour and just take the train to the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed one night last month. After arrived at Hong Kong airport, I went to the hotel booth and found the Marriott one. They found my record and suggested me to go downstair and wait for the shuttle bus. The shuttle bus came in about 30 minutes and Marriott guy came down to get us and escorted us to the shuttle. It only took about 3 minutes to the hotel from the airport. Check in was no issue. The room is big to Hong Kong standard. There were welcome fruit bowl waiting for us. We left early next morning without opportunity to taste the food there. You got to check the swimming pool. It is a beauty and no one was around except me. Again, perfert hotel for transit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Address: No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of Lantau Island, with stunning views of the South China Sea, the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel is a Hong Kong airport hotel offering a refreshing escape from the bustling city and an alternative landscape for your meetings and conferences. The hotel is near the Hong Kong Airport and is directly connected to AsiaWorld-Expo. It provides luxurious accommodations with 658 guest rooms facing the sea or golf course, 14 state-of-the-art meeting rooms spanning more than 13,000 square feet of meeting space, five restaurants, pampering spa treats at the boutique Quan Spa and has SkyCity Nine Eagles Golf Course on it's door-step. Transportation to and from the hotel is a breeze as it is located next to the Hong Kong International Airport and is just a 28-minute train ride from the city. This modern day oasis is perfect for conferences and business travelers seeking the best of both worlds - the luxury & convenience of contemporary living, set against the peaceful tranquility of Lantau Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.