We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect layover location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China (Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Theatre Package
Ranked #33 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“perfect layover location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a 23 hour layover and booked a night at SkyCity Marriott. We went to get the shuttle and we had just missed it so they sent us in a private car. Check in was easy and we went to our lovely room and wentto sleep after 20 hours of flying. The next morning we ate breakfast there...a beautiful buffet but extremely expensive since we dont require alot of food in the morning...$58USD. Room servfice would have been a better option since we just wanted oatmeal.
We checked out early and left our luggage at the conceirge while we too the train into town. it is next to the Expo center where we caught the express train (about $11.00round trip) into town for a day of sightseeing. It took about 30 minutes to get there.
Upon our return we collected our luggage and again just missed the shuttle so we went in a car to the airport.
The room was very quiet and comfortable. I think rates vary from site to site so shop prices if you have the time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    659
    95
    24
    21
See reviews for
300
360
193
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a typical Marriott hotel, beside Hong Kong Airport. A great stopover between flights, good service with excellent transfers from the Airport. A bus runs back to the airport every 20 to 30 minutes. Just remember its by the Airport, a long way from downtown Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade plus lounge access when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Awesome hotel, very close to the airport. Interiors are pretty swank and yet cosy. One of the best beds i've slept on. The food was also good and the best part is that it's located just outside the airport. The free bus service to & from the city center is a big plus. It was great for a stopover. Like all Marriott properties - very professional and true five-star property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The title is a bit more exciting than the review, but this hotel is just very handy.
Its at the airport via a quick bus ride provided by the hotel.
Its clean and has all the modern amenities you'd expect at a Marriott.
Don't spend your whole trip here, but its great for a stopover.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had seven hours to burn at HKG airport between two long international flights and after doing some research, decided to head on over to the Marriott SkyCity for a quick re-charge. We didn't stay at the hotel...instead, we purchased a day pass for the fitness center ($220HK,~$30US), which provided access to their cardio/weight equipment, pool, and locker rooms for sauna, steam room, and shower. A top notch facility. Very clean, equipment was in great working order, televisions on the cardio, and even a swim-suit dryer by the pool so our clothes were reasonably dry in our carry-on bags for the flight back to the US. The staff was helpful, bringing water bottles as we needed...for sure a five-star experience.

Room Tip: No reservation was necessary, but if you go early (we arrived ~5am) you may have to work with the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Appreciated the spacious rooms and two double beds. Service was helpful in general.

Room service was prompt in delivering food.

Buffet breakfast started being very good to ok after eating four mornings. Need more variety please. And dim sum should be better quality for Marriott.

Shuttle bus was great. Disney ones should start earlier though. 10am is too late!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the Skycity for 3 nights to attend a conference being held at the hotel.

Very typical rooms for a 4 star hotel, a little dark and dated for my taste but comfortable. The air conditioning units were very loud.

I had requested a non smoking room via the conference organiser and on arrival was told they had all been sold out and had to take a smoking room.

As a non smoker it was pretty awful and the smell was stong but there wasn't much I could do about it. The hotel certainly didn't offer any options, including moving me if a non smoking room became available during my stay which was disappointing.

The public spaces are quiet nice and the pool is great. The food at the conference was above what I would normally expect.

This hotel is a long way from anywhere. For me that wasn't too much of an issue because I was at a conference, however it would have been nice to have some shops and cafe's around at the end of the day.

I did have a half day free and the aiport express station which is 5 min walk away got me into Hong Kong within 30 mins. I went out one evening and whilst taxi's were not expensive by Sydney standards for the distance(approx HK400 to Hong Kong island) the trip did take close to 45 mins.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Address: No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of Lantau Island, with stunning views of the South China Sea, the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel is a Hong Kong airport hotel offering a refreshing escape from the bustling city and an alternative landscape for your meetings and conferences. The hotel is near the Hong Kong Airport and is directly connected to AsiaWorld-Expo. It provides luxurious accommodations with 658 guest rooms facing the sea or golf course, 14 state-of-the-art meeting rooms spanning more than 13,000 square feet of meeting space, five restaurants, pampering spa treats at the boutique Quan Spa and has SkyCity Nine Eagles Golf Course on it's door-step. Transportation to and from the hotel is a breeze as it is located next to the Hong Kong International Airport and is just a 28-minute train ride from the city. This modern day oasis is perfect for conferences and business travelers seeking the best of both worlds - the luxury & convenience of contemporary living, set against the peaceful tranquility of Lantau Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.