We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China (Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #32 of 652 Hotels in Hong Kong
Shanghai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good, but not Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I only stayed in this hotel for overnight transit at the airport. Here below are how I would rate this hotel:

Good:
The hotel is fairly new, room is spacious, gym and pool are great. Has a nine hole golf course right next to it...so you can kill time. There is shuttle take you to airport for flights, food, shopping and movie (iMax!)

Bad:
Location...just like any other airport hotel, you are so isolated although HK airport is one of the most accommodating airports...it's still too bloody far from everything in the city. And you need to take shuttle bus (too close for taxi, no driver will take you) in T2 parking. If you have many luggages, that will be hassle.

Ugly:
Can't think of any...that's why my title is Good, but not Great Hotel.

I won't recommend this hotel, cos I would pick the Regal Airport Hotel...which is attached to T1 terminal if I have to stay for overnight transit again. I think that will be much easier and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    606
    87
    22
    21
See reviews for
282
325
184
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Agree with most of the other reviews. Main point to add it how great the service was, we are Marriott Platinum so may have been special, but there was someone waiting at hotel entrance that knew my name, walked us to our room and checked us in there. Nice lounge and fantastic breakfast buffet in restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent a week at this property, and are very happy with our stay.

The rooms are spacious and impeccable, with some nice touches like a power adapter, a fruit platter and bottled water, etc.

There is a free shuttle service to/from the airport, when arriving at HKG follow the signs to "Hotel Transport" and find bay #29, it runs about every 20 minutes until 0:40am, starting again at 5am the next morning.

To get into the city you just walk about 300 meters to the AsiaWorld Expo Airport Express station, and for HKD 100 round trip you get to Central District in about 20 minutes. The terminus there is under the big IFC mall, and convenient to various ferries and MTR connections.

Despite the property being right by the airport, we found the noise level in the room to be quite acceptable, even while big widebodies are taking off.

Overall, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Had layover and reservations fell through at other hotel, so i arrived at hotel late and with no reservation. I was disappointed hotwire price was not honored and paying 1000 more Hong Kong dollars that room should have cost. Everything else was fantastic. The room left nothing to be desired and the free wifi and breakfast made it convenient since I had a early flight. All the amenities where great, from power adapter, to bath salts there was not much left out. My favorite a plate of fresh fruit, water and ice already in the ice bucket when you arrive in your room. The floor I stayed on had a executive suite for business matters and just sitting out on balcony for coffee. The free breakfast was one of my top 5 largest and most diverse in the world, and number one for an non all inclusive resort. All in all Very expensive, very luxury, Great job.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

From entering the lobby to checking out the service offered was first class.
The room and views were outstanding.
I would never stay anywhere else when I have a flight to get.
5* hotel but not overpriced

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Everything was what you would expect from a five star hotel. I got everything that I requested for on my online reservation and even gave complimentary wine and cheese since we were there on a honeymoon. Executive treatment, still superb. If you're on a trip to simply relax and stay in most of the time, this is the place to go. But if you're in HK for a tour, it's quite far from all the places except the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattaya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

From the greeting by the Marriott Shuttle, to the checkin process in the Executive Lounge, everything was flawless. Room was outstanding. Staff very professional and friendly. This is my third stay at this hotel, and it just keeps getting better...

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing an active runway, if you're a light sleeper, like me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Address: No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of Lantau Island, with stunning views of the South China Sea, the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel is a Hong Kong airport hotel offering a refreshing escape from the bustling city and an alternative landscape for your meetings and conferences. The hotel is near the Hong Kong Airport and is directly connected to AsiaWorld-Expo. It provides luxurious accommodations with 658 guest rooms facing the sea or golf course, 14 state-of-the-art meeting rooms spanning more than 13,000 square feet of meeting space, five restaurants, pampering spa treats at the boutique Quan Spa and has SkyCity Nine Eagles Golf Course on it's door-step. Transportation to and from the hotel is a breeze as it is located next to the Hong Kong International Airport and is just a 28-minute train ride from the city. This modern day oasis is perfect for conferences and business travelers seeking the best of both worlds - the luxury & convenience of contemporary living, set against the peaceful tranquility of Lantau Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.