We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent everything.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China (Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Theatre Package
Ranked #33 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,585 Reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent everything.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on 04/09/2011 and 15/09/2011. I chose it as an overnight stay between long-haul flights to recover and shower, and i'm extremely glad I did!
The whole hotel is quite new, and everything is very clean and elegant. The room was a standard room, and it was quite large. The furniture and all the gear you would need was in the room, wifi is free if you sign up to be a member (also free). The bathroom was luxurious and spacious, covered in clean textured white marble with very modern toilet and basin. The shower had both the hand-held head and a rain-shower head built into the ceiling. I felt so totally relaxed in the room, and was worried that perhaps the aircraft would be too noisy, but the insulation of the building is excellent and I only heard one or two planes (quiet and muffled) before bedtime, and slept the whole night in complete air conditioned comfort.
The staff are wonderful, speak English very well, and know what they're doing. There is a free shuttle service from the airport to the hotel and vice-versa, which departs every 20-30 minutes and can be used without limits.
I ate twice in the Velocity Bar, although there were very fancy looking restaurants over two floors. The food at the bar was excellent! Totally surprised and the beers are about 500mL. I have stayed at 5 and (I didn't know existed) 6 star hotels (Palazzo Versace), and other than more marble and bigger chandeliers, I couldn't tell the difference.
The outlook probably makes this hotel affordable ($149AU I paid), as it is situated on the man-made airport island itself and is about 10 minutes away by shuttle bus). Despite that, I was on the 8th floor both times and had a great view of the golf course and the channel of water between the island and the mainland. I assume this is why it was reasonably quiet, with not many people around... but that suited me perfectly.
I don't care where i'm going next, i'll be making sure I stop-over here again if possible.

Room Tip: I would expect that higher up would be noiser, but on the 8th floor I only heard 2-3 aircraft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    661
    95
    24
    21
See reviews for
300
360
195
497
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Sweetie & I stayed the night when our UA flight was cancelled and we got put up here for a night with a comp'd lunch and breakfast. Great multilingual service at every juncture. Excellent lunch buffet: salmon sashimi, dim sum, dessert, great variety and int'l cuisines Asian and Western offerings. Except for salad, veggies were disappointing. Delicious breakfast buffet. free shuttle to MTR & airport with excellent service. We elected for a non-smoking room and single bed and got the alter-abled/disabled room - King bed, spacious room. Quiet! Takes awhile to get to and from HK Island and parts of Kowloon like TST but great sanctuary. Great for getting to and from the airport quickly.

Room Tip: Request non-smoking, you need to specify this if its important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Marriotts premium hotel on Lantau is expensive by Marriott standards but reasonable for its prime location in Hong Kong. It's best suited for business travellers owing to the proximity to airport. May not suite well for a general family holiday as the hotel is far away from HK's shopping heart such as Tsim Sha Sui and as well far away from the places of interest in Kowloon.

Rooms are nicely themed and exudes luxury at every corner. The deluxe room I booked was abundant and luxurious with panoramic views of the seas. The dark-wood theme is eye-soothing and attractive. Room amenities are all top-notch and there isn't practically anything to have had complained about.
Front desk staff are extremely helpful and accommodating despite the long queues that cropped up during the check-in/check-out times.
I'd recommend this for a luxurious night-over stays for business travellers especially with plans to catch an early morning flight out of HK.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed her in August with my husband and 2 kids, ages 8 and 1. When we arrived, very tired and with the baby screaming, I was worried about our reception because it seemed to be a business hotel. Well, a doorman and a bellhop met our cab, grabbed all our luggage, helped me set up the stroller and were so friendly to my kids. We checked in immediately nad it was the fastest check-in we've ever done. We got right into our room, and the baby's crib was all set up with linens and everything. So many times when you request a crib at a hotel, it comes hours after you arrive, and you have to set it up yourself, so this was a treat. The room was a good size and set up very efficiently. Wi-fi was easy to get going, the bathroom was beautiful and everything was super clean. We ended up eating dinner at the sports bar, which was kind of fancy looking. The host seated us ijn a quiet area, brought snacks out to my daughter right away and played peek-a-boo with the baby! We stayed 2 nights and it was the best service I've ever had at a hotel. As far as location, it's perfect! There is a shuttle bus that can drop you off at the subway and you can be anywhere quickly. HK disney is only 1-2 stops away. It was great to be so close to the airport for our flight because it allowed us a little more time to rest before we had to leave. Would absolutely stay here if I am ever back in Hong Kong. Enjoy your trip to beautiful HK!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Have always spent my time at HKK airport 'passing through', this time decided to stopover for two nights. Couldn't have chosen a better hotel! Everything was great - service, room, staff, business centre. No noise - slept well each night. Great friendly staff in sports bar & restaurant. Definitely no complaints at all.
Shuttle service fantastic - used it for airport as well as Tung Chung outlet mall.
Will stay here again and have already recommended this hotel to other colleagues.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I’ve been on this hotel on the night of Aug 19th in my way to USA. Service, room & food quality, and the business center are very good. Free shuttle to/from the airport is a plus. I really appreciated my stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have spent several nights on different occasions here and have always enjoyed the stay. We use the Marriott lounge with our kids a lot, where the staff is very supportive (provides baby chair and utensils etc). The rooms are very nice and clean and cribs are provided without any problem. Overall the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The location is nice, too. Even you aren't headed for the airport. The hotel provides a free shuttle to Tung Chung metro station from where you can easily navigate around HK.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Address: No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of Lantau Island, with stunning views of the South China Sea, the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel is a Hong Kong airport hotel offering a refreshing escape from the bustling city and an alternative landscape for your meetings and conferences. The hotel is near the Hong Kong Airport and is directly connected to AsiaWorld-Expo. It provides luxurious accommodations with 658 guest rooms facing the sea or golf course, 14 state-of-the-art meeting rooms spanning more than 13,000 square feet of meeting space, five restaurants, pampering spa treats at the boutique Quan Spa and has SkyCity Nine Eagles Golf Course on it's door-step. Transportation to and from the hotel is a breeze as it is located next to the Hong Kong International Airport and is just a 28-minute train ride from the city. This modern day oasis is perfect for conferences and business travelers seeking the best of both worlds - the luxury & convenience of contemporary living, set against the peaceful tranquility of Lantau Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.