We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel apart from the enclosed interior.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Hanoi Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #33 of 690 Hotels in Hong Kong
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel apart from the enclosed interior.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

You cannot fault the hotel in relation to customer service, location, decor, food, cleanliness etc. But given that HK is one of the best cities in the world the hotel position (land locked between buildings) there is very little sunshine in the public areas and very minimal views. Given that HK has Victoria Harbour, great street scapes and a range of other great sights the hotel seems very removed from the real HK.
If you are not interested about absorbing the atmosphere then the hotel is probably fantastic but I like to live the HK experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    414
    84
    7
    9
See reviews for
219
267
108
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The heated swimming pool of the hotel is only opened from 10am to 6pm, which I find a little too short, not able to swim before business dinner. I wrote to the concierge but their reply was that this is the winter schedule and they will not be able to change as they share the swimming pool with the apartment. I would have thought that for those residents of the apartment who need to work would also prefer the closing time to be extended at least 7pm so that they would be able to swim back home after a long stressful day in the office. But the reply was the standard 'your comment will be taken into future consideration'.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'll never understand why "5 star" hotels insist on supplying $10 hair dryers in their rooms.Or why they charge for wireless internet, this is not new technology, I'm sure the network has already paid for itself, no need to keep gouging. The pool is only open 10am-6pm so if you are travelling on business, this doesn't work. Overall, nice enough hotel ...but meh, not 5 star. Langham Place is a wayyyy better experience for a similar rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The options in Hong Kong are so great that in hindsight I feel I would have been better off right in the centre of town. However I opted for the Hyatt regency on the basis that I had read reviews advising the ease of using the train system, the reviews were typically offering good comments, and best of all the price was very good for a purported 5 star facility.

Being completely unfair, thanks to my suffering a bout of nausea resulting in 2 very ‘crappy’ days, my 4 days in Hong Kong / Hyatt Regency was not what I had hoped for. Can I blame the Hyatt for the nausea and excessive vomiting given that I had only eaten its food for the previous 24 hours? I don’t know, so we will leave that one alone.

What I will tell you is from the exterior the Hyatt isn’t at all pretentious, the entry foyer is nothing particularly special, and the main eatery is just a little above average. However, take dollars and other things into account and it has a lot going for it. Views of the harbour are brilliant, the swimming pool is terrific and the room we had was almost fabulous. A little strange as suggested by some others in having a dining room that isn’t particularly well equipped. But hey, it was well sized, was graced with a decent couch, great desk and chair, small table, king size bed, and excellent bathroom. And then there were the terrific staff.

They fell over themselves to help, in particular Steven (from memory) Lui who managed the Club area on the 25th floor. Steve was simply brilliant and a credit to the Hyatt Regency.

We were on the 16th floor in a Club King with the usual entitlements of 3 hours of happy hour during which you can eat and drink to your heart’s content, they also serve breakfast and the list goes on.

My only real complaint (aside from getting sick) was the bed. It was hard, much harder than I am used to and much more than that experienced in the hotel I am currently in plus 2 China based hotels slept in prior to the Hyatt (all on the same holiday). Ultimately I slept quite poorly.

On a parting note, I read an article by MisoManhasset_NY from October 25th and I have to say that he needs to firstly learn to spell, learn to punctuate and maybe get a life.

Room Tip: Book a club room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wow, I complained once & what a turn around in service. Rooms are average size but then again this is Hong Kong, although I believe the corner rooms are a bit more spacious. Great service. Great food. Great location. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Modern hotel located on Kowloon side in Hong Kong.
Overall very good hotel - as long as you don't need a taxi. The only hotel in Hong Kong where it is almost impossible to get a taxi! Taxi rank is in the basement car park!
Ended up walking to the Sheraton Hotel - four times! - in order to get a taxi! This is painful when it is raining!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency for 4 nights and the room was bigger than most of my relatives apartments in Hong Kong!

Room: Spacious, with very large bathroom and hallway and decent views to Hong Kong Island
Location: Perfect. Right in TST, walking distance to everything TST & Jordan have to offer. Directly opposite an MTR entrance and on top of the new K11 shopping mall
Service: Excellent. Staff were all courteous and always greet you in the hallway.
Facilities: Pool and gym were great. The times I went there was barely anyone there so it was like having a resort all for ourselves
Cost: Booking through at corporate rates, it was about the same cost as what I would have paid for a 3.5 star hotel back in Sydney, so I'm happy!

Cons: The only thing that annoyed me was there was no ironing board/iron in the room so we had to call someone to bring it (and it took 15mins when I needed it urgently!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of Hong Kong Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We appreciate your feedback on the iron and ironing board, this has been addressed with the concerned parties for review. It is a pleasure to learn of your satisfaction with the location, overall hotel service and facilities. We were delighted to receive such recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Xavier Pech - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui

Address: No.18 Hanoi Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui business and tourist district with direct access to the MTR subway stations, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui offers 381 guestrooms and suites, state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities including a pillarless ballroom accommodating up to 400 persons and 5 meeting rooms with various sizes, authentic cuisines with 3 restaurants and a bar, as well as a well equipped fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Tsim Sha Tsui Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.