We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chuen Kee Seafood Restaurant Save

Chuen Kee Seafood Restaurant Save
53 Hoi Pong Street | Sai Kung, Hong Kong, China
852-27911195
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,010 of 4,640 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very expensive.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

You pay for the fish (2 or 3 times the market price) then you pay for the cooking. Definitely not worth going.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Relaxing seafood dinner after hiking in Sai Kung”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I've been to Chuen Kee a few times after strenuous trailrunning sessions around Sai Kung.
This is a concept familiar to HK people but not necessarily to western people.
You get seated, then you go to aquariums to select the beauties you want to be cooked for you and you ask the waiter how you want them to prepare the seafood (boiled, stir-fried ...).
They quote a market price, and basically the price on the final bill will be double. It is very affordable for the freshest seafood.
For the preparation, well, it is cooked in chinese way, so we like or we prefer others (I do prefer vietnamese way but we don't have the same ingredients in HK).

The atmosphere outside is noisy and messy, but who cares.
I would appreciate not to see dogs eating on the tables though.
We can take away if we're too full.
Don't miss the place if you're in Sai Kung.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
440 reviews 440 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Whats all the Fuss About”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Perhaps because I am not Chinese I just cant understand this place. Its rated highly but for me all the dishes taste the same and they just don't know how to nail seafood - no spicy whole fried fish just a mix of seafood (albeit it is fresh) that is average. Seems very expensive for what it is - could they have two price lists? I suspect so and wont be back no matter how many visitors plead me to take them!!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty, pleasant, good value, service not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Visited once for dinner and ordered the set menu for 4, for 3 of us. Was a bit hit and miss - ginger garlic dishes were outstanding; lobster and crab were good - but difficult to eat without the right implements; salt and pepper squid hadn't seen salt and pepper for a very long while, steamed shrimp was very plain but tasty if covered in accompanying sauce. Going back for dinner, I would order a la carte rather than the set menu - but it was still very enjoyable and generous portions.
Also visited for dim sum. Was given the English menu which had 30 dim sum items. Also on the table were 4-5 Chinese menus, where one menu alone had 46 items. But this is standard for HK and as a gweilo you will know that you don't get the same variety. Shrimp dim sum were outstanding; deep fried radish which was supposed to be in a crispy pastry - wasn't too crispy but tasty nonetheless; and custard egg tarts - extremely tasty. Think perhaps the custard had curdled just a tad, but it made no difference to the taste which was delicious. Would have liked a touch better service. I had to ask for sauce for the dim sum and was brought one which was a chilli oil. There were the usual soy and sesame sauces, peanuts and chilli on other tables. Good location and view. Vibrant atmosphere. Would return. You can choose your own seafood from tanks if you prefer. Lunch was around $10 for the 3 dishes - very good value.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh and cheap seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

My hong kong friend bought us to Sai Kung got seafood and we just picked a place which we thought was good. Out bet turned out to be not bad :) it was a FULLY packed 4-storeys restaurant filled with plenty of locals. We ordered a set for 4 and were allowed to choose several items within the allowed dishes. For the price of abt SGD25/pax, I would say it's very cheap. I wouldn't mind returning for the wonderful crowded atmosphere and reasonably priced food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuen Kee Seafood Restaurant Save also viewed

 

Been to Chuen Kee Seafood Restaurant Save? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuen Kee Seafood Restaurant Save, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.