We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service but good location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hong Kong Hostel to your Saves list
Hong Kong Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 F, Block A, 47 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Dublin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Poor customer service but good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here as part of our rtw trip so chose this hostel due to the price and location. The room was tiny, with tiny vented window and tiny bathroom. The bed was hard and we asked numerous times during our stay for a better room but were fobbed off all the time being told that they were full. They put an extra duvet under the bed sheet to make it softer. In the entrance to the building there was a sign saying that the hostel is illegal and also in the lift there was a sign stating that it is illegal. The reception area has a toaster and small kitchette and we needed to come here to use the wifi as it didn't work in the room. Other people were smoking here so it wasn't very pleasant for spending a lot of time in. The man at reception was rude and not very helpful and could not find our booking upon arrival so he ended up asking us what price we'd been quoted even though we'd booked it directly through the hostel's own website. The location is good though. 2 min walk to the underground/subway/metro. Lots of shops and restaurant nearby and there was also a supermarket across the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    53
    53
    18
    21
See reviews for
11
37
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I think HK Hostel the best hostel di HK island. Depend on location, its very strategic.

Located in the area Couseway, there are many shops, include IKEA. If you want to get into the Patterson building, you must know the password no building entrances. You can ask for the password to the hostel manager by email.

For the payment, you can swipe your debit/credit card.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

It's located at the Paterson Street. Paterson Street is famous of nice food,nice restaurant in Hong Kong. Below the Hong Kong Hostel is a fashion walk,where you can easily get the branded stuffs,clothes,handbags and shoes.

When I first arrived that place,I asked people where's the hostel. The hong kong people tell me that the hostel is illegal. then I got a shocked. Then he asked me that don't have to worry about this,because it's many people are staying over there. So I just walked to the street and sort out the building according to the address given. I noticed that the outside of the building doesn't have the name of the HK hostel.

So,i just look at the number of the building and walked into the lift and went up to third floor where it's hk hostel counter and lobby. After check in, a man brought me to forth floor. i don't know how many rooms in the building owned by them,but for sure the rooms are in different floor start from the third floor.I found this out when I was in lobby chatting with some of the guests there. Some of them staying fifth floor,some staying same floor with me.


My room is forth floor,the name of the apartment they didn't put HK hostel,instead of HK hostel,they put WANG FAT ENT. CO.

Anyway,the hostel is clean and strategic location. It's at causewaybay,walking distance to causeway bay MRT.

The hostel stuff is friendly. You can leave your luaggage here for 1 night and it's FOC. For me, I leaved my luaggage there on 14th December. I've booked a dorm at Hi Hostel Jockey Club Mt. Davis HK on 14th til 15th December. Due to I'm going up to the hill,I just carried one small backpack with one suit of clothes with me, so the other things,I just put in HK hostel upon own risk.

For solo traveller,I strongly recommend this place. The buidling,they have the lobby,where you can chat with the guests from all over the worlds, but mostly are western people. You can smoke there,you can drink there. For those who want to surf net have to go to the lobby,because the WIFI signal is the most stable at the lobby.

They change everything for the new guest. Locker is provided for each guests who staying in the dormitory bed.

You can easily access to the HK hostel by tram,MRT,buses and taxi.

This is the website for the hostel http://www.hostel.hk/rezeasy/rezeasy.html

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife didn't want to spend 1000+ HKD for a room so one of her friends booked a room with Hong Kong Hostels for 2 nights -situated at nr 47 Patterson Street. Upon arrival, she was told to go to the building on nr 51 - having appointed room 528(?) to her.
She spotted an insect on the bed (see picture) , thinking it was a small roach- thus "normal" in cheap 1 or 2 star hostels / rooms - and did not bother.
Next morning, she woke up with itching pain and many red dots. She had been bitten 78 times all over the body by bed bugs. Now, back in Taiwan she is under heavy anti-biotic medication, can barely sleep at night because of the pain and itchiness. Not to mention the medical costs which combined are a higher price as a 4-star hotel in HK.
I'd like to inform / complain towards the Hong Kong Health Department but am afraid it won't make any difference as 1 and 2 star parasite hostels are most likely not their concern. Therefore I post a warning here. Avoid the building on nr 51 !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in a private room for 5 nights and can't complain much. It is difficult to find a place in this price range NOT located in Chunking Mansion, which wet heard awful things about. I'll talk about the cons first. The room was hard as a rock, one power outlet, and a broken TV. The computers (which they made with parts) are always turned off to prevent overheating. Staff can (will) not answer any questions so your best bet is to grab a map and ask on the street. Pros were quiet street, fairly clean room (which they have people do everyday), shower had good pressure, and the best thing was location. It's just minutes from supermarket, mtr, and Times Square. Not too many cheap restaurants, but you can find them if your ask the locals. Laundry close by too, but expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I love the location so so much! It's very convenient and I like the street - paterson street!
We booked for a dorm price and we get a private room for 2 person, private bathroom included..
I think I will visit again to this hostel in my next visit to Hong Kong. The only thing that I do not satisfied is the bed.."hard rock" bed...and the WIFI is not that stable at the 10th floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

As far as hostels in Hong Kong go, this is the best, The price is fantastic given its central location in Causeway Bay. Rooms are split across several floors so in-room wifi is a nightmare, I had to balance on the stairwell to get 2 bars of signal. The staff are friendly and willing to help. The rooms...well, they're tiny! But this is HK so you can't expect much. Very close to metro station, supermarket, cafes, cinema....everything!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hong Kong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Hostel

Address: 3 F, Block A, 47 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hong Kong Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and HostelBookers so you can book your Hong Kong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.