We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable & convinence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silka West Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Silka West Kowloon Hotel to your Saves list
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.46-48 Anchor Street,Tai kok Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tai Kok Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Affordable & convinence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The room and the common area is very clean & tidy. Free Wifi in room is the best part. Everything a traveller needs are pretty much in the room except the ironing board. But comes within 5 min after calling room service. location is surprisingly convinence. Only 5 mins walk to Olympic MTR station and within 10 mins ride already arrive major shopping area tsim sha tsui and 15 mins to Hong Kong island. (Then less then 10 mins walk to Lan Kwai Fong after got off the MTR station). Walk to Mongkok Nathan road only a straight line with around 10 mins. Lots of shops and restaurants during the walk. From Mongkok woman to hotel only cost me around $40 HKD by taxi. very cheap especially after a big shopping. Cloth cleaning shop is less then 5 mins walk from the hotel. (Near the MTR station. Next to HSBC building). Very cheap and quick. My whole week dirty cloth cost me only $60HKD to clean and dry. Lots of restaurant, bar and dessert shop next to the hotel. 1 min walk. They open till VERY late. I had my supper at 3am. Staff member are very nice and speak English well. The hotel is not locate in the Main Street. Very quite for a goodnight sleep. Good hot and strong water pressure from both the hand held and heaven shower head option. Nice shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Ronotti

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Hong Kong. My team and I are delighted that we have met your expectations both in terms of service provided and also, the facilities provided and location of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip which we trust will not be too far away.

Best regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    104
    97
    32
    13
See reviews for
37
69
42
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and received good service throughout. I had to change room to a non-smoking one and faced zero resistance, the cleaning service was great, and the men at the concierge were nice and helpful. However, the bed was a bit hard while airconditioner was dripping water the last night I was there. Besides, I can hear people talking at the hall well.... But overall I think the location (I had to travel to HK station everyday but I liked Kowloon area) and price can somehow justify that and I felt happy about the stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Seabathing9

We are indeed happy to learn that our service lived up to your expectations and we do apologise for the slight inconvenience of the air condition and noise during your stay with us.

We will check the room concerned and ensure that the issue is rectified and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is clean, good location, accessible to many shopping centers and most of all they have friendly staff...it was our (my husband and I) first time to travel abroad and it was a very good and memorable experience for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Asie77

Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to learn that we have played our part in making your first trip to Hong Kong a memorable and enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your return trip.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

For 2 nights...
Directions: nearest is Olympic mtr. Also can be walked from MongKok Mtr.
Service : Very Good .Reception clear in explanation at checkin.Able to talk in english and mandarin. Staffs also helpful when asked about local directions.
Value : Good. Not extremely near mongkok markets but decent distance able to walk if fitness is not a problem. Safe. Intermittent Wifi signal.
Sleep Quality: Good. No serious disturbance.
Cleanliness: Very good. No issue. Beds, toilets and table were decent.
Location : Good.
Rooms : OK for 2 (single beds). TV was ok. Aircon was functioning well, though too cold at times even after adjusting it to "low". Toilets looked great. Kettle available in room.
Swimming Pool None or not aware.
Fitness center None or not aware.

Room Tip: Probably choose room @ top floors for a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Carlos Tevez

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Hong Kong and we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback in relations to value, service, quality, cleanliness, location and most importantly sleep quality is very much appreciated and will be conveyed to our team members accordingly.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hong Kong.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights as this was a tour group arrangement. Rooms were shoe box size, fridge was not cold, power point was down and toilet was barely enough for 2 persons to stand in.

Hotel staff werr friendly but that could not supersede the hotel stay experience.

Given this experience I will never ever stay herr again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear charismatic_charis

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Unfortunately, there's nothing much we can do to address the issue of the room size but we do have within our hotel different room categories to cater to our guests' needs. As part of our commitment for tour groups however, the room types are already pre-determined.

We regret to note that despite the warm and friendly service provided by our team members, we are not able to 'wow' you sufficient for a return stay. Nevertheless, should you be in Hong Kong in the near future again, we do hope you will have a change of mind and allow us the opportunity to prove our hospitality to you.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Its my 1st time to visit hongkong and we stayed in this hotel. Not so big hotel, Very small room, very small comfort room. Aircon was really cold. No cable, so the tv was useless, i dnt understand chinese. Coffee provided. They have 2 elevators, no problem with the lift. Yes it was clean, smells good inside. If u have kids, its ok to stay here, but can only accommodate max 2. Breakfast buffet was excellent, complimentary internet provided there. If asked, will still go back. Its very near train station, and shopping areas. They have shuttle bus for transfers. Services was good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear leeh_09

We are happy to learn that you have an enjoyable stay with us and trust that you have enjoyed your first time visit to Hong Kong.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hotel is not located at tourism area, however it is in walking distance to subway station. It has shuttle bus to one major shopping mall and Kowloon station which connect to airport express train . The room is very small for western standard but it is clean and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear smallfish_hk

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. Whilst we are not really located with a 'tourism area', there are plenty of local experience within the vicinity of the hotel; and the free shuttle service is a plus point to designated areas. We are happy to learn too that you found the cleanliness of the hotel up to your expectation and trust that your trip to Hong Kong was a memorable one.

Warmest regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silka West Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka West Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.46-48 Anchor Street,Tai kok Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka West Kowloon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka West Kowloon, Hong Kong is a value hotel situated in Tai Kok Tsui, a booming new city in Kowloon. The hotel has 141 rooms that are affordable. It is only 35 minutes drive away from the Hong Kong International Airport, 8 minutes to the Mong Kok East Train Station, 10 minutes away from the China Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and within close proximity to the vibrant district of Tsim Sha Tsui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Silka West Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Kowloon
Silka West Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silka West Kowloon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.