We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable memory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silka West Kowloon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Silka West Kowloon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.46-48 Anchor Street,Tai kok Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tai Kok Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
Peking
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Uncomfortable memory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Not as close as the hotel told us about their location from the metro station named Olympic.There will be a 20mins to walk from the subway.The double room is the most small ones that I ever seen.Unfortunately,the bed is the only place you can get seated!The staff on reception always fail to give you The regular service and breakfast is truly expensive.Let me tell you the only one thing I glad to remeber.On the 2nd day we staied in this hotel,I bought a Manchester United Sticker Collection 2010-2011 with 50packs stickers by Panini for 39HKD in a Seven-eleven retail just across this hotel which can charge me near 220CNY in my home-city and I never see the same thing in other 7-11 retails in HK.

Room Tip: no recommandation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmopolito, Public Relations Manager at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We regret to hear about your experience with our service at the reception. Your feedback is important for us to know which areas we should improve on to meet our guests’ expectations. Please accept our apology as well for this.

Regarding Silka West Kowloon’s location, it is a 10-minute walk from the Olympic and also the Mongkok MTR Station.

Our rooms are designed to provide all the facilities for a comfortable, secure and affordable stay for the benefit of budget travellers. For guests who prefer more space, which includes an ample sitting area, guests can opt to stay at the Silka Suite. We hope you will give Silka West Kowloon another chance to provide you with a more memorable experience!

The buffet breakfast at Maroon Caf?is priced competitively in line with other hotels in Hong Kong. There are also room packages that come with breakfast to offer our guests better value for money. This can be booked directly through our website. Alternatively, our convenient location also encourages guests to explore the surrounding area for delicious and cheap local delights.

We are glad to hear that you found the collectible Manchester United stickers just opposite our hotel. It is always interesting to learn what travellers discover whilst staying with us! Again, we hope that you give us another opportunity to provide you with a better and more memorable experience of not just Hong Kong, but of our hotel.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    103
    85
    32
    13
See reviews for
31
64
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed here for three nights because I couldn't find any better that suited my budget. Seemed okay at first, with a relatively low rate, but I quickly realized that you had to pay for everything, so I guess it wasn't that cheap. Also, the room rate increased for each night, to almost twice as much for the last one. Wifi costs 30HK$ for an hour! Never tried the restaurant. It was closed half an hour early one night when I went there. Okay location, with a good mall quite close, and the MTR within walkable distance. Room wasn't that bad, clean and comfy, but not that spacious. Staff was not good, I almost had to bring an orchestra with me to the reception to get a lobby. They merely look up at me, not even saying hi when I greeted them as I came and went. Not really eager to help when asked either. This puzzled me a little, service in HK wasn't great in general, but this was horrible. We asked for a non-smoking room, but according to the floor index in the elevator, it was actually a smoking floor. Could be worth it for a night or two, but you'll find better. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed here one night only. Rooms are super small (even by HK standards) but very clean. Hotel over charges for both telephone calls and for use on internet. Not recommended a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011 via mobile

It worked well to go to Disney but I would seek somewhere cheaper next time. Beds were china hard, rooms were china small. The baby cot was too high for our 1.5 year old, would have been great for an infant.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed on last 09 Oct 2011, one of staff was book a room for us with very bad attitude. The staffs look down all the customers whose speaking mandarin. The staffs don't know how to speak English and mandarin, only can speaking Cantonese. I am very dissatisfying their service.

Room Tip: Customer service are terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

stayed last May 29, 2011 in a standard room good for 3. The room is too small but normal for asian people. The room has small fridge, table with sachet of coffee, sachet of shampoo & bath soap, TV, phone. You will need to deposit 300Hkd for the other expenses that you might encounter before you check in and you can refund the money upon checking out. The staff is a bit nice, the room is clean and the food is great (breakfast american style)
No free wifi, you will charge 20hkd per hour I guess (I can't remember) the plug inside the room has only one so we still need to charge our phones/camera one by one.
Good thing is it's near the ladies market, about 15minutes walk, 5minutes walk to 7-11 convient store and about 15minutes walk to olympian city mall

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I think the room was too small as well as the bathroom but nice and clean. Nice view from 19th floor. Had a simple buffet breakfast. Too bad they have no FREE Wifi, you need to ask the front desk if you want to use the internet, you can choose from 1 hour connection, 3 hours and a 24 hours. The 24hours will cost you a 100HKD. But over all this hotel is not bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silka West Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka West Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.46-48 Anchor Street,Tai kok Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#57 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka West Kowloon Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka West Kowloon, Hong Kong is a value hotel situated in Tai Kok Tsui, a booming new city in Kowloon. The hotel has 141 rooms that are affordable. It is only 35 minutes drive away from the Hong Kong International Airport, 8 minutes to the Mong Kok East Train Station, 10 minutes away from the China Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and within close proximity to the vibrant district of Tsim Sha Tsui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Silka West Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Kowloon
Silka West Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silka West Kowloon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.