We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing way to see Victoria Harbour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duk Ling

Duk Ling
Victoria Harbour, Yau Tsim Mong Distict, Hong Kong, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 392 Attractions in Hong Kong
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Landmarks
Attraction details
Grafton, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing way to see Victoria Harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family and I had a most relaxing afternoon 'harbour cruise' on this restored working Junk. As it is only for tourists you have to make a booking. We did this at the Hong Kong tourist office at the Star Ferry terminal Kowloon side. The friendly staff at this office could not have been more helpful and were most accommodating as we had two young grandchildren to take care of.
Beware, it is not equipped with any fancy seating so don't expect anything in the way of 'luxury'.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Took the boat ride on the harbor. Should have had more commentary did not explain what we were looking at and, as a tourist attraction, definitely should have done so. On the plus side, not an expensive outing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Chinese Junk ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The only way to sign up for a ride on the Duk Ling Chinese Junk is via the HK tourist office on the Kowloon side of the Star Fery terminal. You get a wonderful 60 minute ride around the harbor in an authentic Chinese Junk. Great fun.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A great way to capture photos of the skyline”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked this through the Star Ferry Tourist Office who were really helpful. We took the trip in the early evening and were really lucky with the weather.

The ride was very relaxing and we managed to get some great photos along the way - my daughter (15) fell asleep from the motion of the boat but the rest of us really enjoyed it.

Well worth $100 per person - would recommend this to anyone who has had a busy morning out and wants to just relax for an hour and see HK from the harbour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great way to chill out amongst the madness of HK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We decided last minute to take a trip on this traditional Chinese junk, the Duk Ling, one afternoon in Hong Kong and it ended up being one of the most enjoyable experiences we had there. You can only buy tickets on Thursdays or Saturdays unless you buy as part of a tour package. Tours run every hour from Kowloon and Central (boarding point alternating between the two) and last an hour. We got on the boat at Kowloon; if you turn right after exiting the Star Ferry pier you will find the HK tourist info centre where the very helpful staff will sell you tickets, you need to buy beforehand. Then it is a short stroll to the Junk pier. Once on board you can sit inside or on deck at the rear of the boat, it's a very comfortable ride as there are large padded seating areas, as it was quiet when we went we even had a lie down! There is a brief introduction on the history of Victoria Harbour in both English and Cantonese, and then the rest of the hour is spent leisurely sailing the harbour, taking in all the well known sights of Hong Kong. It's great to be on board such a traditional vessel whilst being surrounded by speedboats, ferries, cruise ships and cargo ships! A must do in Hong Kong!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duk Ling also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Duk Ling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duk Ling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.