We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Cityview Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Cityview Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Jordan / Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Was at CityView from 14/8 for 4 nights. Have to agree that it was the more memorable stay since we started visiting HK yearly. We are regular visitors especially for the summer sales and find this hotel above its peers for value-stay. The lobby is large and the counter staff very friendly. Housekeping was excellent and they attended to us readily when we requested. They are also buses just outside the hotel that will bring you to Causeway Bay (HK Island) and even Shatin direct.

Would definitely revisit the hotel again if the package is competitive!
A gem in the Mongkok and YauMaTei area indeed!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    779
    259
    44
    19
See reviews for
301
404
141
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

This hotel provided us with a good value for money base in an excellent location. There were a number of school/youth parties checking in at the same time as us but the hotel seemed to be locating them in the original block whilst putting families and individual guests in the newer block and higher floors. We had a slightly surreal experience of having a temperature gun aimed at us as we checked in - the receptionist asked my permission but my husband and daughter were not asked or told what was happening. Our room was spacious and more than large enough for the three of us. It had been newly decorated. There was plenty of storage space. We asked for additional coathangers and pillows which were brought very promptly. Our safe was not working but a workman arrived quickly and the fault was corrected within minutes. The room contained a large double and a single bed - the matresses were firm and the bed linen new. The room was well cleaned and maintained. We were given a voucher for one free breakfast, so went down and tried the meal on our first morning. The dining room was full of the aforementioned school parties, but the meal was quite adequate. We decided however, that it wasn't worth the £12 per person that it would cost us to buy so we relied on the Best Baker by the station which filled us at a fraction of the hotel price! We also tried the coffee in the coffee lounge but would not recommend it - it was overpriced and sloppy with coffee grounds throughout the cafetiere - disappointing. We were also disappointed to be told that the pool and gym had been closed. Our room key kept failing and having to be replaced. The hotel staff told us it was because we were placing it next to a mobile phone - as we didn't have one with us this seemed unlikely.
I would however recommend this hotel to you. It is in an excellent location and will provide you with a good value for money central base for your stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I asked the taxi driver to take me to the Cityview and I gave him the address. He was surprised as he dropped me off with the comment "Oh this was the YMCA.' Believe me, if every YMCA was like this then there would be no need for any more outstanding hotels! Someone has completely turned this former YMCA into a jewel in Hong Kong.

The rooms are huge! The price is very affordable considering you are in Hong Kong. A real bargain. The beds are comfortable with wonderful sheets. You will not have a harbor view but you are only 15 minutes away from the harbor on the subway once you leave the front door of this hotel. The subway is almost at the front door just around the corner. I went everywhere on the fabulous subway system in this city. Even to Lantau to see the Giant Budda. You are within walking distance to the night markets. .

The front desk is most helpful and so respectful of all their guests. The breakfast is wonderful. There is a chef by the name of Rambo who makes omlettes to your order with a great smile. Wonderful to see someone who really enjoys his work in the hospitality business. No need to wait since he is so quick at it. Save time and have a great breakfast here and you will probably just need a light lunch later in the day.

This hotel is very clean. You cannot find a speck of dust anywhere. My non-smoking room was perfect. They do charge to use their computers but if you travel with your own there is free internet. I do not think you can find a better deal at this price anywhere in Hong Kong. Again, I did my homework and found this hotel using the reviews of fellow Tripadvisor members. You cannot go wrong with this hotel. I look forward to staying here on my next trip to Hong Kong!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

The only reason this hotel did NOT get 5 stars from me, were the paper thin walls that allowed the slightest noise to come into your room.

For a Hong Kong hotel, my room (1022) was quite spacious. As with most beds in Chinese hotels, the mattress was quite firm. Pillows were excellent. The bathroom was a good size and the toiletries that were provided were good.

The "check-in" staff were friendly and efficient and the concierge staff were superb in their directions and helpfulness.

With an MTR stop right across the road and Nathan Road less than a block away, you couldn't ask for a better location in Kowloon. The "Night Market" and the Ladies' Market are both a very short walk away.

For the price, an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stay there for 2 nights during July 2009. The hotel is on a superb location, just a few minutes away from the Ya Ma Tei MTR station. (Take exit D, then cross the road on your right hand side, then turn right again and walk straight for around 50 meter). Lots of great food and good shops in the area. Also easily walk to the lady market and temple street. 7-11 mini mart is next to the side entrance of the hotel. The girls at the reception were very friendly and helpful. The room was nicely clean. The shower pressure was so nice, I wish I could take shower the whole day. Perfect value!!!

Only one minus point: the wall is so thin, I could hear everything on the corridor.

I’m planning to re-visit Hong Kong in 2010 and will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

I've just returned having stayed at this hotel and would not hesitate in recommending it.
Checking in was smooth, the staff, friendly, the bed was very comfortable even though other reviewers didn't like the firm mattress and the breakfast buffet was plentiful and reasonably priced.
I didn't have a laptop, yet I was able to use the hotel's computer facility at 30HKDollars for half an hour. (It could be added to the room bill, or paid for in cash.)
The hotel is the first stop from Kowloon Station on the K5 free Airport Express Shuttle bus service, and it runs every 20 mins between 6am to 11pm.
Yau Ma Tei MTR station is just 2 mins walk from the hotel using the A2 Pitt Street exit. Ladies' Night market in Mong Kok is one stop up on the line but to walk it, is just under 10 minutes. Go up Nathan Road and start at the Dundas Street end of Tung Choi Street. Yes, it gets crowded but you don't miss any of the stalls if you start here and make your way to the other end.
For price, facilities, comfort and position it's a good hotel and I intend to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

What a great three days stay in HongKong. Made all the better by the staff at the Hotel. Meals and service were great and we will be going back next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#60 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,184 reviews
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#109 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#122 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#77 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,480 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#198 of 693 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#102 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cityview Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.