We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for travelling on a budget.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Cityview Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Cityview Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Jordan / Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for travelling on a budget.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We primarily chose Cityview as we were travelling to Hong Kong on a budget, and this hotel seemed to offer good value for money. It is situated in Kowloon, with easy access to the MTR (Metro/Subway) - the nearest one, which we used frequently was Yau Ma Tei, which gives easy access directly across to Hong Kong; or if you prefer, you can take the MTR to Tsim Sha Tsui and then you have the option of getting the Star Ferry (which is very cheap) across the Harbour. The hotel is in a lively part of Kowloon and has a handy 7 Eleven convenience store across the road, just on the corner. Mong Kok is just along the road, with a great busy shopping street and plenty of cafes and places to eat/drink. Good shopping mall just along the road as well. All in all, plenty of local amenities and places to go to keep you occupied all day and night! The room itself was quiety, clean, with facilities to make hot drinks, air-con and a good shower. My only criticism would be the bed, which though very clean and fresh, I found to be quite hard. Nevertheless, I always enjoyed coming back to my room after a hot, humid day of exploring all Hong Kong has to offer! Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Cityview; we would certainly stay again, if we are lucky enough to one day return to Hong Kong, and we would recommend this hotel, with confidence, to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newly refurbished, modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Your reviews mean a lots to us, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    782
    259
    44
    19
See reviews for
301
406
141
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed at The Cityview Hong Kong from Jul 16 to Jul 19. Hotel is very near MTR which made it so convenient for us to get around. Front desk staffs very also helpful, and I was also very impressed with one of the staffs(sad to say I had forgotten his name) who had made it a point to ensure that I had a pleasant stay with The Cityview Hong Kong. Oh, I also had my room upgraded from a Deluxe room to an Executive room :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind reviews and looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S'pore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Was back for 2nd visit to this hotel in Jul'14. Put us into a room on Level 16, tiny room and bad plumbing. Feedback to the Assistant Manager, she was kind to offer a room change the next day, and to our surprise she also upgraded us to a bigger room at no extra charge. Nice!
The level of customer service seem to have dropped somewhat, compared to my trip last Aug'13.
Hope they brush up on this aspect.
A very environmental friendly hotel. I like!
Good location for branching out to night markets, street eats.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Pleased to have you with us again, however, the less desirable experience you described casues us deep concern. Kindly rest assured that appropriate training will be conducted to ensure all employees are totally customer-focus.
Thank you again and hope we will have a chance to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

MTR is just opposite the hotel. Easy accessible to airport by airport shuttle bus and easily reach shopping malls. Many famous eateries and shophouses around the hotel. My all-time favourite hotel. Famous hang heong Lao po bing opposite hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind reviews and look forward to be at your service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The location is good and easily accessible from airport express and transfer to shuttle bus which drops you in front of the hotel. However, my room's carpet wasn't very clean as I could see some unused paper with hair tucked to the chair. There were stains on the carpet too. Room wifi was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Your valuable comments concerning the dirty carpet has been carefully noted by our Executive Housekeeper.
Please accept our sincere apologies and your comments will be addressed immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location. Rooms are a reasonable size and very bright and clean. All staff speak English and very helpful. They sent much time giving me directions on taking the Metro and how to get to various attractions. I highly recommend this hotel to all!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Great to learn that you have an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Went there for my stay in HK and was given a complimentary upgrade from superior room (Standard room) to the executive room! The services at the front desk was fairly average, however the services provided by their supervisor, Louisa Hung, is great! Left my items at the disneyland hotel and she helped us to arrange for picked up at a more convenient MTR station. Thumbs up! The area is also very near to the Yau Ma Tei MTR (Exit D) which is around 5 minutes walk and there are cafes that are opened until late night if you want some supper. Overall great experience! If you are coming to this hotel, you will need to take bus A21 over. If your flight is after midnight, you will need to take N21 at the same place where you alight.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind reviews and particularly value of our hotel great location. Your kind comments regarding Louisa Hung has been passed on to her.
Thank you once again and look forward to be at your service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#59 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,195 reviews
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#106 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#124 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#77 of 693 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,491 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#199 of 693 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#103 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Expedia, TravelClick and Otel so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cityview Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.