We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cityview - good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Cityview Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Cityview Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Jordan / Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 695 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cityview - good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Cityview is very near to the MTR - Yau Ma Tei MTR which makes commuting by train very convenient. Just across the road of the side entrance of the hotel is a small local restaurant that sells nice HK style congee which is not to be missed. A local customer helped my husband and I with the ordering as we can't speak Cantonese. According to him, the congee is one of the best in HK.

Back to review on the hotel, lobby is very spacious and clean. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Thankfully, we were given a free upgrade to a bigger room. The room was big considering HK hotel room standard.

However, the bed is very hard and the pillows are too soft. Throughout the 3 nights stay, my husband and I had neck ache and shoulders ache. If the bed and pillows were more comfortable, I am very sure I will come back again. Also, the water pressure was also quite low. We called the front desk to ask for help twice as there was no difference to the pressure after the first call. After the second call, the basin tap water pressure improved but not the shower head.

Overall, thumbs up for the hotel staff service, cleanliness and location but I will think twice coming back as the bed is too hard and pillow too soft for my comfort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Your concerns regarding the hard bed and soft pillows has been carefully noted. Thank you for your time and we look forward to serving you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    789
    261
    44
    19
See reviews for
303
411
142
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

City view is situated at a very convenient location. Just next to Yau Ma Tei MTR station and that is the only good thing I have to say about the hotel. The service is so so but the rooms are really dirty! I checked in to their superior room and was disgusted by the size and the cleanliness of the room. There was no space for luggage and the basin is pathetically small. When you wash your face, you will get water on the toilet bowl. The carpet is very dirty. By looking at it, one will noticed stains and carpet felt really dirty under one's feet. The room is totally not sound proof and you can hear every noise on the corridor and if other guests are loud enough, you can even hear them in their room. I upgraded to deluxe room on the second night and it was bigger but carpet still dirty and there were stains on walls and the doors were really dirty!
A horrible stay and will not go back there again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to write your reviews, informing us the unpleasant experience you have encountered during your stay with us at The Cityview. The less desirable experience you described in your reviews causes us deep concern. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment that have caused you.
Your valuable comments concerning the dirty carpet and stains on walls and doors has been carefully noted by our Executive Housekeeper. Kindly rest assured that your comments will be immediately addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Personally stayed here 3 times for the past 3 years. I have also recommended this hotel to many of my friends who are visiting hongkong for the first time, especially for those who want to walk the streets of mongkok. There are some small local eateries just walking distance from the hotel. I have to give a thumbs up for the absolute convenience.

1) If taking the airport express, you could alight at Kowloon station and take the free shuttle bus K5 that drops you at the doorstep of cityview hotel.
2) This hotel is conveniently located right beside Yau Ma Tei MTR station, just 2 mins walk from Exit A2. Minimum walking is especially helpful if you are going with elderly.
3)Prices are reasonably cheap compared to lotsa major hotels in hk.
4) Rooms are small. I dont remember seeing a bathtub. But that's ok for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and support over the past years, it means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
370 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very nicely located in the city (Kowloon) and it is very clean and has everything you need. Skip the coffee shop at the lobby and go for a starbucks near by, your wallet will thank you, so will your tastebud. Buy a sim card at any 7-11 and save yourself the wifi headache

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your reviews and look forward to be at your service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Cityview Hotel is located in Kowloon and is a nice escape in a very busy city. The hotel itself is clean as all the amenities, has a coffee shop located on the ground floor (which is extremely expensive) and as with most hotels has limited free Wi-Fi.

The hotel is air-conditioned, a necessity when the temperatures outside between 37 and 43°.

The main bus route is located outside the hotel and a five-minute walk puts you in the centre of the shopping district. To get to the ferry service that crosses between Hong Kong and Kowloon you use bus number 7 which can be accessed from outside the hotel, the full route costs less than one US dollar and will deposit you at the ferry dock. There are two routes departing from the ferry service and the rush-hour cost is 25 US cents to cross from Kowloon to Hong Kong.

The hotel has a bed and breakfast rate with a very pretty breakfast restaurant with both Western and local food, with breakfast being served from 6:30 AM.

The hotel has both smoking and non-smoking rooms as well as a selection of single or double beds, on check-in these selections can be made.

Within three blocks of the hotel they are banks restaurants and shops, and an evening adventure must be undertaken to the Temple Road market which has really interesting goodies and gadgets for sale.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in The Cityview and looking forward to welcoming you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed here in mid December 2013 with family. Good location as it is only a 3 minute walk to Yau Ma Tei MTR Station. In Hong Kong, you can easily get to anywhere via the MTR so choose a hotel that is accessible & near a MTR Station.

Right across the hotel lobby (along the walking route to YMT station) is a row of small eating shops where you can grab a typical bowl of unhealthy instant noodles + luncheon meat + egg combi. There is also a 7-11 convenience store where we bumped into a B-list HK Actor one night! There is a school nearby but hardly any noise.

Room: Decent enough for the price we paid. Do not expect modern interior or a minimalistic design. There was a wardrobe, dressing table with mirror and chair. Bedsheets, pillows and blankets were ok and looked clean. Floor was carpeted. We did not make use of the aircon as it rained and poured throughout our 4-night stay there and it was cold enough, about 15-18degress.

Toilet: Wet and dry area. We had a bathtub and it was the only area to shower so be prepared to have to climb into the tub for a shower if yours doesn't come with a standing shower area.

Overall cleanliness of the room in my opinion: 8.5/10.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind reviews and look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have stayed there over 10 times. I recently choose to stay there over some 5-star hotels. The hotel is clean, the room size is not too small in Hong Kong standard. The biggest advantage is its location. It is just a minute walk to subway. The hotel rate is good comparing to other same class hotel. If you book early, the rate is better. If you don't seek anything fancy, this is a good hotel to stay. There is shuttle bus (free) connecting to Kowloon station to airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and support to us over the past years, it means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#58 of 695 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,246 reviews
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#109 of 695 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#128 of 695 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#77 of 695 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,523 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#201 of 695 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cityview Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.