We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added The Cityview Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 613 hotels in Hong Kong
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is located in Kowloon, right off of Nathan Road (the main road in Kowloon that leads down to the Harbor (and the Star Ferry, that takes one to Hong Kong). Nathan Road is a very fun road to walk down - lots and lots of shops. If one tires, the subway runs beneath Nathan Road, so that one can easily take the subway from this hotel to the Star Ferry. Hotel is very nice, but it's the location that makes this hotel a good place to stay at whilst visiting Hong Kong.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    640
    214
    32
    14
See reviews for
222
318
109
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived in Hong Kong at 11 PM. Taxi to the hotel was HG$270 from the airport. The hotel is just a short walk from the tourist activities on Nathan Road and is well worth the walk. It is a modern hotel and our room on the 16th floor was very comfortable (not large but a reasonable size compared to other HK hotels). An excellent breakfast was provided in a very large and attractive location on the 1st floor.
The free Wi-Fi was great and even though the hotel was very busy the staff always provided good service.Having stayed at many hotels in HK we found CityView exceeded our expectations and will certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Higher floors afford nice views of part of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your business, it's great to have you with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There are a few things that I would like to comment abt this hotel:
- It is old
- But it is definitely clean
- Housekeeping was great. I can be really messy when I stay in hotel and they did a great job, keeping the room clean.
- Perfect location. Just round the corner from Yau Ma Tei MTR exit D.
- Free Airport shuttle if you commute by Airport Express
- Powerful jet in the bath room
- There is a safe
- Rooms are big enough especially in HKG for 2 person sharing. (Most of the rooms in HKG barely have walking space).
- Lots of China Tourists as they come in tour buses.(Therefore most of the time, most rooms are already occupied & you may experience long waiting time when they arrive)
- Check in will be quick if you let them know you would like express check in and they make an effort to know your arrival time in advance to cater enough staffs at the counter.

To summarize great hotel and I will stay here again. :)

Room Tip: May want to take a room further away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, yesterday
Great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the second time we stay in this hotel, the building is old, but it is well kept, superb clean and tidy arrangement.

The location is very good, just few step away from YauMaTei Station. Only one thing can make my trip even happier, which is the YauMaTei Station lack of disabilty access from road to underground, making me carrying my stroller everytime, but is not YauMaTei Station is not deep, lucky for me.

Just walk out from the hotel, walk to Nathan road, either turn left to TsimShaSui or turn right to Mongkok, all can be done on foot. If we can walk all the walk both direction with a 3 years old baby with stroller, I am sure you can do it too... if not, just take the metro, it got 2 line of metro, superb convenient.

Food? Dont worry there are at least ten to twenty right infront the store and one very famous porridge just right infront, great for supper. Convenience Store ? There is two chain also right infront the hotel. , feel pricey ? just walk twenty step away there is a WELLCOME supermarket waiting for you....... make it simple, this hotel offer you all the comfort you got , make yourself feel right at home.....

The hotel attitude change and had improved compare to the first time, they are more tourist friendly, to be exact more english speaking tourist friendlier.

The room is small, should say just right size, don expect over size rooom ! Room is well maintained and kept very tidy as well.

One thing I find little not happy is the air condition is very slow to cool off the room, but the other hand I didn't freeze to death or hot till wake up during my sleep, because the temperature is very very smartly control.
- Water pressure is very good, hot and cold easy to balance.
- TV size just right, channel is quite a handful, more than enough
-Bed and pillow feels right
-Wifi works, but I feel little disappointed with the speed. according to survey Hong Kong is top ranking...


This hotel offer superb location, simplicity for any kind of stay for a visit to hong kong, I highly recommended it to ALL travellers. .......

but if you are expecting roomier experience and more resort like, you need to look else where.

Room Tip: Higher room offer more quieter sleep !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your continuous support and great to learn that you enjoyed your stay here in The Cityview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is super good very near to mtr and took the airport express bus just stop in front the hotel and come very 20min.
Room is nice as the hotel staff upgrade me to executive room. New and very clean. The hotel staff is very friendly and They even help you to bring your luggage to the bus just a very small complain is that while waiting for the bus to airport just suggest that put some chairs there for customers to seat down and that will be prefect. This my second time staying in this hotel and the service have improve a lot compare to last year.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your loyalty and support over the past years-it means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights. Very convenient location. Average sized room for HK.

Pro:
- Walking distance to Yau Ma Tei MTR.
- Welcome Supermarket around corner.
- Lots of food options within walking distance.
- Hotel staff courteous and helpful.

Con:
- The bathroom had many fruit flies
- Room a bit damp

Overall: Would stay here again because good location. Hope fruit flies was one time issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Your valuable comments concerning the fruit flies in the room has been carefully noted by our Executive Housekeeper. Kindly rest assured that your comments will be immediately addressed.
Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope we will have a chance to welcoming you to The Cityview again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was in a great location very close (1-2 minutes) to the Yau Ma Tei MTR station. There is also a free shuttle bus that will drop you off at the hotel if you take the Airport Express train from Hong Kong airport to Kowloon station.

The only negative thing about my stay was the check in service. I booked a deluxe room (19 square metres) and was given a superior room (13 square metres). We did not realise this until a few hours later as we were tired from our 10 hour flight. When I went down to the front desk to tell them about this mistake, the lady immediately apologised and changed our room the a deluxe room. Upon entering this first deluxe room, there was a very strong smell of smoke. I went down to the front desk again and spoke to the same personnel. This time, she tried to say it was a non-smoking room rather than offer to change us to another room immediately. I said I would like another room. She did not say a word, looked down and started typing on the computer. Five minutes later, I was given a keycard to another room, told my room number and that was it. No other words were spoken.

My tip to other travellers is to make sure you check that you are getting the correct room (that you have booked and paid for). There is a big difference between the superior and deluxe room in terms of size and comfort.

Room Tip: Pick a deluxe room. The superior room is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, 5 days ago
It is with sincere regret that some of our staff is unfriendly and the lack of knowledge when communicating with our guest. Our objective is to ensure all employees are toally customer-focus and all guest concerns and requests are handled quickly and efficiently. Kindly rest assured that appropriate training will be conducted to avoid such incident in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct enjoy extra 5% off. Input "Promo Code" "CVLP" to enjoy the offer.The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry’s leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cityview Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.