We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and reasonable price..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Cityview Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Cityview Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Torrevieja, Spain
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good hotel and reasonable price..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

but for Hong Kong, of course :-) More then 100 euro for double per night without breakfast - well, for this city is good enough. The hotel is clean, the stuff are friendly enough, but rooms are quite small - just for sleep, not for inviting guests...:-)) but my friends lived in an other part of the hotel and had much bigger and nicer room. Compare of bath is completely impossible - my bath was tiny cabin for half of person))) Location is very good, subway station is in two steps away and some markets(include Lady`s Market) are in 5 minutes by walk. Also, you can find a supermarket in front of the hotel and a few cafes(include Mcdonalds) near there, so, breakfast can be much cheaper, than the hotel suggests you.

Room Tip: The hotel has different parts. They`re separate and connecting only by 1st floor. One of them is wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us at The Cityview and we look forward to an opportunity of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    690
    232
    39
    18
See reviews for
255
355
127
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel is at a very good location. Yaumatei MTR & famous ladies street are within walking distance. I had stayed there 2-3 times. The only issue during my last stay there was they had issued me with standard room when I booked deluxe room. Only realized it when I returned to the hotel in the evening to collect my keys as it was not ready when I checked in. They were left with only 1 deluxe room and the room was at a corner near emergency exit staircase. The room was so cold that you do not even need to on the aircon. Didn't on the aircon at all during my 3 nights stay there. Overall I will stay there because of the good strategic location.

Room Tip: The rooms at the new wing are better but they are the higher grade ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are pleased to note your particularly value on our hotel great location and your comments concerning the facilities in the room such as the air-conditioning system has been carefully noted.
Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you to The Cityveiw soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The room was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The staff on the desk were pleasant and helpful. The public area left much to be desired. There is a very small seating area for people who have had to check out of the room but need to wait for transport. It is near the doorway and very crowded. There is a large comfortable area nearby but this is the bar area and we were not allowed to sit there without bying food. The waiters were not pleasant or helpful. This was frustrating as this area was empty, warm and comfortable while lots of people had to sit cramped together in a small uncomfortable block of seats..

Room Tip: The rooms on the 17th floor were nicer than those on the 8th
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Your valuable comments concerning the lack of seating area at Hotel Lobby has been carefully noted.

Thank you once again and we look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is in a great central location and you can walk everywhere. Rooms are small but very clean with your own bathroom. Once again small but certainly adequate. We arrived mid morning after travelling from Rome and our room was available so we were able to go up and have a couple of hours sleep before hitting the pavement. Breakfast was also good value. Great staff only problem we had was on the last day - we were not being picked up for our home flight until 6pm, but of course you have to leave your room. Even though I asked in the morning if there would be somewhere we could have a shower and change later and was told yes - there is not. I had a big battle to get them to allow us to use the pool area showers. Other than that we had a great time there and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the good buffet breakfast at The City Cafe and particularly value our hotel great location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cityview soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here with my family last December 2012. All hotels in Hongkong were already showing skyrocket prices since it was peak season so I was pleasantly surprised to find the rates of this hotel at a friendly price.

We had a hard time initially looking for the place but once you find the hotel it's fairly easy to go to. Don't use the hotel name when asking directions, you can ask the locals where the YMCA is and they would point you to the hotel since the YMCA is beside the hotel. An airport express shuttle goes to the hotel, you can arrange for that with their concierge.

There are a lot of MTR entrances near the hotel, just about 5 minute walk from the hotel entrance. Very useful to go around the city. There's also a 7-Eleven near the hotel where we bought our water and toiletries but they provide free bottled water with the room.

Room was very nice. Spacious and clean. I asked to be placed at the new wing and was really grateful when they accommodated my request. Bed and pillows were soft and we had a restful sleep.

We had our currency exchanged just outside the hotel, their rates were very reasonable. There were also a lot of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Request to be placed on the new wing and higher floor for lesser street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you soon to The Cityview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Fuss free check-in. We were happy to be able to check-in at 10+am and to be upgraded to a premier executive room. However, a touch of friendliness and helpfulness is missing from the staffs.

Location:
- Strategically located at YMT. Just a few mins away from the MTR and bustling Nathan Road.
- Just 10 mins away from the legendary Tim Ho Wan.
- Walkable distance to Jordan, TST, Mong Kok, Temple Street Market and Ladies Market.
- Another plus for the free K5 bus will brings us straight to the hotel and Kowloon Station.

Room:
- First impression: Spacious and clean.
- Major complain: The air circulation is terrible. The room was SO cold. We never once on the aircon throughout our 4 nights stay. It was a torture to exit the bathroom after shower. The heater we requested was too small to provide decent warmth.
- Bed was comfortable but pillows were far too soft. This caused discomfort.
- No dressing table. There was a working desk with power points but there is no mirror above it. Ladies who uses hair curlers or straighteners will not like this. There was no additional power point in the bathroom.

Overall, I would recommend The Cityview considering the pocket friendly price and location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Your valuable comments concerning the facilities in the room such as the air-conditioning system, no additional power point in the bathroom and no dressing table have been carefully noted and we look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as working next door at hospital but would stay here again if visiting Hong Kong for pleasure. Very handy to MTR on a line that can directly take you everywhere.
Very friendly service and despite arriving very late due time flight delays I was greeted well and was helped to my room.
Since moving to island, I prefer Cityview location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are very happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Cityview soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct enjoy free breakfast. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cityview Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.