We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Cityview Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Cityview Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Jordan / Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Whitianga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is in a great central location and you can walk everywhere. Rooms are small but very clean with your own bathroom. Once again small but certainly adequate. We arrived mid morning after travelling from Rome and our room was available so we were able to go up and have a couple of hours sleep before hitting the pavement. Breakfast was also good value. Great staff only problem we had was on the last day - we were not being picked up for our home flight until 6pm, but of course you have to leave your room. Even though I asked in the morning if there would be somewhere we could have a shower and change later and was told yes - there is not. I had a big battle to get them to allow us to use the pool area showers. Other than that we had a great time there and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the good buffet breakfast at The City Cafe and particularly value our hotel great location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cityview soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    740
    246
    41
    18
See reviews for
279
385
134
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here with my family last December 2012. All hotels in Hongkong were already showing skyrocket prices since it was peak season so I was pleasantly surprised to find the rates of this hotel at a friendly price.

We had a hard time initially looking for the place but once you find the hotel it's fairly easy to go to. Don't use the hotel name when asking directions, you can ask the locals where the YMCA is and they would point you to the hotel since the YMCA is beside the hotel. An airport express shuttle goes to the hotel, you can arrange for that with their concierge.

There are a lot of MTR entrances near the hotel, just about 5 minute walk from the hotel entrance. Very useful to go around the city. There's also a 7-Eleven near the hotel where we bought our water and toiletries but they provide free bottled water with the room.

Room was very nice. Spacious and clean. I asked to be placed at the new wing and was really grateful when they accommodated my request. Bed and pillows were soft and we had a restful sleep.

We had our currency exchanged just outside the hotel, their rates were very reasonable. There were also a lot of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Request to be placed on the new wing and higher floor for lesser street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you soon to The Cityview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Fuss free check-in. We were happy to be able to check-in at 10+am and to be upgraded to a premier executive room. However, a touch of friendliness and helpfulness is missing from the staffs.

Location:
- Strategically located at YMT. Just a few mins away from the MTR and bustling Nathan Road.
- Just 10 mins away from the legendary Tim Ho Wan.
- Walkable distance to Jordan, TST, Mong Kok, Temple Street Market and Ladies Market.
- Another plus for the free K5 bus will brings us straight to the hotel and Kowloon Station.

Room:
- First impression: Spacious and clean.
- Major complain: The air circulation is terrible. The room was SO cold. We never once on the aircon throughout our 4 nights stay. It was a torture to exit the bathroom after shower. The heater we requested was too small to provide decent warmth.
- Bed was comfortable but pillows were far too soft. This caused discomfort.
- No dressing table. There was a working desk with power points but there is no mirror above it. Ladies who uses hair curlers or straighteners will not like this. There was no additional power point in the bathroom.

Overall, I would recommend The Cityview considering the pocket friendly price and location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Your valuable comments concerning the facilities in the room such as the air-conditioning system, no additional power point in the bathroom and no dressing table have been carefully noted and we look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as working next door at hospital but would stay here again if visiting Hong Kong for pleasure. Very handy to MTR on a line that can directly take you everywhere.
Very friendly service and despite arriving very late due time flight delays I was greeted well and was helped to my room.
Since moving to island, I prefer Cityview location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are very happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Cityview soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed there for 04 nights, We recommended you NOT to book a superior room. The room was a bit run down, the carpet was dull and dirty, drapes, furnitures were outdated. The worst was the standing shower. It was small, dull colour and dark. We were very disappointed with the state of this room.

Next 3 days of our stay, we have been upgraded to superior room. It was really nice room with the view. Clean and bright. We were very happy at last to spend of our 3 days staying in this room.

The other good things were the location close to MRT and walking distance to shopping centres, facilities (next to the hotel), we can use the sauna/spa areas. Great to relax after long walk.

Room Tip: Choose carefully, the hotel has smoking and non smoking floor and also mention what kind of bed do y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction of the facilities in the superior room. Kindly rest assured that your comments has been carefully noted by our Executive Housekeeper and will be immediately addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is great, the staff is very helpful. I went to HK expecting a tiny room but I was nicely surprised coz our room was big enough to fit an extra single bed for our baby. The location right next to Nathan Road & less than 100m from a laundry on the one end and the MTR station on the other is ideal for a tourist! The restaurant on the 1st floor is also amazing I totally enjoyed their mushroom soup. I just wish the room prices were inclusive of breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back to
The Cityview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed at Cityview from 15-18 December and had the most pleasant experience.

Location is excellent as most reviews point out. Just beside Yau Ma Tei which is a very central location. We took the MTR everywhere we went during our trip.

Room was small as is every reasonably-priced hotel room in Hong Kong, however it was impeccably clean. Sheets are refreshed and toiletries are replenished daily which was very nice.

Room was quiet and we could sleep peacefully through the night.

But the most outstanding part was this: We deposited our luggage, along with some paintings we bought, at the hotel. When we departed, the hotel forgot to return the paintings to us (to be fair we also forgot about them). We only remembered when we arrived at the airport. When we called the hotel, they sent someone on a cab during rush hour all the way to the airport just to deliver the paintings to us. They definitely went the extra mile and we were extremely grateful and touched!

Thumbs up, highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are pleased to noted that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly value our hotel great location and cleanliness of guest room.
We look forward to welcoming you to The Cityview again in your next trip to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cityview Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.