We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Cityview Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Cityview Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Louisville, tn
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were in the refurnished YMCA part and had a great experience. Very clean, helpful staff, very nice amenities in the room... No complaints at all. The location is very convenient to the subway and shops. Asian beds tend to be hard, but this isn't their fault, I guess! Would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to post your reviews, informing us your pleasant stay with us in The Cityview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    664
    223
    37
    15
See reviews for
243
339
121
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Travelled with parents and my sister.
The room was brand new so everything looks good.
We had connecting rooms. One double and one twin.
The room with twin beds has no windows. But I don't really mind as I am out most of the time.
The room was not big but considered average for Hong Kong hotels ( I stayed in smaller hotel)
The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The bed was comfortable for all of us to sleep through the night. Two pillows and one cushions was provided.

The location is very good as it is only 2 minutes from Yau ma Tei train station and yau Ma Tei is an interchange so is very accessible.
It is 5 minutes walk from both temple streets and ladies market.
There is a few good eatery nearby, 7-11 and k-circle for anyone who need a midnight snack.

The negative parts is insufficient shelves so had to store our shopping at the top of the cupboard, we had to climb on the chair to reach it.
The water supply from shower was a bit weak and the temperature of the water will just change by itself from hot to cold and then hot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
It's great to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us at The Cityview. Over the years, we have been striving for improvements to satisfy our guests' needs and all our staff are here to ensure that your stay is above all comfortable and pleasurable in every aspect.
Your valuable comments concerning the water pressure and temperature in the room has been carefully noted by our Executive Housekeeper. Kindly rest assured that your comments will be immediately addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cityview soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I booked a deluxe room for four days in November 2012, the staff at this hotel provided good services especially Tanya So, she was very helpful to solve our issues, I did ask for adding extra bed and got a upgrade to a premium room. The premium room has more space to three adult guests staying there. The concierge team was very helpful to answer all my questions.
This hotel is close to MTR station, very convenient. I highly recommend it to my friends.

From Sydney

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Cityview and particularly value our hotel great location and good service. Your kind comments regarding the Reception and Concierge team have been passed on to them, particularly to Tanya So from the Reception who has been very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I booked 2 rooms for five night stays with my family of 3 young adults from 24 to 29 Nov. The response and assistance from the reservation department ( Ms Winnie Wong ) regarding my question and request were wonderful. My encounters with the hotel staff from the counter right down to the room cleaning serviecs were excellent. The staff are polite and friendly.

The location of the hotel is very convenience with lots of eatery around and closed to MTR station. The night markets are within the 10 min walking distance. Although the room rate is not that cheap and the size of the Premier rooms are just Ok, will come back again & also to recommend friends if they intend to visit HK with good location hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you need an extra bed, it is only available for Premier rooms of which the cost is slightly highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments on hotel location, staff politeness and courteous services have been passed on to my colleagues, particularly to Winnie Wong from the Reservation who has been very helpful.
Thank you once again and we look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is the first time that I am staying in this hotel as my other favourite hotels in HK were fully booked. I read the reviews and they seemed ok. Location is good as it is right off Nathan Road and the A21 bus stops at #9 stop (Man Ming Rd). It is just a short walk from Yau Ma Tei Station (A2 exit). Reception was polite and conceirge service was good. Room is very clean and they changed the towels and top up the toiletries every day. Room is a little small..same goes with the bathroom. But the bed is small for a couple. It is not even a queen size...just a double. Made sleeping a little uncomfortable.
For the price, I am able to get a bigger room elsewhere so price-wise, they are not that reasonable for the size of the room. But the hotel location is good and the service and cleanliness are the good points of this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on a higher floor as you can hear the traffic if you are staying in the lower floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your reviews and we are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your encouraging comments on hotel location, good service and cleanliness have been passed to my colleagues.
Thank you once again and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Have stayed at the Cityview several times over the past 2 years. Prices are typically very good - lower on average (by ~200 HKD) than TST - and location is ok. Very short walk to the Yau Ma Tei MTR exit. The hotel has two separate wings with separate elevators for each. The older wing (from the YMCA days) is mid '80's deco. Clean but nothing special. Twice I've had A/C set for freezing that was impossible to adjust. The newer wing is much nicer. Smaller rooms, but well appointed. Nice bed with 4 feather pillows. Request a room in the newer wing if possible. Breakfast is good with a wide selection of western fare. Worst part of the entire experience is the check-in. Terribly inefficient and overly complicated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to write your reviews, informing us the unpleasant experience you have encountered upon your arrival. Please rest assured that your comments regarding the staff inefficiency and over complication during the check-in procedures will be immediately addressed and reviewed. On the other hand, the failure of controlling the A/C set in the room have been carefully noted by our Executive Housekeeper.
Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope this experience will not alter your confidence in The Cityview, and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights, from Nov. 14-20, 2012. I was a little leery about the hotel after a couple of negative reviews I read, and complaints about the size of the room. We had booked a Superior room, but were upgraded to a Premium room when we checked in.

The room was spacious by Hong Kong standards, with a King bed, and pretty much all the basic amenities. Very clean. I had a brand new mattress, slightly firm but definitely not hard. Just the way I like it. (I travel frequently and always check for any signs of bugs - and there were none) The bathroom was small, but spotless. I had a couple of small requests while there, and they were attended to with lightning speed. All the staff seemed very gracious and eager to please. We were on the 19th floor and it was very quiet. Street noise could vaguely be heard, but not to the point where it was bothersome at all.

The area isn't that great as far as shopping and restaurants, but the subway is so convenient (less than 100 metres), that going anywhere else in the city was a breeze.

Perhaps, one minor complaint, and that is that there wasn't a night table on my side of the bed, and the light switch to turn off my nightlight is on the other side of the bed.

Reasonably priced hotel for Hong Kong, and convenient location means I wouldn't hesitate to stay here on future travel to Hong Kong.

Can't comment on what the Superior room was like as I never saw it; so maybe my review would read differently. The Premium room, while definitely not luxurious was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room on a higher floor to avoid traffic noise, and to have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
It's great to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your valuable comments concerning the facilities in the room such as the bedside table and lighting switch has been carefully noted. And your compliments on staff service and the high standard of room cleanliness have been passed on to our staff.
Thank you once again and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct enjoy extra 5% off. Input "Promo Code" "CVLP" to enjoy the offer.The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry’s leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cityview Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.