We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Cityview Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Cityview Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is in a great location though from the 11th floor not sure I would call it a city view. The hotel is dated though it is clean and the rooms are of good size. One of e main reasons apart from the location and price for staying at this hotel was that it had a pool which we thought would be good for the kids. This was not as we expected and turned out to be a community 50 meter pool that did not look very appealing and we did not use. The train station is 100 meters away and also several convenience stores, supermarket and laundry which was cheap. The Jade and ladies market are all within walking distance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We are glad to har that you appreciate our hotel's convenient location and nearby convenient stores and shopping markets. Thank you for your compliment on the clean room. We will keep it up. Please rest assure that we planned to have renovations phase by phase starting next year. We hope that we can give you a new impression during your next visit to our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    690
    232
    39
    18
See reviews for
255
355
127
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nether Whitacre, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of our flights & hotel package with British Airways. Last time we went to Hong Kong we stayed at the Sheraton, but that was very expensive to stay at again.

So after looking at a few hotels and a bit of research on reviews, location etc, The Cityview in Hong Kong seemed to be very good.

The price for our stay was very good value for money compared to others i had looked at.

The hotel was easy to get to. We got the Airport express to Kowloon, and then the free Airport Express shuttle bus service to the hotel. It's easy to get to and you want the K5 bus. Or if you want you can get the MTR there, but the bus is free!!

On arrival, staff were friendly and helpful, although the porters were a bit too eager to take our bags for us, even though our bags were small, light and on a set of 4 wheels!

We stayed in a premier room. This was located on the 23rd floor. Very high up. If you don't like heights book a lower floor room. The windows are large and are close to the floor right up to the ceiling, so it's a bit nerve wracking when standing close to the window and looking down to start with, but we got use to it very quickly.

The room was spacious and clean, although the cream colour carpets had a few old stains, and the furniture had the odd couple of marks and knocks. The mattress was a little on the hard side for our liking, but everyone likes different things, you may love it. The duvet and pillows were fluffy and comfortable and the bed linen was very clean. The air conditioning was good and, along with the lighting, could be altered using a control panel by the bed. One thing we would change would be to have a bedside table on both sides of the bed, rather than just one, as my wife had to pull over a chair to put her drinking water and phone on each night.

The bathroom, was clean and the power shower is wonderful! It was difficult to leave! Basic toiletries: soap, shampoo, conditioner and other items such as a shower cap were provided, and the towels were soft and fluffy.

Housekeeping did a great job of tidying and refreshing the room each day.

Cocktails and drinks in the downstairs bar were cheap compared to UK prices, but they tasted more expensive than they were... absolutely delicious!

I also requested to have a bottle of champagne in the room ready for my arrival as a surprise for my wife (it was our wedding anniversary), the assistant manager, Stephen Tsang was very helpful in arranging this and their timing was perfect as the champagne was perfectly chilled when we got to our room.

Room Tip: Tip 1) If you use the Airport Express and there is only 2 of you (or multiples of 2). Its cheaper to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for writing such an encouraging review of our hotel. We are glad to know that you appreciate our hotel's convenient location and the easy access transportation network. Your kind words on our friendly service staff, especially our Housekeeping staff and Assistant Manager Stephen, will stimulate them to serve even better. We will pass on your good words to the concerned department and staff. As for your concerned on one more bed side table, we will consider this matter in future renovation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I spend few days in this hotel and my impressions are very good. The hotel is situated on a very good location, walk-away from all the things that are worth to be seen in Hong Kong. (Ladies Street, Temple Street...)
Inside, it is quiet, it has quite a good view (if you get a room in a higher position).
Stuff are friendly and nice, rooms are clean and ok.

Overall, I would recommend it as a great value hotel for your stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your time to write such a positive review. We are delighted to know that you appreciate the hotel's convenient location and surrounding shopping areas. Thank you for your kind words on our friendly and nice staff. We will pass on your compliments to the concerned departments.

Lastly, thank you for your referral to others to stay in The Cityview. We are looking forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

On my second visit to Hong Kong, we stayed in The Cityview hotel from September 14 to 17, 2012. You can get to this hotel via the airport express bus, this is the first stop of the K5 route. This hotel is located 10secs away (not exaggerated) from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station exit A2.

Thirsty? Just walk across the street and find a 7-11 convenience store. Hungry? Just walk on Nathan road and be welcomed by numerous restaurants and fastfood chains. The nearest is just 1 minute away, i forgot the name, but it served rice toppings and dim sums. Don't want to try asian dishes? don't worry, KFC and Burger King is just a few steps away.

Are you in Hong Kong for shopping? Then this is a great place to stay. The famous Tung Choi Street (Ladies market), Fa Yuen Street (Sports Street), and Sai Yeung Choi Street (area for gadgets) is just walking distance away from the hotel. Because of its proximity to the shopping area, you can shop every night!

How about the hotel rooms? Yes, the rooms are small, approximately 7 feet by 10 feet for the "Superior Room". The rooms are adequately furnished and maintained. Bathrooms are clean. My only issue is that, there is no free wifi.

***Common Cityview management, this is the "Internet Age", offer free wifi. If not, offer free cable internet, we will bring our own wireless router.

How much are the room rate? During my stay, I was charged HKD 990 per night plus charges (around USD 127). Cheap? I don't know, it depends on your standards. For me, it was worth every cent.

Hoping that all the future guests of The Cityview hotel find my review helpful.

Room Tip: Traveling with your children? Ask for the interconnecting rooms. Room 1017 and 1019. But be aware th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your time to write such a positive review. We are delighted to know that you appreciate the hotel's convenient location and nearby attractions. Your concerned on offering free wifi is brought to our management's consideration.

We are happy to know that your overall stay is value for money. We are looking forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I've stay in The Cityview in Sep 2012, this hotel is very convenient to almost everything be it shopping or food, all within walking distant away. Ladies Street nite market is only 5 to 7 mins walk. Yau Ma Te MTR is just 2 mins walk, 7 eleven and supermarket is also nearby. Will definitely choose Cityview again when I go to HK again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you appreciate our hotel's convenient location. We are glad to hear that you will definitely choose The Cityview for accommodation in your next visits to Hong Kong.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkina Faso
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place ticked all the boxes for me - namely:
- Clean, decent sized room. May be small for some but it's spacious compared to the other shoeboxes I've stayed in Hong Kong, and it seemed to have been recently refurbished.
- Quiet, consistently working air conditioning
- New shower with good water pressure and quick, consistent hot water
- Decent TV channels
- Excellent location - right next to Yau Ma Tei MTR station, buses and walking distance to Mongkok shopping, Temple St night market, and other locations. Airport bus stops directly outside, and you can also get a free transfer from the hotel from the Kowloon Airport Express station.

Staff were very friendly - my only gripe is that the Wi-Fi is not free. I really don't like when hotels rip you off by skimping on this - it's 2012 and it's a necessity. Still, I would stay here again despite this.

My tip is to walk 5 minutes around the corner to One2Free and get a prepaid mobile broadband SIM card for $100HKD (comes with $100HKD of value). You can get a day of unlimited 3G (7.2MBPS) data for $28HKD, as opposed to $140HKD the hotel charge! Convenience stores sell this SIM card too but most of them don't have it.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the hotel wi-fi, go and buy a One2Free prepaid mobile broadband SIM instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for writing such an encouraging review of our hotel. We are glad to know that you appreciate our hotel's convenient location and nearby shopping area. Your positive words on our friendly service staff will stimulate them to serve even better. We will keep it up. Your comment on free wifi service will be put in consideration.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Cityview Hong Kong is in a very convenient location, just next to Yaumatei MTR station. Guest may take MTR to access most of the popular attractions in HK, walking distance to Ladies street & Temple street. etc....
Cityview Hong Kong 's room is clean and tidy. Value for money hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful especially concierge. Highly recommend to your friends.

Room Tip: Premier room are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your time to write such a positive review. We are glad to know that you appreciate the hotel's convenient location and nearby attractions. Thank you for your kind words on our staff services. We will keep it up.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and your recommendation to your friends. We are looking forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct enjoy free breakfast. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cityview Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.