We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CITYVIEW Revisited.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Cityview Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Cityview Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Jordan / Yau Ma Tei)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Upgrade to Premier
Ranked #99 of 696 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“CITYVIEW Revisited.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is our 3rd stay here and we have chosen it instead of 2 slightly more established hotels in TST area because of our earlier good experiences. Just noted that CityView was named "Certificate of Excellence 2012 Winner", which is testament to good reviews. It's location is ideal for travellers to hop onto public buses all the way to HK Island's Tai Koo太古and Causeway Bay 銅鑼灣 area via the tunnel direct. To me it beats going through the jam and intermodal transport of ferry-MTR at TST. The area also has many "Dai Pa Dong" nearby where one can savour the unique local dishes and favors. A 20 mins walk will bring you to MongKok KCR where one can explore the less-explored but equally-interesting train stations of HK.

This time round we were given room facing the school/government-buildings which is not so ideal compared to our earlier 2 stays; the toilet is more cramped with only a small standing bath area. Also there appeared to be rather polluted air from the toilet window fan exhaust. Another of our wish list; It will also be good if there are both complimentary English and Chinese papers..

A pity too that they do not have VIP membership for frequent visitors staying here for their holidays. Then again staying here is still good

Room Tip: Avoid taking rooms at the side of #xx-01 to #xx-16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J&S_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to give us your valuable comments. We are delighted to know that you are very satisfied with our hotel location with good transportation network right adjacent to our hotel. Also, you can easily find your favourite local attractions.
Please let us know that you would like to request a room facing the other side, that is, facing Pitt Street in your next visit for our pre-arrangement. We planned to have the washroom improvement work of this room type in the near future and your concerns will be solved afterward.

Once again thank you for your valuable comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights. The staff were good. Location was good with lots of eating places, MTR stations, convinent stores, shopping centres within walking distance. Good for all types of travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naggasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank for your good comment on our staff services, convenient location of our hotel with easy transportation network and places of interests in walking distance. Attentive services to guests is always our target achievement and we will keep up.

We are looking forward to welcoming again in short future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed for 6D5N, my friends and I were given a free upgrade (all 3 rooms).

The staff there are friendly, especially the bell boy (didn't manage to get his name) who help us push our luggage had even gave us some recommendations and directions on where to have our meals.

The hotel room is clean and spacious enough for our luggage and still have ample space to move around. As we leave the room we met the cleaner cleaning other room, she will greet us and offer to change our towels even we put the "Do Not Disturb" sign. Making initiative and very efficient in her work.

The hotel is conveniently located near Yau Ma Tei Mtr, less than 5minutes walk. Opposite the hotel there are 7-11 and a few eatery. Is also about 10 minutes walk away from both famous night market (Temple Street & Ladies Market).

But one of the changed bathrobe had a little stain on it. And we didn't manage to get a late checkout as requested (understandable as it was the sch hols period).

Overall, I enjoyed my stay with Cityview. I will definitely choose cityview again on my next visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinghuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your compliments on our staff services that made you have an enjoyable stay with us. The convenient location with good transportation network is also a benefit for your consideration to stay in our Hotel. Regarding to the bathrobe, concerned department will be briefed to pay more attention.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

For HKD770 (around USD100) a night, this hotel is good value for money in the very expensive Hong Kong.

Very close to the Yau Ma Tei subway (3min walk) and 10min walk to Mok Kok. Bonus, the hotel has a swimming pool and a mini-gym facility. For this price, this is a raw thing for a HK hotel. I was up on the 26th floor, so it was pretty quiet and I had really decent night of sleep.

The breakfast was excellent! Had fresh mini-Belgium style waffle, the usual omlette performance, HK dimsum and Japanese style gohan (+tamago yaki) etc. Decent stuff. I think it was HKD98 (approx USD12). Really beat the other noisy, over-crowded breakfast USD5 alternative. Pyaing for the peace is well worth it.

Room Tip: Bring your swimming suit + swimming cap / sport clothings + shoes to make full use of the facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We are glad to know that you satisfied with our hotel convenient location and faciclties. Also you have enjoyed an excellent breakfast with lots of your favourite food items. We are happy to learn that our hotel is value for money to you. We will keep up our hospitality and look forward to upgrading our services further.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in a short future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Good location in Yau Ma Tei. Very near to MTR station which is 5 mins walk to it. Centrally located if you want to travel to most part of Hong Kong. Has a direct stop if you travel by airport express and hop on the free shuttle bus. Clean rooms. No frills service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawngohys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We are glad that you could benefit of our hotel's convenient location and have good transportation network. Your compliments of our clean room and good services were well noted. We will keep up.

We hope that you will stay in our hotel in your next visit to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We used to stay at jw Marriott whenever we visit hong kong. For this last minute booking, we didn't manage to get a room at jw. Cityview was suggested and we decided to give it a try. Good decision. Excellent location, nice people, reasonable price, comfortable room. Actually, I never been to 女人街 even I had been to hong kong many times. For this trip, I finally made it there to see the other side of hong kong. Wonderful experience. Staff are very helpful. Mr Eric yap at the concierge offered good advice on transport mode to airport judging the size of our bags. Thank you, Eric. By the way, we were still shopping at midnight. Love it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
We are glad to know that you made a good decision with regards to our hotel's excellent location and our services. We will keep up.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#68 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,621 reviews
Metropark Park Hotel Kowloon
#112 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,431 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#130 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#80 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,813 reviews
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
#117 of 696 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing