We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location for short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Ashley Hongkong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Ashley Hongkong to your Saves list
Citadines Ashley Hongkong
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.18 Ashley Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Central Location for short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Tried this hotel for it's location, which was great, but disappointed overall.
Hotel is in a fairly quiet street with lots of restaurants and bars close by; Mc Donalds, just aroud the corner. Star ferry, 10 minutes walk.
Cleaning could be improved, as there was hair on the floor in the bathroom when we checked in.
Hot water took ages to come through and the water pressure was poor.
One of the 2 lifts was out of action and would be for 2 months ( can't understand why it would take that long to fix a lift. What would have happened if the other lift failed????).
Furnishings are old and tired and need updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix L, Manager at Citadines Ashley Hongkong, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest, It is great to receive your short but supportive & valuable comments here at Tripadvisor. A good and crisp comment is always welcomed by all involved. Hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the property & serve you better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    131
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
37
58
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at Citadines Ashley during our summer vacation. The hotel is located in the heart of Kowloon shopping district, but down a small street which gives it some privacy. We booked a studio apartment which is sufficient for a small family. The pros are location, easy availability of various modes of transport and restaurant/food choices. Although the place is slightly expensive, overall we had a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked this hotel primarily because of it's location and we cannot fault where it is placed. As soon as you step outside you have a number of food/bar choices and very close to the train and shopping galore!

A few things that we were not really fond of
* the harder than hard bed - it was incredibly uncomfortable and so difficult to get a good night's sleep
* space - having 2 people in the room was like playing tetris to get around each-other because the room was so small
* getting phone calls at 5am from guests that wanted to check out and thought I should know that they were leaving. This happened twice in the wee hours of the morning and after much frustration, I went to the reception later that morning to ask them why were we getting phone calls about guests needing to check out? I didn't receive an apology and in fact they were quite rude.
* Trying to get them to assist with a cab- don't bother.

As far as costs/location, it does work out well. But if you can afford more than the studio, do it to get a little more breathing space. If you can cope with a hard bed, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: pay the extra for the larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix L, Manager at Citadines Ashley Hongkong, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear guest, It is great to receive your short but supportive & valuable comments here at Tripadvisor. A good and crisp comment is always welcomed by all involved. Hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the property & serve you better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great location with hi-speed wifi and easy access to shopping area and local restaurants. It is only less than 5mins walk to TST stations . The cleanliness of room should be improved. There was not even a bottle of water for guest to drink and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix L, Manager at Citadines Ashley Hongkong, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear guest, It is great to receive your short but supportive & valuable comments here at Tripadvisor. A good and crisp comment is always welcomed by all involved. Hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the property & serve you better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Citadines Ashley is in a cul de sac within a minute’s walk to one of the East TST MRT Entrances and less than 5 minutes walk to the TST MRT Station. This being our 2nd visit to Hong Kong (On our first one we stayed at the Metropark Causeway Bay on the Hong Kong Island Side and we wanted to be on the vibrant and live part of HK so we chose the Kowloown side) and where else than near Nathan Road the so called Golden Mile.

Superb location if you are a tourist and Ashley Road is a sort of a food strip with all kinds of Restaurants up and down the road. More than about 30 different restaurants of various cuisines from around the world in a 100 meter stretch. Though a lot of people have mentioned the noise we did not experience any.

We were a family of 3 and we chose their Premier Suite Room with a Sofa Bed which was made up as a bed prior to our check in. The room is positively large when compared to regular Hong Kong style matchbox rooms and extremely well laid out. Fully equipped Kitchen with all cutlery and crockery, Microwave, Fridge and Electric Hob included. A writing Desk, a wall mounted TV LCD Which slides about 8 to 10 feet left or right on its wall mount (A first for me!) a sliding partition to cordon off the bed, Spacious Wardrobe with Iron and ironing board, Safe Deposit Box, and a bathroom with a small bathtub. Complimentary fast internet with a router next to the writing desk rounds off the accommodation.

If you walk in the direction of the dead end of Ashley Road, you suddenly find yourself looking at another road which you reach through a hallway of a building and is for pedestrians only. You are onto Haiphong Road. A left and a 100 meters or so and you are in Canton Road opposite the Harbour City Mall and next to the Silvercord another great mall. Walk straight and you reach the Star Ferry pier among other Piers. Just before that you get the Heritage 1881 which is a iconic Hong Kong Building now converted into a high end mall and well worth a wander inside. Opposite that are the Hong Kong Cultural Centre, the Hong Kong Space Museum and the Museum of Art. A short walk and you are on the Avenue of the Stars. Location!

Off you go in the opposite direction of the Ashley Road dead end from Citadines you are in the midst of the bustling Nathan Road and its surroundings. I don’t need to say much about the Golden Mile as it is already world famous and sort of defines Kowloon and Hong Kong. The Peninsula Hong Kong is around the corner too.

You sometimes get ripped off a bit by the Taxis returning Late Night from around the LKF or Mid Levels or Hong Kong Island areas since they have to traverse one of the harbour tunnels so make sure your taxi guy takes only the cross harbour tunnel and not the Western or Eastern Harbour Tunnel. The distance is more and the toll is about 3 to 4 times the Cross Harbour tunnel.

There is only one person at the reception which is open 24/7 but it is just that – a reception. They check you in and check you out and that’s about it. No Bell staff for help with luggage etc. One of the reception guys kindly helped us with our luggage when checking out. They Should at least keep a luggage trolley at the reception which the guests can use. The Lobby was under renovation when we were there but that did not disturb us. Maybe if there was one other person, a sort of all in one concierge along with the receptionist it would have been just great.

There is a cafe for breakfast and other snacks and a bar but we never used it. Kee Wah bakery is just across the road as well as a 7/11 and a Circle K for all the conveniences.

Can any tourist beat all this for location?

Pretty reasonable on the tariffs too given that HK is an expensive place to stay. If you book a taxi through the reception for the Airport, you get a taxi at 200 HKD fixed price which is a lot cheaper than finding one with a meter on the street so use the reception services for a taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We (2 families of 3 persons each) stayed in rooms 1601 and 1501 respectively (premier rooms). There are only 2 rooms per floor. The rooms were big enough to accommodate us and our luggage. There is a queen size bed and a queen sized sofa bed available in the room. There is a sliding partition between the bed and sofa area for privacy. Bathroom was very clean with a small bathtub and toilet. Nice fluffy towels, hand towels, toothbrushes and toiletries are also provided. There is a separate basin right outside the bathroom which is practical. Room had a nice closet with safe, iron/board, slippers, lots of mirrors and storage space. Nice sliding tv panel between the bed and sofa area. The kitchenette is well equipped with an electric stove, microwave, fridge, toaster, jug kettle, pots, pans, plates/cup and all necessary utensils. There are many restaurants (vege Chinese, Italian, Indian, Japanese, as well as a kebab place next door which is open from 10am to 3am) in the same street as the hotel. A few steps away there is a 7-11 and K-Circle, a bakery and a fast food joint. TST station is right behind the hotel (at the basement of i-Square mall)on Lock Road. Walking distance to Star Ferry, Avenue of Stars, etc which are all connected thru the subway. Best landmark for this hotel would be the rear of Peninsula Hotel or the Langham Place. Staff are very helpful and friendly, especially Gloria, who went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. The only downside of this hotel is the small lifts which was not a problem for us. The hotel has a cafe and a bar on 2 and 3 floor. I would strongly recommend this hotel for travelers who prefer home-like comfort with no fancy frills.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Anyone who writes that this hotel is good is only referring to the location. The rooms are tiny and poorly laid out. To call them serviced apartments is a joke. They might be good for hobbits. Don't stay here. They're also crazy expensive for what you get, but that's HK in general.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix L, Manager at Citadines Ashley Hongkong, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guest, It is great to receive your short but supportive & valuable comments here at Tripadvisor. A good and crisp comment is always welcomed by all involved. Hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the property & serve you better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Ashley Hongkong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Ashley Hongkong

Address: No.18 Ashley Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Ashley Hongkong 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Ashley Hongkong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Hongkong Ashley Hotel Hong Kong
Citadines Hongkong Ashley Hong Kong
Citadines Ashley Hongkong Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Ashley Hongkong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.