We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than we anticipated! Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Ashley Hongkong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Ashley Hongkong to your Saves list
Citadines Ashley Hongkong
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.18 Ashley Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 240 Reviews
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Much better than we anticipated! Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Was much better than we antocipated!

Locatiion
Citadines Ashley is located along Ashley Road, TST.
This is a street behind the main shopping street where all major international fashion brands are located! (Awesome!)
Walkable distance to all TST shopping malls. restaurants etc.
The nearest MTR station is TST/ East TST MTR station, exit L5. From L5, walk less than a minute and you will reach Citdines Ashley. (Super near!)

Direction
Exit MTR L5. Cross the road at the traffic junction towards Esprit.
Then at Esprit, cross the road to the shop selling watches.
With the shop selling watches on your right, walk upwards.
Cross the small road and continue walking upwards.
Few more shops and you see the lobby entrance of Citadines Ashley.
(Do not want to miss the lobby? Take note then! Opposite Citadines Ashley is a big sushi restaurant)

Room (We chose the smallest)
For those who never been to HK, do note that most hotel rooms are small and expensive. Therefore, we are quite ok with the small rooms.
Size: Small but adequate for our small family (2D1C share one queen size bed)
Amentities: 1) Mini kitchenette (microwave, electric stove, pots/ pans, etc) with basin
2) Study table
3) Toilet with shower head, soft toilet bowl cover (no noise even I slammed the cover down)
4) Free wifi/ Lan (Just switch on the wireless modem)
5) Warbdrobe and another full length cupboard
6) Flat panel LCD TV (mounted swivel)
7) Laminted flooring (Bed area) and tiled flooring (Kitchenette area)
8) Individual aircon unit (adjust the temp yourself)
9) TV programms - GD! (Better than HBO.. Many great movies)
Setting: Simple, modern and colourful
Cleanliness: Fantastic! Daily housekeeping and very clean. No foul/ old furniture smell.
Downside: No beverages (tea bags, coffees nor drinks in the fridge)

Service
Good customer service!

Overall, the stay was fantastic. We slept well throughout those few nights and the staff were helpful.The location, service, room setting for such a price, what more can we ask?

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    132
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
38
58
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor we were expecting a very small apartment, however on arrival we were really surprised that it was the size it was. For 2 people it was fine. It was what was called a studio. .
Very clean and modern with a nice tiled floor.
A large mirrored wardrobe with plenty of clothes hangers, plenty of shelf space and 2 good sized drawers. A safe in the apartment was great too. My only disappointment was that there were no easy chairs to sit on.
There was 1 office type chair at the glass topped desk, where the internet connection was but it meant if 2 people were sharing the apartment only 1 got a seat, the other had to sit on the bed.
There was a nice little space with a sink, one burner electric hob, fridge, microwave and kettle....quite adequate.
Another thing I liked was that the window actually opened, and not just an inch or so but wide enough to get some air into the place.
The shower room / toilet had a nice big shower space with a good pressure shower and plenty of hot water all day and evening, it never let us down. The toilet itself was spotlessly clean with a soft closing lid / seat.
Towels and toileteries were replaced / replenished daily.
The wash hand basin / vanity unit was separate. ( just outside the shower room door.
There was a modern wall mounted TV with various international channels and an iron and ironing board also.
For us the large roomy bed had quite a hard mattress, but the bed linen was lovely....very good quality and beautifully silky smooth cotton.
All in all it was a good place to stay being so handy to all Tsim Sha Tsui has to offer.
Plenty of eateries in Ashley Road
The 2 lifts are both clean, smell nice, work well and are not slow as previous posts have indicated. No member of the public can use the lifts as they are card operated and only residents have a card ( given at check in )...good security.
This was not our first visit to Hong Kong having been many times before, but it was the 1st time we've taken an apartment as opposed to a hotel room. We were resident for 3 weeks and we would certainly stay there again............especially if they provided better seating.

Room Tip: As there are 3 different types of apartment, the more you pay the better size apartment you get. 3 A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Not the best location, need a bit of navigation to find the hotel. I was bitten by bed bugs on second nite (OMG!!). I will not go back again. Nevertheless, hotel staff were helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was our second stay at Citadines, having previously stayed in a hotel in Kowloon on the waterfront, with more facilities than we required. Citadines is wonderfully located to explore the many aspects of Kowloon and the Island of Hong Kong. In addition, it is surrounded by convenience shops, restaurants and bars. Within a few minutes walk there is a supermarket, the MTR, buses and the Star Ferry terminal. The view from the rooms appears to be decreasing as new tall buildings go up. Unfortunately, the price of room has noticeably increased over the past few years and some areas are beginning to look a bit shabby. The Studio Executive apartments on the top most floors suffer from a support half way in the windows that restricts movement from that side of the bed, but it is not impossible to pass. However, we preferred the Studio Executive apartments because of walk in shower as opposed to a bath. We found the size of the room and ample storage was adequate for 2 people. The apartments are basically equipped for cooking with a small hob, and a microwave. Washing up of utensils and crockery is done with the daily service. There is also satellite television with stations in English though when we arrived BBC World had to be reinstated and we did lose CNN at some stage. The free broadband was very useful as well as the free local telephone calls. The furniture is very basic but adequate and there are in-room safes. There is a small reception area where you will find helpful and pleasant staff should you have any problems.

Room Tip: Request a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Hands down, best hotel I've ever stayed. The room are very clean and has a partition between sleeping area and eating area. The room was spacious and even equipped with a dvd player. YOU'LL NEVER REGRET IT :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We were stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. I really think Ascott should take the Citadines name off of this hotel until they get it in shape. The bathroom is very small. The furniture was old. The room does not provide compliment water like other Citadines hotel in Bangkok. It was no more than a flop house. Disgraceful that such a high end company would lend their name to such a dump.

The worse case is they did not makeup the room until 7:00pm after several attempt to ask the house keeper or front desk. They said will do but never did until you asked for several times.

Also the internet did not work after several attempt to call front desk to fix it. They said that they will do but never until you keep asking.

This is not a hotel--it is an old guest house that has not been refurbished. It was dirty and smelled like a sewer. The walls had not been painted in years. It was just terrible.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix L, Manager at Citadines Ashley Hongkong, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Mr. Bobby,

Thank you for your feedback via Tripadvisor on 24 February 2012.

We are very sorry to learn that Citadines Ashley Hongkong has not met your expectations during your stay here in Hong Kong. While we constantly strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, regrettably, on this occasion, we have fallen short of our key objective. I therefore wish to extend to you my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We acknowledge the discomfort you have experienced especially the service standard of my team you mentioned. We would like to assure that the required steps have been taken in order to avoid such incidents in the future.

Meanwhile, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please feel free to contact me directly at felix.lo@the-ascott.com should you require any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Lo
Citadines Ashley Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The room is small but have everything you want, clean and good design to manage small area.
Have pantry in room.
Not far from MTR station near big shopping mall and many restaurant around that.
It's good location a heart of TSim SHa Tsui.
This hotel is cheap. Good to stay here.
I visit HK many time but I impress this hotel most!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Ashley Hongkong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Ashley Hongkong

Address: No.18 Ashley Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Ashley Hongkong 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Ashley Hongkong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Hongkong Ashley Hotel Hong Kong
Citadines Hongkong Ashley Hong Kong
Citadines Ashley Hongkong Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Ashley Hongkong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.