We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has it ups and downs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Hong Kong to your Saves list
Gateway Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Korean Cosmetics Gift
Ranked #33 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Has it ups and downs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

Close to so many highlights in the city, but hotel is quite old. Needs a good renovation. I am picky when it comes to bathrooms and wasn't entirely happy with it. The bedrooms are ok. Good for a short stay. The best thing about it is its location, but the hotel needs a good make-over.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Scruffy Rooms - needs a make-over.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    204
    65
    16
    4
See reviews for
166
71
23
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

I had chosen to stay at Marco Polo Gateway as we wanted to stay at a hotel ideally near or within a mall. I was with my baby and my not-too-active parents so it was an excellent choice. We also wanted a hotel with big beds (as there were 3 adults and one baby in our room) and having previously stayed at Gateway before, I was confident that the beds were huge and the room was spacious (think it is bigger than Prince for the same price). Based on previous reviews, I was fearful of getting a bad room. Well, our room was clean, didn't smell funny, had clean carpets (room 704). It had 2 queen beds and plenty of space for our luggages too. My only complaint was that there was no complementary bottled water and I found the beds too hard. I noticed though that my parents' room (714) had two double beds (slightly smaller than ours) so if combined, probably only 3 adults could fit comfortably. Location was ideal - I got to shop and could easily bring down my bought items down to my room and then go out shopping again. Meanwhile, my parents, hubby and baby could easily go back to our hotel rooms whenever they wanted to take a snooze. It was unbelievably hot in Hong Kong (at least 31 degrees C) so staying inside an airconditioned mall during the day was a treat. The only con I can say is that the mall is more of an upscale one (Gucci, Burberry, etc.) so that means you still have to go out into the streets to get your Giordanos, Bossinis, etc. While there are other budget-friendlier hotels in Kowloon, Gateway is ideal for large familes and those travelling with kids.

  • Liked — big room with huge beds
  • Disliked — hard bed
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

The location is the only thing they have going for them. The rooms were outdated. The pool and fitness center were closed. I had trouble getting assistance at the concierge desk and the breakfast was horrible. It is only of the best locations. Walking distance to the Star Ferry, shopping and a short cab ride to the night markets. More expensive than the rest of china but affordable. Highly reccomend the city but not the hotel until it has been renovated.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

The foyer of the hotel is luxurious but the rooms are tired and very dirty. Carpet was the sort your feet stick to!! We were offered an upgrade at a price but as we were only here for a few nights and were sightseeing all day we didn't bother. Location is however wonderful - walking distance of the Star ferry and on top of the shops. There was a free shuttle bus from the Kowloon station and on our journey to the airport we were able to check in our luggage at the station and then catch the train without lugging our cases. Hong Kong was just great - a good start to our 3 month round the world trip.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed and sticky dirty carpet
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

This hotel is fine if you are just planning to spend little time in your room and head out to explore Hong Kong. Its decor is not much to write home about and it is a faceless hotel located in the middle of a shopping mall but very convenient for exploring Kowloon and the Star Ferry to hong Kong Island. The breakfasts were great and staff friendly enough and very accommodating.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — No character
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

As other people have said the rooms really need to be refurbished but we were only there to sleep and it was fine for that. The bath/shower leaked so after every shower we had to lay towels on the floor but housekeeping always provided new towels and everything clean every time we returned to our room.

The good-

Location it was close to everything only took a 5 minute walk to Nathan Road
The shopping centre underneath the hotel was huge and also had some good restaurants and a supermarket.
The bed was comfy after a long day shopping

The bad-
The staff weren’t that helpful, after a day of shopping with lots of bags we struggled to open the door while staff just stood and watched us struggle
When we arrived back in Australia we found our credit card not working due to the fact that the hotel had put a hold on it, after being told several times that they don't put holds on credit cards. It was resolved but it was a stress we didn’t need after having such a great time in Hong Kong.

Overall, I wouldn't stay at this hotel again but I would probably give Marco Polo Hong Kong a go or even the Prince after the renovations.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — old decor, staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cainta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

aaaaahh! very ugly room. but it has a very nice location.

  • Liked — the food. =p
  • Disliked — the room
  • Tips/Secrets — there are many dust under the bed and at the lamps.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hong Kong

Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City - Hong Kong's largest shopping complex - Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. The celebrated renovation also included the hotel's Continental Club Lounge and lobby, as well as the restaurant, Three on Canton and al fresco dining area, Be on Canton. The Continental Club is the epitome of sleek design, intuitive services and state-of-the-art amenities. Guests of The Continental Club can enjoy full access and exclusive benefits from the Continental Club Lounge, to include complimentary daily breakfast, afternoon refreshments and evening cocktails and butler service. Located in one of the world's culinary capitals, the hotel has created signature outlets such as Three on Canton which is the ultimate gourmet destination, with an impressively designed space of 20,000 square feet to dine, wine, lounge and network. Discover the most stylish al fresco dining terrace on Canton Road, dubbed 'Be on Canton'. Be part of a hip and happening venue that offers resort-style dining, cocktails and aperitifs served with delectable bites, or shake things up with an instant party. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local calls, Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Fitness buffs have access to the nearby Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel for a swim at the outdoor swimming pool or work out at Prince Hotel's 24 hour gym. True to its promise of an unbeatable location, Gateway Hotel lies on the junction of Canton Road and Haiphong Road in Kowloon and is a short walk from the bus terminal, Star Ferry and MTR Subway Station. The Gateway Hotel is an approximately 35-minute drive from the airport, or an MTR journey that will take around 55 minutes. Guests can also take the hotel shuttle bus which takes about 40 minutes to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Gateway Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.