We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai Food at Great Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Bangkok Restaurant

New Bangkok Restaurant
366 Hennessy Road, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)
852-25758981
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,229 of 4,812 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $15 - $20
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Food at Great Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Love this place!
Very casual dining here, but the food is great. I love that they are consistent - I've been coming here for years and their food tastes as good as the first time I visited. They do a great stir-fry morning glory and their clay oven fish and baked/steamed fish are all very good.

Cost was about $250 for two with two rice dishes, a vegetable dish and half a dozen satays with coconut drinks. Pretty stuffed when we left. Good value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Thai for cheap prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having lived a block away (Lockhard Rd), in a studio without kitchen, meant we took out food here several times a week. As a big fan of Thai food, I loved this place.

The service is nothing extraordinary, though the people are very friendly, the food is just amazingly tasty, and it get's even better when you get the bill.

My personal favourites, the minced chicken with chili and basil, Pad Thai, soups, Morning Glory, chicken satay, Chicken/cashew....

Quality/price-level is something you won't find in Europe.

For the record, I gave this a '$' instead a '$$'... Because these prices were like fastfood prices.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cheap/ Excellent Thai Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My friends & I (British expats living in HK) eat here without fail once a week & have done for over 5yrs!!
It's cheap & excellent - food is perfect for sharing, the menu is extensive, food is fresh & continuously delicious!
The restaurant itself is nothing to scream about, standard Asian seating/ atmosphere (loud & brash), service is sometimes a bit rude but who cares, here is all about the food!
I enjoy taking guests here, it's a true slice of Asia!
They also do take away.
Best Thai food in HK without a doubt...even if the waitress does spill thai curry on you as she abruptly bangs the dish on the table!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thai food on weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

this restaurant moved location from causeway bay to tsim sha tsui, on the 2/F of prat ave. everything I ordered are come with delicious taste, reasonable price. the only thing about this restaurant is the waitress told me she is new, seems she doesnt really know about the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good Thai food at reasonable prices. Recommend the green curry, lemongrass steamed fish, grilled pork neck and fish...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Good Thai food at reasonable prices. Recommend the green curry, lemongrass steamed fish, grilled pork neck and fish ball noodles.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Bangkok Restaurant also viewed

 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to New Bangkok Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Bangkok Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.