We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VaBene

VaBene
17-22 Lan Kwai Fong, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-28455577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #290 of 4,657 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 97 Reviews
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central
viareggio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having lived in Italy for many years you can take it from me that VaBene is an outstanding Italian restaurant that exceeds in quality and service even the finest restaurants here in Versilia (including Forte di Marmi). The traditional Italian cuisine with some subtle and innovative twists from the Italian chef were a taste revelation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    37
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Average Italian food , overpriced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went to this restaurant for dinner following the recommendation of our hotel concierge. Normally these recommendations are good but VaBene turned out to be unfortunate exception from the rule.
The food was quite average but when we saw the bill we were quite surprised by the price the restaurant charged for the dinner. The meal itself was very far from gastronomic sensation whereas the cost was close to very high level.
In our opinion for better Italian food Grissini in Grand Hyatt or Damani at the Pacific Place should be recommended.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Something has changed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Use to be good Italian food. I suspect there has been a change in the personnel in the kitchen. Food was very very average this time round.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe B, Executive Chef at VaBene, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear sir,
i do apologize if this time you didn't enjoy like your previous visit, here in Vabene we always strive to do our best but unfortunately some time things go wrong, we all learn from mistakes and we will surely be more careful next time.
I would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion as this will help us to improve and become one of the more competent restaurant in Hong Kong. Hope u'll give us another chance and looking forward to see you again.

Regards

Giuseppe Brancati
VaBene
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“VaBene was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went to VaBene Restaurant yesterday and had a wonderful dinner. I highly recommend the Brazino or the lamb chops. Both were to perfection. Service was excellent and attentive. Jack runs an excellent restaurant and all the extras, such as the champagne, grapes infused in Grappa, the cookies as well as the Grappa shots were much appreciated. Next time we are in Hong Kong we will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, new location a bit noisy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had not eaten at Va Bene since our last trip over 5 years ago so we thought it may have changed, but not so. The location of the restaurant had moved to be in the centre of Lan Kwai Fong, and the new the decor and ambience inside is really nice, the bar area good to meet up before dinner.
The food was great as ever. Burrata cheese for starters perfect texture, pasta is great, especially the Casoncelli alla Bergamasca e tartufo nero, too delicious to describe.
One small thing - the bathrooms seemed to be shared with the bar next door and could have been better. The noise from the bar was excessive, but then that is what LKF is all about.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VaBene also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to VaBene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VaBene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.