We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ROKA

ROKA
pacific place, Hong Kong, China (Admiralty)
852-39605988,852-39605999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #966 of 4,640 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Admiralty
Description: ROKA serves contemporary robatayaki cuisine in a casual and informal setting at Pacific Place, an established address in Hong Kong for shoppers and three renowned hotel properties.Designed by Noriyoshi Muramatsu of Tokyo design firm Studio Glitt, ROKA incorporates the charcoal robata grill in the restaurant, bar and robata counter to create an energetic atmosphere.
Paris, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I arrived at HK two months ago, and I´ve been in ROKA for three times, for me it´s amazing. The pork belly is really soft, and wagyu tender line was incredible. The relation between prices and quality is correct, you pay for a good product and nice atmosphere. I really recommend brunch on Sunday´s.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    31
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was wanting sushi for dinner during a recent stop in Hong Kong - where my partner doesn't necessarily like it. So it is normally a challenge to find a place to eat where I can enjoy the sushi and he can find something beyond a bento box. While, this is it!

Roka is a great place in Pacific Place. The sushi was fresh and tasted great. My partner got a steak with a side of rice and vegetables and he said that it tasted amazing. They also have an AMAZING cobb salad. There was something in the dressing that gave it a spicy kick that I have never tasted before. You have to try it!

Resturant has a lot of room and gives you plenty of personal space while you are eating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Very small portions and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Tja, sometimes it is what it is: Someone recommends and then you go there and you are disappointed. Seems we had a bad day. The manager even came to apologize about the small portion, imagine this. Although a nice gesture, it leaves a sour taste
Anyhow, we had the smallest Sashimi portions ever seen in HK (you get the double at Zuma for the same price(, Roka is quite pricy for what you get.
Also quality of food is at best average
Wont go there again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“$10 USD for a piece of Sushi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Okay, if you're pockets are deep and you're used to eating a $100+ USD lunch with 3 dishes and not feeling full afterwards then this place is probably for you. I don't know about Hong Kong standards, but the Japanese food here isn't worth it at all. Sashimi is good and tasted fresh but it's definitely not worth the price.

Portion size is tiny, if you go you're going to have to order a little bit more.

Yaki Soba had too much sauce which over powered your mouth. I needed water after every few bites.

SERIOUSLY. Do not go expecting a moderately price lunch. And by moderate I don't mean cheap. ZERO value for the price of food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I've been there one year ago, I have to say that the new menu it's great. I think that the have change the chef, and that is noted in the quality and creativity of the dishes. Comparing with zuma I prefer Roka, it 's cheaper and if the new chef continues like that the quality will be better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ROKA also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to ROKA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ROKA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.