We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend - especially not if you're accompanied with fairer sex” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New Chung King Mansion Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added New Chung King Mansion Hostel to your Saves list
New Chung King Mansion Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Block C, Floor 7, Flat C5, Chung King Mansion, Nathan Road 36-44, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend - especially not if you're accompanied with fairer sex”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

we had to find a place to stay for one day since the next day onwrds we had stay in regal kowloon (which is a v nice hotel btw)
it was v late (12 in the night) and we had just travelled 4 hours flight + a lot of walking around so HAD to take a place soon.
The guy charged us 450 HKD for quite simply a filthy room and refused to change the bedsheets initially.
The only saviour was that the room had an AC, otherwise i dont its worth more than a 100 HKD a night. Also, the place around looks like a very shady area.
It'd still have been fine if the charges were a little nonimal - but oh well..

All in all, try to avoid this place much as possible, if they're not giving you a v cheap price

Room Tip: Avoid this place altogether!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Chung King Mansion with many small hostels,yours never stay with us,but we think stay with others in the same building,because our owner is lady but not a guy.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    6
    9
    15
See reviews for
4
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We booked this hostel through AsiaRooms, and followed all the instructions carefully. Upon going inside the building, a lot of people were trying to get us to "checkout" their hostel aside from the hostel we had booked. We ignored them and went straight to where we should go. We had to wait for the lift because it was so slow, and by the time it came to the ground floor, there were a lot of people that needs to go up the lift as well. It was so packed!

When we got to the floor (according to their instructions), it was a totally different name. It was "CARLTON GUEST HOUSE". Apparently, the "New Chung King Mansion" and this guesthouse has only one and of the same owner.

We insisted that we see the rooms of the "New Chung King Mansion" since that was what we booked in the internet, and when we saw it, it was totally different from the photos they posted online!!!

We opted to stay at the Carlton Guest House, since it was "newer" and "cleaner"...

But the owner practically threw us out because we were arguing with her about why they gave our reservation rooms of the "New Chung King Mansion" to a different guest, etc.

Anyway, if you can find a different hostel, I would suggest don't go check in on ANY hostel with the address of "Chung King" building address!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bacolod
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I can never and I guess will never forget the disappointment we had during our stay in this hostel.Dont be deceived by their advertisements online coz we were victims of such lousy hostel. Rooms were dirty, untidy and the air-condition was terrible. On our first night we werent able to sleep. Comfort room was so small that we cant even move. We need to go down to their reception area every time we need something. No tissues, no towels, no toiletries in short. There was an awful smell along the hallway. We paid more than the rates they posted on the net. We paid additional hkd just to avail a room with comfort room. The following day, we didnt have time to find another hostel to transfer so we stayed for another night.Guess what? they transferred us to another room without even informing us. They transferred our things in an disorganized manner. We were dissatisfied and so stressed that early the following day we transferred to another hostel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Chung King Mansion with many small hostels,yours never stay with us,but we think stay with others in the same building.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohol, philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Beware of this hostel! They will really disturb your vacation and cause you a lot of stress. I booked 3 rooms in this hostel on March 6 for May7-11, 2010 and made a confirmed cancellation on April 14, 2010. Yet, they called me and harassed me on May 7 and told me that they will charge the 3 rooms to my credit card. I called them back and told them it has been cancelled but the staff won't listen instead dropped the phone on me. It was a nightmare on my part.

Stayed May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
You have never stay with us and nobody has called you from our hostel.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

When we got to the hostel, we were transferred to a diff hostel in the same bldg named hollywood guesthouse. The room was small and the bathroom was unpleasant. We were advised that we will be transferring to our booked hostel the next morning. It was a relief when we got to the hostel. The hallway was nice, and the receptionist, we called, "my friend", was very accomodating. Though the room was still small, it was good enough. The bathroom was very clean, good A/C, flat screen tv ( but no cable), and the room itself was something that would make you feel good and comfortable. They cleaned the room every other day while we were out but not a thing was lost. Good security. We will consider coming back to this hostel. =)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We had booked a room for 2 nights before our departure to Bangkok & Koh Samui so were looking for a budget/cheap hotel to stay in. Big mistake!! As soon as we found the building we queued at the two tiny lifts waiting for 15mins for a lift as it was so busy and packed - there were many ppl queuing next to us ... all I can say is I held on tighter to my handbag!! Once we reached our hotel (there were many hostel type hotels in this building) the reception showed me the room we were to stay in, the room he showed me can only be described as a rat hole! It was a dingy little single room with a nasty looking single bed in a dirty looking room, I refused to take the room and the man offered us an upgrade for a fee, I knew this was a rip off!! but as it was already gone 11pm and after a 12hr flight I was soooo tired at this point so just paid like an extra $20 and upgraded to a different room which was a tad better but still a tiny basic room with two single beds. The window was boarded up with what looked like paper and the bathroom was so tiny only 1 person could stand inside. Not to mention the 7 cans of cockroach spray I saw outside the bedroom door. My bf pushed the other bed against the bedroom door and we lay on the hard beds but could not sleep!! This is the worst room/hotel I have ever stayed in! We checked out the next day!! I would NEVER stay here again even if I was homeless! I would rather sleep on a park bench in Hong Kong!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Chung King Mansion with many small hostels,yours never stay with us,but we think stay with others in the same building.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Chung King Mansion Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Chung King Mansion Hostel

Address: Block C, Floor 7, Flat C5, Chung King Mansion, Nathan Road 36-44, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Chung King Mansion Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Free Internet Access,Air-condition,Fan,Television with Cable Channel,Telephone,Private Bathroom,24 hours hot water,Towel and Slipper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Chung King Mansion Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Chung King Mansion Hotel Hong Kong
New Chung King Mansion Hostel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Chung King Mansion Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.