We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jashan

Jashan
1F Amber Lodge, 23 Hollywood Road, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-31055300,852-31055311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #357 of 5,128 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $26
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Recognized as the best Indian restaurant in Hong Kong, Jashan went under a major facelift. Reopening its doors on December 5, 2011, Jashan is offering a brand new look with a menu that is set to impress. Located conveniently in Central on Hollywood Road, Jashan is now opened, serving up creative curries and sumptuous kebabs. Offering all the great Indian classics, you can now experience it all in the heart of Hong Kong. The world innovative menu is designed by Chef Asif. Hailing from the beautiful hillstations of Kodaikanal, Chef Asif has trained with the best under the five-star Taj group. He has worked in establishments such as The Park Hyderabad in India. Like his father who has mastered the art of Indian cuisine, this second generation chef has focused his heart in the fusion of contemporary Indian.After completing school in Delhi in 2003, he joined the Taj Palace and had the experience of serving high profile guests. He then joined a contemporary Indian fine dining restaurant in Dubai before coming to Hong Kong. Jashan serves a sumptuous lunch buffet daily, incorporating some of the restaurant’s favorite dishes. Pop by for an afternoon High Tea Set, offered for the very first time in Hong Kong. The lights get dim for dinner time and out come the romantic candles.Seating up to 75 guests, Jashan’s menu includes classic curries such as Chicken Tikka Masala and Chef Asif’s innovation such as Bagare Baingan,baby aubergines cooked in nutty Indian gravy, and the Patte ki Macchi, seared pomfret fillet wrapped in banana leaf that keeps guests coming back for more.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit hesitant about going to another Indian buffet after not enjoying 'Gaylord Indian' in Mongkok. But this was an entirely different standard. There are a range of starters, followed by many curries (4 vegetarian) and the best naan bread i've had. The chefs come over and explain qhat all the dishes are and are very helpful. I also enjoyed the desserts especially the carrot halwa. Buffet was great value, definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Jashan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

TOP TOP Indian restuarant.
Value for Money, Service was impeccable.
The food out of this world.The owner and manager was very pleasant.
A truly amazing experience.
If your ever in Hong Kong you must try this restuarant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I noted this place as a must eat in HK. I took the address and phone number as my reference and went there for dinner on one of our night in HK. Pls note its on the second floor and we nearly missed it due to the small signboars.
The ambience is good. Fast service. I had the spicy paneer. Can't remember the name and vege basmati. Hubby had mutton basmati with dhal. As a dessert we had rasmalai. The food was superb. The rasmalai was exceptionally soft. I asked the waiter if the desserts were ore packed or frozen and he said no. To get an authentic Indian food with all it's spices ( something the HK food lacks in) is a blessing.

The soft music , good food and friendly staff compliments the status of this restaurant. My son made a mess and they smiled all the wat. Polite. And I left them the balance cash from the bill as their tip.

The price is expensive,2 briyani, 2 side dishes and water costs HK$700 plus. If you have the extra money and don't mind the price then this is the place to eat At HK island.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“The "Indian" in Hong Kong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was invited by my son (who lives and works in Hong Kong) to dine at the renowned and rumoured "one of the best Indian restaurants in Hong Kong". It is in Hollywood Road and slightly difficult to find - it is on the first floor of a smallish-looking building adjacent to one of the moving walkway elevators and is accessed via a small lift. On stepping out of the lift and entering Jashan, I was amazed to see and hear masses of Indian people (always a good sign in an Indian restaurant) celebrating a 50th birthday party. I did not think it would be possible to find a table. We were immediately welcomed by the host and led to a quieter more intimate area towards the rear of the restaurant - perfect. The food was excellent and in the authentic style of India. We washed it down with a couple of Kingfishers and water. The atmosphere in Jashan was buzzing and electric - plenty of chat and merriment. Highly recommended but probably worth making a reservation as it is often very busy and bursting to capacity, adding to the flavour of the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Jashan is very conveniently located in Hollywood Road, it's on the first floor but you cannot miss the sign on the building. The food is delicious and the menu has numerous choices even with an extensve vegetarian section. The fixed price buffet on weekends has great and tasty choices. The fish jalfrezi was gorgeous!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jashan also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Jashan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jashan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.