We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious braised tofu with minced pork” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wu Kong Shanghai Restaurant

Wu Kong Shanghai Restaurant
Alpha House, 27 Nathan Road, TST, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)
852-23667244
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 4,636 Restaurants in Hong Kong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious braised tofu with minced pork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Unfortunately the Peking duck which had been recommended by friends had run out, but that meant we tried a number of other delicious dishes. The Shanghai noodles and braised tofu with minced pork & Chilli were particularly delicious. We dined late so didn't need to queue, the restaurant was still full after 9pm

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    42
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great service, busy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wu Kong has a good range of the Shanghai classics, many of them quite full of red peppers. We stayed on the mild side with some unusual options. Price for 3, less than 500HKD.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best Shanghainese in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Wu Kong was introduced to me @ 18-20 years ago. It remains one of our faves & must do's while in HK. Hands down the best soup dumplings in the city. Everything is great here. Hot & sour soup, onion cakes, dumplings, drunken chicken--even Peking style dishes are great here: Peking duck + sweet & sour pork. Most recent trip I had one of the best vegetable dishes I've ever had~ fresh bamboo shoots. It's seasonal & only available in early April. Fantastic. Do all to make a reservation. I cannot recall a time when this place was not PACKED. Last note~ many of the servers here have been working at Wu Kong 15+ yrs. It's not a touristy place~ it's a true gem. Our local HK friends consider it the best in HK and frequent regularly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Shanghai Surprise in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were looking for something other than Cantonese food when we visited Hong Kong and came across Wu Kong Shanghai Restaurant and we delighted with the food and excellent service. We had a great number of well-prepared dishes, including dumplings, noodles, tofu, and green beans.

The food was quite different from the Cantonese specialities of Hong Kong and the setting was serene and elegant. Best of all, the outstanding meal was one of the best values of our trip.

Wu Kong is not to be missed, but get there early to avoid the mostly locals crowd. By the time we finished dinner, around seven, the place was full and there was a line waiting for tables.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must do in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband picked this restaurant out of the guide book, as it was not far from our hotel. It was a little tricky to find as the address says Nathan Rd, but the entrance is actually in Peaking Rd and below ground. As it was a week night we were luck to get a table, we found it so good we decided to return on Saturday, but if you do intend to visit on a Friday or Saturday a booking is essential, but don't expect to be seated straight away, we we did have a 15 minute wait as it was very busy. On our first visit we were looked after by a very pleasant waitress, who helped us through the menu, and there was not one dish we did not like, the food was very good, especially the crispy duck pancake (a must try for duck lovers). We have now marked this restaurant as one of your favorites in HK, and will be the first one to go to on our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wu Kong Shanghai Restaurant also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Wu Kong Shanghai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wu Kong Shanghai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.