We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a short stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Noho - 286 Queen's Road Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Ovolo Noho - 286 Queen's Road Central to your Saves list
Ovolo Noho - 286 Queen's Road Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.286 Queen's Road, Central | Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China (Sheung Wan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A great place for a short stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of August en-route to Thailand. What a great choice it turned out to be. The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, the shower was superb. Wifi and large TV were great.

The location was good , a very short walk from Sheung Wan MRT station. There were lots of local restaurants nearby. There is a McD and an italian Deli across the road and a great vietnamese, Pho 26 on the corner.

The big plus was the staff were lovely and very helpful. The room had a free minibar and an excellent buffet breakfast.

A great surprise was the free Happy '2' hours in the evening with buffet of nibbles and wines, spirits, beer and soft drinks in the lounge area. the atmosphere was friendly and really was a great place to relax, chill and chat with other people staying there.

I would not hesitate to stay here or in one of the chain again.

A real find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    163
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
38
185
78
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here at the end of July for 2 nights at the start of our 2 weeks summer hols. The room is small but perfectly formed. Really comfy beds - we had a great sleep both nights. Shower pressure very good. Though we did not spend much time in our room, when we did at the end of a day of sight seeing it felt like our little oasis in HK. 10 min walk to soho with lots of good bars and places to eat. Would stay again if in HK. Free mini bar always helps!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my first time in Hong Kong. I stayed at this hotel for four nights. The rooms are small but very well designed and laid out. I was a solo traveller and am quite a large guy, but did not feel I was lacking space. The staff are absolutely fantastic - very helpful, friendly and personable (even when I asked some stupid questions). The location of the hotel is excellent with the MRT a short walk away, taxis readily available, food shops closeby and soho within easy reach. The cleanliness of the hotel is second to none. The free mini bar, welcome bag and happy hour drinks every night are awesome. Overall, I had a perfect stay. The only slight criticisms that I would have is that there is no bell boy to carry your luggage up and the rooms may be too small for two large people. Saying that, I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Hong Kong if I return. Thanks Ovolo!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just a 5 minute walk up the hill from the metro and easy to find. You can get A11 bus from the airport like we did and it's just a 5 minute walk as well and much cheaper than taxi or metro! Like many other have said, the room is small - but your not going to stay here for a week. We were hardly in the room so didn't bother us at all. Location is great, 5-10 minute walk from Soho area and the mid-level escalators. There is a Starbucks and Mcdonald's very nearby (within 1 minute) on the same road if you're worried about eating local! When you arrive, you get offered a free drink (soft, beer, spirits, wine) and snacks which is nice, you also get the same treatment every evening between 6-8 if you want it. The in-room minibar is free, with beers and soft drinks. If you're in HK to explore the city (not laze around in your room) then this hotel is the right choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This boutique hotel may be small on space, but cleverly designed. And what it lacks in space, it more than makes up for it in terms of quality.

The room is possibly 16 square metres, with our beds on a platform facing a (perhaps) 40-inch LCD TV with Apple TV functionality. There is a DVD player in the room as well.

The clothes rail is a nifty gadget that hangs high above your head but there's a bar that allows you to pull down the rail and hang your clothes. The safe is tucked away into a drawer and allows you to charge your laptops/ipads whilst it's kept in the safe.

For a room that small, I was expecting the shower to be a hole in the wall but it's not. Whoever designed this must have slept in enough hotels to realise that a comfortably sized shower is important. When the shower door slides close, there is a space to place your toiletries. The Malin+Goetz bath amenities and rainshower are an added bonus.

Other fine touches include the thick towels, smooth bedsheets fitting of a 5-star hotel's, free minibar (2 tsingtao beers, 2 coke zeros etc), a Loot bag of snacks that we finished on our flight back home, a nice lounge area where you can relax anytime you want and help yourself to coffee/tea/drinks/snacks as well as complimentary happy hour.

Above all, the service is great! They are not iffy about late check-out as long as they have rooms available. We checked out at 2pm.

Of course along with cons come the pros - I personally find the pillows a little too flat, even after I fluffed them. The housekeeping did a great job at keeping rooms clean but to my dismay they chucked our used Malin+Goetz amenities and replaced them with new ones when there's still some mileage in them. It would be nice to just leave them but top up with new ones in case they run out.

It would also be nice to attach a map with our confirmation though it came with detailed walking directions. I'll have to add that my bad sense of direction had us lost in Sheung Wan and wondering to Central. A visual would help so much more. Finding the hotel from the MTR the first time was hard, but a breeze after.

It was just a short walk down Hillier Street and the train station is just on the right on Wing Lok. Less than 5 minutes. Or take a longer walk up Queen's Road Central along Wellington Street and indulge on the local food along the way - great wonton noodles, pork chop bun, egg tarts and in no time, you will arrive at Lan Kwai Fong. Central and Hong Kong MTR stations are just a stone's throw away from there.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The room was small but cozy. Free amenities included free minibar, a drawstring bar, and a little loot bag of snacks for the guests. Good water pressure with warm water and Malin and Goetz toiletries. The reception lounge had free snacks and beverages too.

Our room on the 14th floor was right outside the lift. Both nights there were people talking really loudly outside and woke me up.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Noho - 286 Queen's Road Central, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear SuKii_Travels,

Thank you very much for choosing the Ovolo 286 QC during your recent trip to Hong Kong. Your positive comments on our services were greatly appreciated. Your review will not only help improve the level of our services, it will also boost our team's spirits!

It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back on your upcoming visits to Hong Kong.


Best regards,

Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very convenient location - you can get everywhere from here. Restuarants and shops close by. Although the rooms are tiny, we did not find it a problem as they are so well designed and thought out. We liked the extra touches - the free mini-bar, the welcome bag of goodies (very handy for jetlagged people in the middle of the night!), the lounge downstairs, and the cafe under the hotel which was very handy after a long flight for a quick pizza before bed. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and happy to give advice, and the help yourself breakfast was great. Nice, cosy, funky little place - if you don't mind a really tiny room. There were two of us and lots of luggage but we managed fine. We never managed to make free "Happy Hour" as we were never in at that time. It's a nice touch and other people clearly take full advantage of the free drinks, judging by the atmosphere when we arrived off our flight at 8.10!! A well thought out concept for a hotel, they have tried to provide everything you might need for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Noho - 286 Queen's Road Central, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear EastSussexFlorence,

Thank you for posting such a great 5-star review to tripadvisor! So happy to read about all the little things you enjoyed at Ovolo and Cafe O. Calling us a 'thought out concept' is grand! We do as much as we can with the space provided to make sure your stay with us is effortless - that includes happy hour.

Florence, thank you again for your review. We hope to host you in Hong Kong many more times again in the future!

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Noho - 286 Queen's Road Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Noho - 286 Queen's Road Central

Address: No.286 Queen's Road, Central | Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Noho - 286 Queen's Road Central 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovolo Noho provides style and comfort for bleisure travellers with the city’s finest international restaurants, shopping malls and transport links all close by. Features include free Wi-Fi, free minibar and Apple TV in bright cosy rooms with a Japanese design twists. The facilities at Ovolo Noho are a 24-hour travel gym and a spacious designer lounge with free breakfast and happy hour drinks that serves as great meeting and relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ovolo Noho - 286 Queen's Road Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 286 Queens Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Noho - 286 Queen's Road Central Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Noho - 286 Queen's Road Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.