We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Cafe of JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Marriott Cafe of JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China (Admiralty)
+852 2810 8366
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #113 of 4,203 restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $45 - $84
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Neighborhood: Admiralty
Description: All-day dining made even more special with a wide range of cuisine and offerings. Savour an exceptional culinary experience and enjoy great value-for-money. Recognised as the Best Buffet in town. it is no wonder that reservations are required when dining in one of Hong Kong's favourite places.Marriott Cafe is located on Level 5 of the JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong.
hk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location. Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

One place in Hong Kong where you are always assured to get great food is the Marriot Cafe.
The spread especially for breakfast is superb.
There are many Continental/Chinese/Indian options.
The seating has been well thought out and does not feel crowded.
Staff pleasant & attentive.
Dinner buffet is an option and recommended if one chooses in house dining.
Desserts are quite a temptation for ones with a sweat tooth.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    21
    22
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st Louis
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful/stays open late for travelers arriving at late hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I could not have made a better club sandwich myself! It was delicious after 18 hours in a plane! My husband ordered the burger and it was grilled perfectly.The service was quite pleasant too. We could hear the live music from the bar below which was nice.
I would reccomend this any one staying at the JW.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at the Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is more of an afternoon buffet, rather than one of the more formal and traditional English teas offered in some of the other HK hotels. The buffet runs every weekday from 3.30 to 6.00 and offers a pot of tea and continual grazing during this time. There are a variety of asian and western foods on offer, including sushi, noodles, dim sum, deli meets, cheeses and salads, sandwiches etc, plus a large selection of desserts, cakes, scones, crapes, ice-cream and fruit. At weekends the afternoon prices are a little higher, but they also offer a champagne brunch in the mornings.

As well as the hotel guests, this is a place where girlfriends meet up for an afternoon chat or business men do deals over cake. I've taken visiting friends and family there several times and they've all really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the food. It's also a good place to sit and relax with a book in the afternoon if you are on your own.

As in any restaurant, there are some days when food choices and service are better than others, but I have never felt that I wasn't getting values for money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

JW Marriott cafe's buffet used to be the best in HK. I went with my family for a dinner buffet recently and was totally disappointed!

1. Tables were packed, atmosphere was very noisy , even worse than a fast food outlet!
2. I did not have the feeling that I was dining in a 5-star hotel.
3. The sushi bar at the buffet was hopeless, only 4 kinds of sashimi, freshness was only so so and served by a sleepy, unhappy chef!
4. The fresh vegetables for salad were not fresh!
5. Did not refill food right a way, even for the corns on the salad tables, it took them 30 mins to have it refilled!

We were so disappointed!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Yes, good value for the money, fresh food, 4 station for lunch and diversified. A place that i will keep on visiting form time to time, but definitely need a reservation a day before. Nice decor, very high ceiling, huge space and nice outside view.
Unfortunately today i had a bad experience with one of the staff. The supervisor Toni, was rushing everything, even though the place was not full. Natalie, the waitress was kind enough to clean the table and apologize on behalf of her supervisor. I think it was just a case in a million where i have a bad experience this morning. But as usual , i prefer to address it on the spot rather then just leaving. Today Toni was in charge and when i asked for a manger I was told that she is the one for the day. Too bad, I have some time today to right about it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marriott Cafe of JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Marriott Cafe of JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Cafe of JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.