We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Chinese NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guangdong Guest House

Guangdong Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Guangdong Guest House to your Saves list
Guangdong Guest House
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   36-44 Nathan Road, B2, 5/F, Block B, Chungking Mansion, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location for Chinese NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for five nights to celebrate the Chinese New Year! The location was perfectly situation on Nathan Road, which had easy access to the train, ferries, shopping, and markets with the watch/purse haglers out front and the slow elevators being the only downside. Simon is very welcoming, accommodating, and friendly. The rooms aren't big by any means which was fine by us as we don't spend much time in the room at all, but they had all the necessities and more (hairdryer, bathroom, towels, fridge, cups, air conditioning, and outlet converters). Would definitely stay here with Simon again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed in a double and it was so clean. The place was small, but comfortable. Simon made sure we knew where everything was located and was so attentive. He even let us store our bags for an extra half day! The location was great because we were right by the metro stations and the ferry building. The only downside were the annoying sellers downstairs. The elevators were extremely slow, but since the guesthouse was only located on the fifth floor, we took the stairs the entire time. Simon and his helper are great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

It is well-located, since it is near the Metro station and in the centre of the city. Fortunately, we didn't experience people on the streets trying to sell us stuff as mentioned in other reviews, so that was not an issue for us. The lift to the hostel was a bit slow, but that wasn't their fault. Overall, Simon was just great and helpful. The rooms are clean and well-maintained, it's always nice to go back to a clean room after a tiring HK day! Simon really puts an effort into making sure guests are all comfortable. I wouldn't mind staying here again and recommending this to people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My friend and I went to Hong Kong a couple of weeks back and it was my first time staying in a hostel in Hong Kong. To my surprise, Guangdong Guest House exceeded my expectations and our double bed room looked better in person than in the photos! Another thing is it's best to stay at the lower floors of Chungking Mansion so you can easily take the (shady) stairs instead of waiting in line for the elevators. Since we're both ladies, it was better for us to take the stairs at times instead of squeezing in with all the men inside who shoot you looks sometimes. The bathroom was pretty clean and much better than I expected. I thought the toilet would be in the same place as where you shower but there's actually a separator. Simon is the best - courteous, hospitable and friendly. He's so hardworking because apart from being the "help desk", he's in charge of all the upkeeping as well. Don't mind the people at the ground floor and never ask any of them for directions because they might lead you to a different hostel. We stayed there for 3 nights and you will get used to the chaos at the ground floor. You can also ask Simon to keep your luggages for you if you still have a late flight and you've already checked out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful! Clean! Simon was so helpful. Take a deep breath and brave the elevator experience, it gets easier each day! We even got used to taking the stairs when leaving as its quicker!

Clean towels and clean room daily. Only stayed 2 nights but Simon stored our suitcase both on arrival and when leaving as it was before/after checkout time for our flights

Would stay again

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Accomodation in Hong Kong is really pricey. So if you're on a limited budget and want to be practical then this is a place you should consider. Location is great. Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station is of walking distance. The building may look shady and intimidating for some but the room is the exact opposite. Though small, it's clean, it's cozy, and well-maintained. The owner, Simon, is probably one of the hardest working person you'll ever meet. He maintains all the rooms by himself and ensures that you have everything that you need. It was a very nice stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

my friends and i were recently in hong kong and with the hotel rates sky high, we decided to stay in guangdong guest house, a hostel. we were a little wary at first because of all the warnings we read about people who hang out at the lobby, looking to cheat unsuspecting tourists out of a buck or two. we also had a warning from simon, the hostel manager, about not showing our reservation document to any of the people at the lobby and to ask for directions only from the security guards. walking into chungking mansion where the guest house is located is unnerving at first because of all the people of different nationalities looking at you, especially if you are carrying your luggage. none of them tried to stop me, however, as i made no eye contact with them and headed straight for where i thought the elevator that would take us to b-block was located. the trick is to keep moving, ignoring all the questions being thrown at you by all the people at the lobby and look as if you know where you're going.

chungking mansion looked seedy and dilapidated but the guest house looked as if it had just been renovated, our rooms were spotless, nicely decorated and furnished with all the necessities we needed for a comfortable stay. the bathroom was small (the shower was over the sink) but there was hot water, a hairdryer, glasses, shampoo, liquid soap, conditioner, toilet paper, bath towels that were changed everyday (without us asking), aircon, fan, tv, dvd player and dvds from simon's collection.

simon was very helpful and meticulous about the cleanliness of his guesthouse. he promptly assured us that the establishment was safe and pointed to all the CCTVs installed in the premises plus the alarm button to press should we need help.

during our four-day, three-night stay, he changed our bedsheets twice, changed the towels daily and cleaned the room every day (frankly, i think he's OC). he also gave very precise directions when we asked him for help in finding the bus station to take us to the airport.

guesthouse is located on nathan road so it's right in the center of kowloon and a minute away from the tsim tsa tsui mtr station, shops and eating places. considering the location, it's quite a steal, rate-wise. so have no fear about staying at guangdong guest house. it's one of the nicest hostels in hongkong once you get past the lobby and into your rooms.

Room Tip: you can share double rooms when you're under 200 pounds but if not, a double room should be oka...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guangdong Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Guest House

Address: 36-44 Nathan Road, B2, 5/F, Block B, Chungking Mansion, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guangdong Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Guangdong Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Guangdong Guest House Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guangdong Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.