We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER WOW FOR THE 'W'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added W Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China (West Kowloon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Perfect Summer Package!
Ranked #13 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
new zealand
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“ANOTHER WOW FOR THE 'W'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. Fantastic hotel with great large rooms and great amenties. Also two sets of window shades so u can have a good sleep. The breakfast is fantastic and reasonably well priced. Staff are very helpful. Beds are super comfortable and if need be they have a pillow selection. Dined in house one night and the food was extra special complimented by a great list. For those that like dessert wines, they have Noble One! The hotel is 2-3 minutes walk from the in-town airport check-in which is fantastic. For those who enjoy been hassled by touts outside the hotel front door, this hotel is not for you...

Room Tip: Enjoy everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello Thesmdm, thank you for taking time to write your TripAdvisor review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the room and food quality at W Hong Kong. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,152
    392
    72
    32
    14
See reviews for
201
495
155
485
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, England
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

In five years time, maybe the W will be better connected, but for now, the location is very poor and our views of the hotel were very much affected by the frustrations in trying to get anywhere from it.

OK, there is a train station in the mall attached to the hotel and this train does indeed go to the airport and Central. But getting to Kowloon is a different matter...and walking anywhere is impossible, due to the huge roadworks around the place. So, we felt stuck out on a limb, would have loved to have just stepped out the hotel and absorbed the wonderful HK atmosphere.

Our corner room (2617) was very well equipped, comfortable and peaceful. We had great views over the harbour towards central and could watch the star ferries all day if we wanted. But the wet room bathroom arrangement was awful - the towels got soaked unless we remembered to move them all before turning the shower on. Additionally, there was a damp smell most of the time and any feeling of luxury was soon over - the bathroom was not somewhere to linger or luxuriate, for sure.

The staff were very attentive but busy, and ultimately didn't actually DO a great deal for us (but always said a cheery hello or goodnight) and much as we love contemporary hotels, sad to say, we wouldn't book another W on the basis of this stay (our first in this brand).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello Elegantraveller, we are very sorry to hear that our location disappointed you. It certainly is not everybody’s cup of tea, however many of our guests appreciate it for the convenience to the airport and to Hong Kong island, and enjoy the proximity to Elements shopping mall as well. I do apologize regarding your bathroom experience arrangements and since we do not have your room number our team is doing a check of rooms so we can to immediately resolve this issue. I have also taken your feedback on board regarding our talent being friendly but not helping you to the degree you had expected. Sincerely, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 3 days and we liked the overall feel of all the W hotels. This location is key. The mall is right below it along with the train station which makes it easy to commute everywhere. Also the connection to the airport is very easy which includes baggage claim right at the train station before even reaching the airport. The hotel is trendy as expected and the rooms are a decent size. The location is in Kowloon which is not as bad as we expected because it is 1 stop into main downtown hong kong. Kowloon actually has a lot to see and do on its own , so being away from the main city while being so close is a benefit. Also it is next door to the Ritz carlton which has a bar on the 117th floor. Would stay at this W when we return to HK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello inam k and thank you for taking time to write a TripAdvisor review. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit soon. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed a week at the W in September, 2012. The hotel was clean, the staff were very attentive, efficient, and friendly, and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever experienced.

Coming from the airport, this is just about as convenient as it gets: the airport train lets you out in the lower levels of the Elements mall, occupied by the W. I can hardly overstate how easy this made our airport and Lantau transport. On the way out, we checked in at the airline ticket counters in the train station and even checked our bags from there, without leaving the building.

The location of the hotel is not optimal. Yet. At this writing it is poorly situated for walking. There is a huge construction site between the hotel and the rest of Kowloon. Covered walkways keep you out of traffic while you make the trek to the night market or what have you. I think once the new train station is finished, you may be able to stay in a mall all the way from the W to the ferry terminal. For now, you can take the courtesy shuttle from the front door to your Kowloon destination with ease, or jump on the subway Tung Chung line that is co-located with the airport train in the attached mall, for your destinations on the island.

We had a great view, including much of the harbor and part of Central. The Ritz Carlton, unfortunately, stands proud between the W and Central. I spent several evening hours just looking out the window at the city and harbor lights. Housekeeping kept the room spotless and on the day before we departed a note from the “room stylist” was left, so we would be sure to tip. I found the term “stylist” awfully precious.

Our bathroom had some design flaws, including a broad, flat-bottomed sink that is not efficient for flushing away toothpaste foam, and takes a lot of extra water to keep tidy. Additionally, sliding walls made the bathroom open up into the bedroom but offered little sound insulation and take some effort to close all the way. Finally, and a sliding glass partition is shared by the shower and the toilet that sealed the shower poorly and left the mat and floor soaked after every shower. The hair dryer was in a drawer in the bathroom and plugged in so far back that it had very little usable range (luckily, my wife is not tall and I am bald).

The common areas are not large, as one might expect in a traditional American hotel, which is neither here nor there to me, but we did repeatedly note how loud the place was kept. The volume in the elevator music was surprising and made for more than one comment shared by other guests as we rode together. In keeping with the mood of the hotel, each time we returned to the room after it had been styled, the television was on, a practice I found to be wasteful and annoying. I feel that being in my 40’s I am significantly older than the target “audience” for this hotel. I would caution anyone who is the least bit stuffy, fuddy-duddy, or old fashioned.

The minor inconveniences listed above did not stop us from enjoying our stay at the W. Although, I feel paying rack rate does not make this a great value, the W is not catering to frugal travelers.

We did not eat in the hotel because we were busy exploring noodle and dim sum shops, but we did drop in on the pool which has a wonderful view. Take your swimming suit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello EWT4, thank you for your detailed review and suggestions for W Hong Kong. We value all our guests’ comments as these are the primary means for us to improve. We have noted all your suggestions within the bathroom area and will work on making improvements. Regarding music volume in the elevator, this has now been turned to a very low volume and I believe we will not have negative guest comments about this in future. Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to see you again on your next visit. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a first rate hotel that maybe tries just a bit too hard to be hip and, as a consequence, seems to lose the personal touch that is a feature of so many of Hong Kong's best hotels. The rooms are outstanding, although the views are only sometimes so with the neighbouring buildings sometimes getting very much in the way. The breakfast buffet is one of the very best I have come across, although the lunch and dinner menus were disappointing by comparison. The real issue with the hotel is its location. You really can't walk anywhere outside of the complex and it is surprisingly expensive to get a cab to either Nathan Road or Central. That said the Kowloon subway stop is directly below the hotel. Great to experience once,but I would not bother again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello BeachSwaggie, thank you for writing your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our Kitchen breakfast but disappointed that your lunch and dinner experiences were not up to your expectation. We have discussed with the team on improvements to be made in our venues. Regarding the location, we are one stop away from Central station which is very convenient for our guests, but it is true that due to random traffic situations in HK, it may be more expensive at times. We do hope you would give W Hong Kong another try, If you are willing, please contact me on ww.whk@whotels.com. Sincerely, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The W Hong Kong is one of the most refreshing and welcoming hotels in Hong Kong.
The staff are well trained have a fantastic attitude and go all out to provide you with a wonderful stay. We stayed for three nights on business and really enjoyed every minute we were at the hotel. The fabulous suite was very nice and had harbour views. Starwood preferred recognition was excellent which isn't always the case in W hotels.
The breakfast is excellent with a wide array of healthy choices and most importantly caters for the gluten intolerant !
Planning to stay again later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello jshAdelaide, thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. It is hugely encouraging for the team to hear this feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We initially arrived by express train from the airport which took about 30 mins to get in to Elements Shopping complex, Kawloon though we found some of the signage confusing giving direction to the W Hong Kong...

On arrival and checked in by the Front Office Manager, very straightforward and painless... the lift has a certain glow that some may say is too dark but we found quite soothing. We had a corner room facing the harbour and the tunnel to Hong Kong island...in the distance we could see the incoming and outgoing aircraft from HKIA. Sightseeing flights, ferries to Macao all on view from the room... A hive of activity on the water and we loved that.

Some of the best features has to be the pool views, jacuzzi and the sumptuous buffet breakfast that screams Eat Me ! We also took the complimentary shuttle to the Sheraton Hong Kong for lunch just to see what it was like.

Overall we were given the 'W'ow in Hong Kong and will be happy to return in the future.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello thaibeachlovers, it is fantastic to know that W Hong Kong gave you a “WOW” experience during your stay! The location of our hotel certainly allows our guests to seamlessly travel to and from the airport, and we are now working with the shopping mall authorities to improve directional signage within the mall. We look forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.