We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W Hong Kong to your Saves list
W Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China (West Kowloon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Early Bird
Ranked #8 of 694 Hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Memorable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Memorable hotel, with the signature W Hotel quirky/funky style. The breakfast buffet is a highlight of the totally spectacular menu at Kitchen. The rooms are quiet and well appointed, and mine had a good view, but the Ritz Carlton directly in front of the hotel obscures the best view of the harbour. The high-rise infinity pool (on the 76th floor, if I recall correctly) is a highlight, but the wind was so strong while I was there, the pool deck wasn't a pleasant place to be at any time of day. Finally, the location is not great - directly above Kowloon Station, sure, but a fairly long trek to Nathan Road and Kowloon proper. It's bound in by highways on one side and construction on the other, so the only place to walk is in the high-end, high-price shopping mall below. Overall, a great stay - would happily stay again, but this hotel has its limitations

Room Tip: Don't expect to see much of the harbour from the hotel - some of the rooms have great views, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello tarekparera. We appreciate your frank feedback. I was pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel, in particular the breakfast offerings at Kitchen restaurant. While our location is convenient via public or private transportation to any part of the city, it is currently true that the location has limitations for exploration by foot. Though it has been well disguised and the construction is not obvious, the trek to Nathan Road goes directly past the site of the new high speed rail station to China, so as the areas develops it will become even more convenient for pedestrians. The hotel is also located nearby the future HK$21.6 billion West Kowloon Cultural District which will feature a new museum of visual culture, numerous theatres, concert halls and other performance venues. In the meantime, guests who wish to walk should know that the Elements shopping mall below the hotel houses some of the best shopping in Hong Kong, along with a movie cinema, ice-skating rink, bookshops, beauty salons, cafes and more. We hope to have you back soon to see the evolution of W Hong Kong. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    478
    85
    35
    15
See reviews for
264
624
183
688
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckhead, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

One of the best in Hong Kong. Great staff. Location couldn't be better, walk to Kowloon station. Check out the Ozone Bar next door at the Ritz. 118 floors up! The mall is just off the 1st floor. The only downside I could find was thr Ritz Carlton blocks the sun to the pool for 90 each day.

Room Tip: Take a "Cool Corner Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello porschett, and thanks for the great review of W Hong Kong! Glad to know you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back again soon. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
952 reviews
314 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,407 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've stayed at the W Hong Kong 10+ times - and I just love it! The design, the smell, the bar, the rooms, the service and - especially - the outdoor infinity-pool and -whirlpool at the 76th floor. I also like the location at the Elements shopping mall because you've got everything you need right at hand, a 7-Eleven for buying drinks & SIM Card, a very good hair dresser, many restaurants (of which Lei Garden should be named for Dim-Sum) and all the shops you need, from Hermes to Dolce &Gabbana.

The W staff is always very friendly and helpful & the rooms are just stunning. This time we had a Wonderful Suite which is approx 800 sft, with view towards Hong Kong island. What can I say, the rooms are WOW, stylish, super, the bed just fantastic...

I tried others, such as the Grand Hyatt, the Mandarin Oriental etc. But W is by far the best in Hong Kong, maybe even the best in the region.

TIP: skip the very expensive breakfast (not even free for SPG Platinum members), go to the Elements mall and have something there, if possible Dim-Sum at Lei Garden (from 11:30, reservation required).

Room Tip: A Corner- or Wonderful Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello HONkiev and thank you very much for your informative review of W Hong Kong. I was really pleased to hear that you rate the hotel as best in class in the region, and I will be sharing this with all hotel talent to encourage them in their efforts to continuously improve our service levels. These kind of comments make a huge difference to the team, so thanks very much for sharing. Regarding breakfast, I would like to apologize if you had not been informed upon checkin that SPG Platinum members are offered a choice of several benefits upon arrival, and one of these options is a complimentary breakfast. Also, further to your comments on dim sum options for breakfast, I should share that our Chinese restaurant Sing Yin on the ground floor of the hotel offers all-you-can-eat dim sum from 9:30am-11am on Saturdays, Sundays and Public holidays at $175. We have rave reviews about this offering so please give us a try on your next visit! Hope to have you back again soon at W Hong Kong. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for 8 days during our visit to hong kong. Its a lovely hotel, very trendy design. We had a beautiful suite overlooking the harbour. The bathtub was next to a large window with harbour view...very luxurious. The heated swimming pool is on the 76th floor with glass around it so as to maximize the breathtaki g views of the hong kong skyline and harbour. Nice!
The hotel is ideally located since the mall and kowloon MTR station are just below he hotel. The airport express comes directly to kowloon station, thats very convenient. Breakfast was excellant with very wide choice.
All that luxury does come at a hefty pricetag though! But at least you get super luxury and quality and service for the price! Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting hong kong

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hello Gogo0811. Fabulous to know you enjoyed staying in the lap of luxury – W style. We always appreciate feedback and are continually looking for ways to elevate the our guests experience. Please come again soon. Thank you and warm wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Not cheap, but outstanding hotel across the board - good service, nice bar, modern rooms and a great location if you are doing business in Kowloon. Train station downstairs in same building with airport check-in right there. Access to incredible shopping without going ouside and hotel is very convienient to ICC building. Nice views from upper rooms. Fitness room is on 73rd floor with great view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hello skodie. Thanks for your very thoughtful review and I’m glad you like the hotel, it’s location and services in general. We will continue working every day to ensure we offer our guests good value for money. I hope to have you back again soon at W Hong Kong. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The W is not a cheap hotel but the old adage rings true 'you get what you pay for', and at the W, you will pay. This is a hotel of serious quality, priced to match.

You won't find a cheaper rate than the Starwood corporate website and you can expect a minimum cost in excess of US $400 per night. At that price you might expect breakfast and in-room Wi Fi but these are extras which soon add up. The Wi Fi is fine but outrageously overpriced. The breakfast is, however, one of the best I've seen. The mini bar prices redefine unreasonableness, taking it to stratospheric new heights.

The hotel is very moden, the staff are friendly and it feels as though they're doing you a favour with every dollar they extract.

My 'spectacular' room had great views and was fantastic in the early evening - the sunset over Victoria Harbour and the glow of the city as it lights up justify the (relativley) small additional expense of a slightly better room.

Room Tip: For advance bookings they offer an internet & breakfast add-on for HK $200 per night, buy it; th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello Douglas J and thank you very much for your comments further to your recent stay with us. I am glad you felt you got what you paid for at W Hong Kong and your comments serve as a very important reminder that we need our guests to continue to feel the hotel is providing value for money. I will be sharing your comments with all department heads here to emphasis this point and to ensure we strive for continuous service improvements every day. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My first stay @ the W Hong Kong has been perfect. At the time of this post I am still a guest, but I cannot wait until check-out to record all the great experiences I've had in such a short time.

Check-in, genuinely kind and helpful: Billy @ the Front Desk provided the happiest check-in experience I've had in years. Friendly and accommodating, not only did I get my room a little earlier than standard check-in time, but I was upgraded to a Fabulous room. And it is that. Full disclosure: I have SPG Gold status.

Stylish room, nothing missed: Needless to say since this is a Starwood, the bed is heavenly. Relaxing colours, comfy furniture. Chaise longue by the window is perfect to stretch out with the laptop. Bliss amenities with appropriately neutral fragrances in the designer- cool bathroom.

Lunch @ Kitchen, the restaurent: Great lunctime buffet, nice selection of western and Asia fare. Very popular. Quality. Nice view. Friendly vibe.

Sweat, work-out atop the 73rd floor: Jogging on a treadmill facing Hong Kong's nightly light show. Inspiring. All the cardio, nautilus and free weights one needs for a good workout. And boxing gloves and bag so I did not have to go without muay thai practice!

Room service: Friendly and on-time. I ordered a glass of wine and the attendant brought up the bottle so I could taste first. Nice touch, rarely happens at other 4-5 star hotels.

I look forward to what happy surprises the W Hong Kong brings tomorrow. Never knew I could feel better about a business meeting as a result of a nice hotel stay, but I do!

Room Tip: The Fabulous room category is just that, a nice view at entry stops you in your tracks a moment. Rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello Geraldine D. Thanks for your great comments on the hotel and I was very pleased to know that we enhanced your enjoyement of your business trip. Look forward to having you back again soon. Warm wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.