We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotpot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tung Lai Shun

Tung Lai Shun
69 Mody Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)
852-27332020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #371 of 4,650 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 19 Reviews
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotpot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It's definitely not a place for everyday dining, but the hotpot meal I had there with friends was delicious and fun. Staff were very attentive and the ingredients were fresh and delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Authentic Northern Chinese Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My friend and I visited this one star michelin restaurant in Royal Garden Hotel for lunch. They served a long menu. Guests could choose Northern Chinese dishes from this restaurant or Cantonese dishes from the adjacent restaurant on the same table. We ordered smoked egg, smoked fish, fried river shrimp, xiao lung bao (bun with soup inside), bean curd soup and vegetables. All were authentic and delicious. The xiao lung bao was unconventional - made with chicken instead of pork. The skin of the bun was very thin and there was a lot of soup inside. The smoked fish was made from Mandarin fish – fresh and light. The fried river shrimp was soft and delicate – although a bit too oily. The bean curd soup was special – the chef cut the soft bean curd into very small pieces with a sharp knife in high speed – a good testimony of his skills. The staff members were polite and attentive. Good venue for people who are looking for high quality authentic Northern Chinese cuisine. The price was in line with the quality of the food - our bill for two people was HKD800.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Exotic Beijing and Huaiyang cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

This is a popular upscale place among locals who flock here for its Jiangsu and Beijing cuisine, especially duck dishes and authentic shuan yang rou - thin slices of Mongolian black-headed mutton. The restaurant traces it lineage back 100 years to Beijing.

It is quite popular and reservations are highly recommended. We were only able to secure a "corridor table." This meant we were virtually merged with two wedding parties which had taken over the entire floor of the hotel. We enjoyed the festivities but this would certainly not be the proper setting for a business dinner or special date.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I love her mutton..........delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

I love her mutton..........delicious!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“very good Chinese style...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

very good Chinese style pastries and pancakes~
And traditional Beijingnese lamb hot pot~

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tung Lai Shun also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Tung Lai Shun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tung Lai Shun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.