We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decent Wanchai/Causeway Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus to your Saves list
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.11 Morrison Hill Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai / Causeway Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Manila
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Decent Wanchai/Causeway Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I booked this hotel directly via email. What I noticed is that if you are still inquiring and trying to book, they are very accommodating. Once the sale is closed, the emails were less frequent.

Anyway, the hotel can be pricey, but you have to consider it is HK after all. A similar room in BKK or TPE should have cost you less than half of what we paid. It was about US$100 per night, or even more. If you have NW/Delta miles, you can get it though for 17K miles.

Pluses - The Filipino staff in the cafe are all friendly and made sure we felt really taken care of. Flat TVs mounted on your wall, to save space too. Again, it is HK. Shower has power. My request to have the two single beds put together was granted. The cleaning lady was courteous. And my fave, your hotel room does not have a phone. Instead, you get a cellphone which doubles as your room phone. Free local calls, I think. Ask. Close to bakeries, street food stalls and 7 11.

Deltas- A tram ride away from Causeway Bay and Wanchai. You can walk, but it would take about fifteen minutes. There is a short cut via the wet market, to go to Causeway though. Also, it is really small. If you are not too skinny, spend more on extra space. We had to store luggage under our bed. Sink is outside the bathroom. Even for two people, traffic inside the room can be a problem.

All in all, it was ok. You cannot smoke inside and we had to take the elevator to go outside the hotel. Frontdesk may make you feel unwelcome, as they seem to be perenially busy. If you need to ask for directions and the receptionists are arranging reams of paper, head to the cafe, push button to open door, and ask the Filipino staff who will be happy to answer all your questions.

If you are on a tight budget, check hostels instead. If you like what you see for $100 a night, then go ahead. Bonaparte was an experience too, with its fancy lights inside the room and the view which can give you mixed feelings.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    76
    47
    24
    26
See reviews for
11
28
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I arrived at this hotel to be asked do i want to upgrade for the price of my original room.

I then go to the room to find you cant do anythingt in this room. Tiny for 1 person never mind 2 people. It did have everything you need but the room was so small you coundt do anything. Me and my partner had to work out times when we would each go in the shower, get dressed because we both coundy do it at the same time.

This is not the cheapest hotel in hong kong and i will not be returning to this hotel in the future. Please go elsewhere with bigger rooms. I know hong kong is known for small rooms but these rooms were tiny.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Tiny rooms but good location between Wanchai & Causeway Bay (remember to take MTR to Causeway Bay station instead of Wanchai or you will be regreted!). The hotel entrance was not impressive, but what do you expect if you choose to stay in a 3-star boutique hotel. The staff were friendly and patient. One thing that surprised me was that they have i-phone available for rental and absolutely free of charge for dialing all local calls. Hotel cafe was also amazing, good hospitility, good food and value for money. Don't miss ordering chocolate molton cake, you would definitely fall in love with it.... Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Holiday back in my hometown with boyfriend. Stayed in 3 hotels throughout this 2 weeks trip, so tiny room is NOT normal in Hong Kong despite very similar price!

Yes, location is acceptable, but not exactly next to any MTR station. No car parking outside hotel as on main street, so dragging heavy luggages to hotel can be hell.

The worst experience was the inflexibility of the staff. My room was booked by my father via an agent. He booked it under his name, not ours. But reception staff refused to give us the room or to fill in any paperwork to facilitate the check in even while we were waiting for my father to turn up.

The room as described before was absolutely tiny. We could not find enough space to lay our luggages in the room, certainly no one would able to open the door to break in either!

The ONLY positive thing is the bed is comfortable ( 2 singles put together ). But shouldn't this be a minimal basic hotel would have?

Trust me, there are many other hotels in Hong Kong with bigger rooms and cheaper! We were very very tempted to book into the hotel next door! And it's certainly not a boutique hotel to my standard.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Awful customer service,
Rude, and that's by Chinese standard,
Staff are looking busy even when talking to them so they can't hear what you are saying when trying to make a comment or complaint.
Mould in the showers, got bitten by lice, dirty carpet,
Please I could go on, but there is too much to write.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Let me preface this by saying I am a big and tall guy by Asian standards, so a small room is ESPECIALLY uncomfortable for me. And yet I adjusted eventually. I placed my big suitcase on the bed next to mine so I went from a king to a Single bed. You learn how to shower with your arms against your side, and use the bathroom sitting down. One of the things going for this hotel is the fact that they do fit in almost everything you could conceivably need into the room. Telephone? You get a cellphone on rental from them and calls to your room are routed to it. Hairdryer? Check. Water replenished everyday? Check. Safe? Check? Place to hang your clothes? Check but small.

The Laundry is overpriced and you would be surprised how difficult it is to find a good cheap launderers in Hong Kong so be prepared for that. The Service staff are really gruff, and somehow seem to think you should know better than to talk to them. But the cleaning staff are OK. I hate to say this but I suspect front of house staff were hired more because of looks than any actual desire to serve. Overall, for the price you pay, you get pretty much everything in a really tightly fitted box. It's not pretty if you need to stay here longer than a couple of days but for a short layover in a central location, it's quite tolerable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

stayed 3 nights in this excellently located hotel. the room is small but that's normal for HK, or London for that matter. Took the A11 airport bus which stops 100 meters from the hotel [but couldn't find the stop to go back to the airport!] Issued with a free mobile phone on registration to contact the hotel 24/7 consierge if we had any problems. Free local calls too. Good thing because no one seemed to speak English in HK. Excellent value at 50Pounds UK/night. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus

Address: No.11 Morrison Hill Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning micro deluxe boutique hotel property, Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus' commitment is a distinct focus on your personal well-being. From the moment you step into the hotel's intimate and peaceful lobby, you can relax and be rest assured that your every need will be our pleasure to fulfill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonaparte By Rhombus Hotel
Hotel Bonaparte By Rhombus Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.