We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sevva

Sevva
25/F, Prince's Building, 10 Chater Road, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-25371388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #376 of 4,807 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fab Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went for a drink & stayed all night.... their manager Jason is a gem .... he made us feel special and very comfortable
At first sight the drinks look a bit pricey but then the view, ambiance, music & Jason make them priced too low
good on ya

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    138
    43
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The view is the only redeeming feature”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The good: the view, the atmosphere, and the people watching (five stars)
The bad: the service (subtract one star)
And the ugly: how much you have to pay for bad service (subtract one star)

Last visit was in June 2013 for drinks. I go to Sevva every six months or so; like I mentioned above, the view is five stars, and I have guests, colleagues, and a wife to please.

From its terrace, Sevva has a priceless and unique 180 degree of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island towards Admiralty and Wan Chai. It's a great place to take guests, clients, and tourists to enjoy the view and the sophisticated atmosphere with the upscale clientele.

On the other hand, the service is inattentive and the staff need training. I consistently need to chase the staff for service. They seem inexperienced. During my last visit, a guest in my party ordered a Maker's Mark whiskey with soda. The waiter didn't understand and came back with something entirely different. Even after the guest explained in detail what he wanted, the waiter still didn't understand, so the guest went straight to the bartender, who explained that they didn't have that whiskey. I can get better - and friendlier - service at Smugglers Inn in Stanley for half the cost with none of the attitude.

Prices are high. You're paying for the location and the view. A glass of wine is HK$150.

The food? I don't eat there. Ate at Sevva once about four years ago. The food was unremarkable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent for Lunch, food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited Sevva's in Aug when a typhoon was just starting to hit Hong Kong so the normally great view from the 25th floor was limited. The food and service was still excellent. Did the set lunch which was mini Dosa then Ocean trout followed by Mango sorbet. Each item was excellent with interesting Indian flavors. As we were leaving our late lunch we saw people coming in for tea time being served nice looking cakes and snacks. I think it would be nice to go for tea time. There is a dress code.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“relaxing outdoor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went there with group of friends, and we chose the stand table outside for drink after dinner in the restaurant which is good. We had a good night with good wine and good friend, we actually enjoyed the night and drinking even it was a windy and cold night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Over-rated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Sevva clearly prides itself of its cosmopolitan sophistication but we found it undeserving of the claim. Located in the Alexander Building, the view from our seat was dominated by a water tower (with the harbor far below).

The best part of the meal was slender crisps served in traditional toast frames and lightly seasoned with olive oil and herbs. Unfortunately, the entrees took so long to come that we all filled up on them before the main course.

The menu is dominated by fish, and with a companion at dinner allergic to fish, there were few choices for the table, other than a US$125 Wagyu steak or crispy pork, which was like eating pork rinds and pork fat. There were three carrots in the vegetable side (and I found myself glad for those crisps).

Service staff, in an effort to be friendly, insisted on conversation, though they barely spoke English and we spoke no Chinese. A lovely, talented chanteuse entertained diners but was positioned so close to our table that all conversation ended whenever she and her guitar-playing accompanist played.

With two glasses of wine, three entrees and no coffee or dessert, the check was nearly US$300, which surpassed the experience by about a factor of three.

If you choose Sevva, tell them you want a table at the opposite end of the musicians.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sevva also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Sevva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sevva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.