We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable but not overwhelming experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NOBU InterContinental Hong Kong

NOBU InterContinental Hong Kong
18 Salisbury Rd, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)
852-23132323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 4,657 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 380 Reviews
Cuisines: Japanese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Acceptable but not overwhelming experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had lunch (three ladies) on a weekday with friends in summer. Ambience of the restaurant is nice - tables far apart and we were given a table by the window overlooking a good view of Hong Kong. I note many reviewers remark on the fantastic view. It is a good view but I must add that I've been to many other restaurants which command a fantastic seaview too. Restaurant was less than half full and atmosphere was pretty quiet. As regards the food, firstly, I am not a fan of Japanese fusion food. Two of us ordered the sets which we can choose 3 starters and 3 mains. They were pretty innovative but the sauce on the dishes we ordered were just really too sweet and overwhelmed the freshness of the seafood. One of the choices I had was their signature cod fish which I only ate half of the portion - just a no no for me - really too sweet that I could not taste the fish at all! For wasabi lovers, you must try the wasabi - freshly grated and very good. Service is attentive and courteous. I did not find the prices too high and we had some discount using credit cards.

Will I go again? No, the food did nothing memorable for me and there are many other better restaurants in Hong Kong especially in terms of food, pricing, view and ambience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    101
    44
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nobu in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have dined at the Nobu in NY before, however our Hong Kong dining experience was fabulous. We had the chef' special seafood platter, as well as sushi, and dessert. The meal as well as the view of Victoria Harbor was one of the best experiences I have ever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good view,good tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great view of the harbor, most romantic atmosphere,
we took a tasting menu, everything is perfect and very good quality!
but a little expensive, we spent about 3000 HKD for 2.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Overpriced and underwhelmed. Don't waste your time or money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had the tasting platter and a bottle of pinot. Total AUD$600. We were guests at the Hotel. The food was bland, the price was exorbitant. At dinner you could not see what you were eating the lighting was so dim. The music was jarring. The service was all upsell and not sincere. More like a nightclub than a fine dining experience. Such a disappointment. We waited so long for our dessert we eventually asked for it to be delivered to our room. When it came.....fruit and sorbet. Wish we had of gone to Spoon instead. Do not waste or time nor your money. Takes about 10mins to walk to the bathrooms in the back blocks of the hotel. Having eaten at fabulous Japanese restaurants this leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch - Bento Box - Should charge more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I went for the Create your own Bento Box. (3 Cold + 3 Hot)

I decided to choose:

Tuna Salad, Assorted Sushi/Sashimi, + One thing that i just cannot remember!

Black Cod, Rock Shrimp, Scallop

Enjoyed almost every dish. Value for money at around 400HKD for the box.

Much much better than the Nobu I visited in the Bahamas.

An Easy return and probably my favorite Japanese in Hong Kong

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NOBU InterContinental Hong Kong also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to NOBU InterContinental Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NOBU InterContinental Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.