We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 4-night stay at this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road to your Saves list
Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Arbuthnot Road, Central | Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET READY TO PARTY!
Ranked #15 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Tustin, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent 4-night stay at this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We just finished our 4 night stay at this hotel this week and had a wonderful time. We selected this hotel as an alternative to the $600-700 USD/nt 5-star options (i.e. Mandarin Oriental) and were not disappointed. If you want 5 star quality, service and location at a more reasonable price this is your best bet in Central (which is one of the best areas of Hong Kong to stay in). The location is excellent, the rooms are small (~350sqft) but very modern and appear to have been built or renovated in the past 1-5 years. Location is a perfect home-base for sightseeing in virtually any area of Hong Kong. Service was outstanding and the mini-bar is free and restocked daily. They even noticed that it was my birthday (without us mentioning anything, probably noticed it on my passport) and surprised us with a bottle of champagne the day of! It was so sweet. We booked a package with free breakfast which was very good. Around the corner is a set of stairs that lead you right to the main nightlife area of Hong Kong with tons of bars and restaurants (2 minute walk). Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear EllieMiz,
Thank you kindly for your terrific review and we are very glad to see that you choose to stay with us for your birthday too. We hope to see you again staying at Ovolo.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    62
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
122
40
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great part of town with KLF & Soho just down the street. Rooms beautifully decked out, big beautiful bathroom & amazing staff. No noise travelled between the rooms either.
Free mini bar and mineral water a bonus.
Loved that there were washing machines and dryers if you wanted to use them too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Jane C,
Thank you for your lovely compliments about our hotel. My team & I are delighted that your stay was perfect and we hope to see you back again soon with us.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager,
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here on our first trip to HK and was an excellent choice. Great room with EVERYTHING you could think of included in the nightly rate. Wifi minibar toiletries DVD player huge TV daily newspaper and great breakfast in the cafe on the ground floor. Gym is small but had everything you might need. Great friendly staff very helpful looked after us impeccably. Great location for anything you might want to do in HK. Cannot recommend highly enough. Beats allegedly ritzier establishments hands down and has a wonderful modern individual style so much nicer than most. A home from home!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear "GTGTGTGT"
It is wonderful to read your fabulous review. I am very glad to see that your stay with us was to your thorough satisfaction and delighted that our service to you was a high point.

We hope to see you back again to Hong Kong, please feel free to email us direct on 2@ovologroup.com to assist you with any arrangements you may need.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is just steps away from LKF, but with none of the noise. Great, well though-out rooms, the most helpful and friendly staff, and great amenities. Highly recommended. The rooms are a great size, the shower is great, and most importantly, the rooms are quiet, while the bars are just steps away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I fly all over the world and there is no better business hotel then the Ovolo in Hong Kong. I am always amazed at the details that they think of to make my stay amazing. Great staff, great value, and even better service. Others have also said the small things like an open mini bar, snack bag, chargers, etc... are just some of the benefits of staying. The Ovolo Cafe next door is great and you are walking distance to some great HK night life.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear "rajeev k",
Thank you wholeheartedly for your terrific review about us! My team and I are thrilled to see that everything was perfect for you.

On your next visit to Hong Kong, please feel free to email us on 2@ovologroup.com to help you with any assistance you may require

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was in Hong Kong for a few days for a conference. Although this was one of the hotels suggested by the organisers, I chose it based on Trip Advisor reviews and I wasn't disappointed. The room was lovely-a good size in a city where space is at a premium, very modern, and designed for maximum comfort. The bathroom was also spanking clean, high quality toiletries and lovely thick towels. The rain shower was a great way to start the day. A huge plus was the free mini bar and the nightly happy hour, with free wine and beer at the reception. It was great to come back at the end of a long day and help myself to a glass of wine on the way up to my room. The welcome loot bag is a nice touch, with goodies to keep you going as you explore the city. The free back pack also came in very handy for all the walking one does in a very hilly city.

Staff were very friendly and helpful with tips on where to eat and getting round the city. Having them write the Chinese names of destinations for taxi cabs saved me time and stress-important tip for first time visitors to Hong Kong. I also made use of the free laundry.

Location was excellent, just by Lan Kwai Fong in the heart of Central, and steps away from dining, shopping and the MTR underground (Central Station).Despite the pulsating night life just steps away from the hotel, I didn't hear anything from my 21st floor room and slept soundly.

Two minor points-the room has a nice big mirror, but the lighting is poor around that area and it is rather dark, so you'd have to use the bathroom mirror to apply makeup or for anything close up. The lighting around the study area is also rather dim. Housekeeping could also have been more thorough about removing used glasses and changing dirty linen.

However none of these detracted from a great stay at Ovolo. It manages to combine a down to earth homely feel with high quality luxury surroundings without being overly glitzy. Excellent value for money in a city where good hotels are pricey. I'd gladly stay here again and recommend it to others. Kudos to Manager William, Mahmood and the rest of the crew.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear CitySampler,

Thank you for your overall very positive review about us. I am glad to see that you tried out so many different parts of our service to your enjoyment and that you thought of us as your Hong Kong home.

Your improvement points will be taken on board and we will learn from your valuable feedback too.

On behalf of my team, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again very soon!

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel provides all the conveniences you are likely to need when travelling and then something quite unusual- a little snack hamper when u arrive and a free min bar which is topped up every day. Our room was very modern and clean. The service from staff was excellent. The Ovalo is an excellent hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Ermil-Thea,

Thank you kindly for your lovely review about your stay with us. We are glad to be unusual and different from other hotels in our style, service and amenities as you found during your visit.

We hope to see you back again with us in the very near future!

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road

Address: No.2 Arbuthnot Road, Central | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be in the moment. Ovolo Central offers a sleek lifestyle in a location that cannot be beaten right in the heart of the entertainment district between Wyndham Street, Lan Kwai Fong and Soho. Designed by award‐winning Hong Kong firm KplusK Associates, each guestroom includes: a bedroom plus office – featuring a walnut desk and designer ergonomic chair, an impressive bathroom decorated in onyx and marble, and all of the newest on-demand features like free super-speed WiFi, a free minibar and Apple TV3. With two rooms per floor guests are assured the upmost in privacy and comfort during their stay, with the option to step out to the free 24/7 gym, Lo Lounge for free daily happy hour, or nearby Cafe O for complimentary breakfast. Perfect for work or play, whatever you do at Ovolo Central you win. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.