We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with just few things missing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road to your Saves list
Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Arbuthnot Road, Central | Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET READY TO PARTY!
Ranked #15 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel with just few things missing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good points:
Great location and easy to get around most places, bars and restaurants, but like most areas of HK you need to be a bit fit to climb up those endless hills and stairs. Rooms where very nice, very clean and quiet until the night time when the boom boom music starts so unless you are a party person or heavy sleeper then might not be ideal. Staff where very friendly and helpful.

Bad points:
Cafe O is downstairs and where you grab breakfast but I wasn't too impressed with what they had on offer. Juice, coffee/tea was ok but the rest was average.
As mentioned above be aware of the boom boom music at night time since its so close to a few clubs and bars.
There was some big white box in the shower which I found very odd as it makes things more cramped, hmmmm
No wardrobe in the room which also meant no bathrobe. I like having that option in hotel rooms :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear "Plavj"

Thank you for your contructive feedback about your recent stay with us. It is always good to know what areas we can improve on.

I wish to offer you my sincerest apologises about your breakfast experience & the noise disturbance from the Lan Kwai Fong neighbourhood during your stay. To re-assure you, we do try to allocate higher floors for light sleepers and will always be very happy to oblige for any high floor requests.

For your breakfast experience, I would like to be able to speak to you direct to focus on the areas for improvement and in doing so, Ovolo & Cafe O will strive for a better experience.

Please feel free to contact me direct on williamcondon@ovologroup.com.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager,
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    63
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
124
40
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Not only does Ovolo boast a great location - easy walking distance to all the great restaurants, bars, and shops in LKF, Soho and mid-levels - its rooms are spacious (for Hong Kong), modern and with great amenities. Free mini-bar, free happy hour drinks, goodie-bag, apple TV with an LED screen, iPod dock. luxurious shower room and toiletries and the list goes on. The service is also second to none - the staff really want you to enjoy your stay and nothing is too much trouble. The one minor downside was the breakfast at the café next door - they don't seem to set themselves the same, high standard. Whilst the food was passable, we once had to send it back to heat up and another time were waiting for 45 minutes for our breakfast. The muesli is excellent though!
Would definitely use Ovolo again on a subsequent trip

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear "nigelmoy"

Thank you for your constructive feedback about your stay with us recently. I am thrilled to see that overall you really enjoyed yourself with us.

Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings with our breakfast service. We are experimenting with some new ideas for our breakfast menu to hopefully improve our service.

Should you have any new plans for re-visiting Hong Kong, please feel free to email myself direct on williamcondon@ovologroup.com.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager,
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The rooms are quite spacious for Hong Kong and there are many nice touches, like a full-sized umbrella in every room, a free mini-bar and a goodie bag, an ironing board and iron conveniently hidden yet accessible, free wi-fi and Apple TV. The restaurants of Lan Kwai Fong (LKF) are only a 5 minute walk and the business district of Central and MTR can be reached on foot in 10-15 minutes. In my opinion, this is best bargain, quality hotel in Central. At night you can faintly hear the clubs of LKF but it's not enough to disturb sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Ovolo is located perfectly between the LKF and Soho areas of Hong Kong. It's a 2 minute walk to some lovely bars and restaurants; with a 5minute walk into the heart of Soho. It's also about a 10minute walk from the metro.

The hotel itself is well maintained with lots of extras (the loot bag, free mini bar, excellent quality toiletries). The room was very spacious for HK. We were on the 17th floor and could faintly hear music some nights, but it was by no means loud and it was easy to sleep over.

The staff are extremely helpful and always addressed us by name, even when casually saying hello. The manager, William, was around a lot and I think during our 5 day stay we saw him about 4 times. He always spoke to us and asked how our stay had been, taking a genuine interest. The rest of the staff are polite and can't do enough to help you. We were particularly impressed by Fango who shared his wealth of knowledge on the area with us. We asked him a few times for recommendations on tourist excursions to which he always printed off guidance and then talked us through it. This was extremely valuable and we were very thankful of his help.

When my husband and I were booking the Ovolo we noticed that some reviews mentioned breakfast as a negative. We did not find this to be the case. We enjoyed eating in the cafe each morning, far better than eating in a boring hotel restaurant! The food was excellent and you are given a lot of it! A freshly squeezed fruit juice, hot drink, bakery item and then full breakfast, cereal or a museili pot. The food was also fresh and to a very high standard.

Overall, I would gladly recommend this hotel to friends and family. I'm sure we will be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear "girlsloveholidays"

My team and I and thrilled to see your terrific feedback and lovely compliments about our colleague Fango. We hope to see you back soon again with us and please feel free to email myself direct on williamcondon@ovologroup.com for any assistance you may require.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager,
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights as part of a package deal through BA. The hotel staff are really great, especially William, who took great care of us. They really want you to enjoy your stay and go the extra mile to make sure you do.

The rooms are great, bathrooms all very modern and clean. This is not a traditional hotel in the sense that there are no large lobbies and lounges. The first floor reception is small and there a little fitness room off to the one side. What they lack in size, they more than make up for in good design and friendliness.

There are two rooms off each landing so nice and quiet - no long corridors to navigate!

You are given a bunch of vouchers for each mornings breakfast which is available either to be delivered to your room or you can go downstairs to 'Cafe O' to eat. The food and atmosphere is 'Light Cafe' style - really good, fresh, quickly served and a good choice. Staff here are also great.

All in all a great experience and when you are in Hong Kong for 10 days, a really good place to call home!

Room Tip: Get up as high as you can. The views are great and you'll be far away from any street level acti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear "Ian T"

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us recently. I am personally very happy to see that our customer service level really impressed you and also of course that your overall stay was just perfect for you.

My team & I hope to have you back again soon with us!

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager,
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

we stayed here 3 nights on our return from Europe to Australia. A very lovely comfortable hotel. The Kingsize beds, the large bathrooms and walk in rain shower - divine!!
upon check in a small bag of goodies are in you rroom plus the fact of a free mini bar! Breakfast is also included in the rate - the rooms are spacious and the hotel very centrally located - a short stroll to Soho area with the many restaurants and bars and close to the central escalators to take you downtown. also a short walk from the Peak Tram terminal. The General Manager William was very friendly charming and helpful - he and his team could not do enough for us - well done guys - true hospitality!! - we will definatle stay here again if we are in Hong Kong!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear "robbo1963"

Thank you kindly for your terrific compliments about our hotel and our service to you. We hope that we helped to make your visit to Hong Kong a very memorable one and that we may see you back on your next visit very soon.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager,
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel proposes more then correct hotel rooms. A lot of nice amenities like the free minibar, loot bag, free happy hour, funny videos in the elevator... but the ABSOLUTE PLUS of this hotel is the staff, the service they provide is exceptional. They are helping you in all ways possible.
William, the Hotel Manager, is an absolute star, he has a discrete and guest orientated appearance. He is an absolute Professional that will help you whenever help is needed, even beyond your stay he took care of us with finding back the phone we forgot in an hotel in Beijing.

The rooms are as I said more then correct and the hotel is very well located in Hong kong.
5 minutes by foot (downhill! Uphill count a bit more) from the closest underground station.
Restaurants are around in the area as well as a shopping street.

I can't say more then come to this hotel when you plan a trip to Hong Kong!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Manager at Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear "VincentVD",

Thank you kindly for your amazing review for our hotel. It is always very heart-warming to see how our guests feel about their stays and we are so glad everything worked out so well for your visit.

Should you any assistance for any future trips to Hong Kong, please feel free to let me know on williamcondon@ovologroup.com.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager,
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road

Address: No.2 Arbuthnot Road, Central | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be in the moment. Ovolo Central offers a sleek lifestyle in a location that cannot be beaten right in the heart of the entertainment district between Wyndham Street, Lan Kwai Fong and Soho. Designed by award‐winning Hong Kong firm KplusK Associates, each guestroom includes: a bedroom plus office – featuring a walnut desk and designer ergonomic chair, an impressive bathroom decorated in onyx and marble, and all of the newest on-demand features like free super-speed WiFi, a free minibar and Apple TV3. With two rooms per floor guests are assured the upmost in privacy and comfort during their stay, with the option to step out to the free 24/7 gym, Lo Lounge for free daily happy hour, or nearby Cafe O for complimentary breakfast. Perfect for work or play, whatever you do at Ovolo Central you win. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Central - 2 Arbuthnot Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.