We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong

Save Saved
You added Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong, China (Central)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Ultimate PartyPackage
Ranked #16 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've stayed at fancier and far more expensive places in HK, but never had a better experience than at a recent stay at the Ovolo. The rooms are smart and spacious with plenty of modern technology and ammenities. The location is perfect, convenient to restaurants and nightlife and with easy access to all transportation. More than anything else, the entire staffs' committment to making your stay absolutely perfect from the moment you step through their door is what sets this palce apart. Proactive, personable and eager to go the extra yard, we can't thank or recommend this team enough. Can't wait to return and se our new friends again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear “Hyderabadude”

I would like to offer you my deepest thanks for your great vote of confidence in us. It is great to hear you have such a wonderful time with us. My team & I will be thrilled to have you return back to us when you next visit Hong Kong.

Please feel free to email us on 2@ovologroup.com and we will be sure to help with your arrangements.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    44
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
95
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I have just stayed here for 4 nights. We were very impressed with the level of service throughout our entire stay. From the moment we entered the hotel until when we checked out, the staff did all they could to make our stay at ovolo as comfortable as they could. They were constantly helping with taxi's, restaurant suggestions and anything else we needed during our stay. The hotel is in a fabulous location, walking distance to many great restaurants and shops around the Lan Kwai Fong district and central. Facilities within the hotel were clean and modern, and exactly what we needed for our stay, as was the personal level of service which is often hard to come by in many of the larger hotels. Thanks to all at ovolo for making our stay in Hong Kong such a pleasant one. We will definitely be staying again when we return to Hong Kong!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear “Georgie M”,

I would like to personally thank you for your wonderful review about us. Our team has been overjoyed to make your experience in Hong Kong so memorable. We wish to provide the best possible service to our guests and I am glad that we have done so well. For your future visits to Hong Kong, please feel free to let us know direct on 2@ovologroup.com & we will be delighted to assist you.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Superb location close to shops, restaurants, MTR (Central), and night life. The service was superior! The room: amazing, nicely appointed, modern, good size, firm-comfy bed, great bathroom (rain shower) with Malin + Goetz toiletries, Nespresso machine, Apple tv, free mini-bar, need I say more? Rate also includes breakfast from Cafe O next door, or you can order as room service. I only wish we could've stayed there longer than 3 nights. We will stay there again next time we visit HK and will highly recommend to friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear “John P”,

Thank you for your amazing recommendation of us here at Ovolo! We are very glad to hear you had a wonderful time on your visit to Hong Kong and we were the perfect choice for your trip.
We look forward to having you back again with us and please let us know if we can assist for any future stay for you or your friends by contacting us on 2@ovologroup.com.

Best regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My partner and i stayed 4 nights and it was fantastic! The staff were always friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble! And the rooms were a good size, comfortable and the amenities better than most! Location also spot on!
Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear “JuliaT77”

Thank you for your fantastic review of us and it is terrific to see you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially delighted to see your comments about our team here going the extra mile. When you plan to return to Hong Kong, please feel free to let us know on 2@ovologroup.com and we will be absolutely thrilled to assist.

Best Regards,
William Condon
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I don't usually write reviews, but this hotel is great! They have really captured a few magic elements that create a great overall experience. Here is a quick recap.

LOCATION:
Check! If you need to be close to Central, and don't want to overpay, then this is a great place to stay. More importantly your also very close to one of the best BBQ (Yat Lok) and Ramen places (Butao) in HK!

AMENITIES:
Sometimes its the little things - A free mini bar and fridge stocked with free drinks and snacks. Nice gesture! A full work desk, a daily newspaper. Int'l plugs and a USB charger to charge my iPhone! Theres other good stuff too...like the velour slippers I'm wearing right now!

FACILITIES:
Modern and Clean. Great bathroom...no tub, but the shower is awesome - a rainfall shower in the ceiling and an oversize detachable hand-held shower head - take your pick. All marble floors and walls...and a square toilet - WHAT!? Extra towels and huge sink. Plenty of space for all your supplies. Full working desk, good bed and a flat screen mounted on the wall with Apple TV. One thing I really appreciated is that the WiFi is reliable; as there is nothing worse than when you're trying to get work done and the connection keeps dropping.

SERVICE:
Fast, efficient, responsive. As soon as I came in, I was greeted with English speaking staff who gave me a quick briefing of what I needed to know to stay in the area. They also booked a car for me back to airport at my request.

SUMMARY:
Ovolo is one of those hotels that has done some research on hotel psychology & guest behavior and has accommodated to the needs of their guests with detail. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Manager at Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear “Erick G”,

My sincere thanks for your wonderful and thorough review of our hotel facilities and service! We appreciate greatly the time you took to share your feedback and enthusiasm for our hotel as well.Should you plan future visits to Hong Kong, please feel free to contact us direct on 2@ovologroup.com to allow us to tailor make your visit.

Best Regards,
William Condon
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Needed somewhere central to stay for one night and so was keen to try Ovolo as it's new and has had good reviews. Location is great if you want to be near central/lan kwai fong - all within a few minutes walking distance. Rooms are a decent size and well laid out and fitted out with modern kit - the low level bed was comfortable and the tv/apple tv/nespresso machines and free minibar and goody bag and other amenities are a really nice touch. Bathroom is modern with decent size walk in shower.

You do get some road/building noise but nothing that is disturbing (or unusual for Hong Kong) and I had a great night's sleep. The gym is small with just a cross trainer and a couple of running machines and some other equipment but the machines are clearly brand new. The arrangement for breakfast at Cafe O downstairs works well - one tip though would be to order the breakfast for delivery to the room as the service in the cafe the morning I was there was erratic at best.

The real positive is that the reception staff are really friendly and helpful and clearly enjoy working at this hotel. I would certainly stay here again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: try and get a high room to minimise the noise from the road and bars below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in HK for Easter and so decided to have a one night romantic getaway at the Ovolo Hotel. The rooms are a good size and very nicely designed with great amenities including Apple TV, Nespresso machine etc. Freebies always go down well and in this case they were abundant - free happy hour, free mini bar, free snacks. I should add that when the mini bar is free I expect cheaper brands but in this case it was the opposite. The gym is small but equipped with the latest running machines. Dinner was at a Wild Grass just 30 seconds walk away. Service was excellent. A perfect stay - just a couple of minor points. Due to space limitation the happy hour was in the hotel lobby. Also, we ordered our breakfast in room so some kind of tray would have been useful to be able to eat in bed

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Turista42,

On behalf of the whole Ovolo team I would like to say thank you for writing a 5-star review about us online. It is truly an honour for us to read that your Ovolo experience was a “perfect getaway.” We strive to deliver perfection for our guests and when your review was shared with the team at Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road they knew we achieved our aim. Thank you. We look forward to hosting you in Hong Kong again soon.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong

Address: No.2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our signature Ovolo on 2 Arbuthnot Road offers a sleek lifestyle in a location that cannot be beaten right in the heart of the entertainment district between Wyndham Street and Soho.Designed by award‐winning Hong Kong firm KplusK Associates, each studio suite includes: a bedroom plus office – featuring a walnut desk and designer ergonomic chair, an impressively-sized bathroom decorated in onyx and marble, and all of the newest on-demand features like free high-speed WiFi, free minibar, Apple TV3 and ipads upon request. And with only two rooms per floor, guests are ensured the upmost in privacy and comfort during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovolo Hotel - 2 Arbuthnot Road, Central, Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.