We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Loco

Taco Loco
7 Staunton St, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-25221239
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,370 of 4,657 Restaurants in Hong Kong
2.5 of 5 stars 40 Reviews
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Bistro
Neighborhood: Central
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Good location, decent service, however as people have said the food is rather unremarkable. I don't think it is bad as others have said, just not especially memorable. Also I had a chicken burrito+2 pineapple juices and it came to HKD120 which is a bit steep. However it is quite common for that area. There are other Mexicans nearby so maybe shop around.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    9
    3
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mexican food or Indian Chicken Tandori?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This place is small and the food taste not like Mexican food at all, I am Mexican the food to me tasted more Nepali or India ... they said they've been trained by a Mexican.. I really wonder where the chef is from because it seems like he taught them how to cook Mexican food with a little Indian or Nepali spark.. I think is also overpriced...

Every time I go there I regret that I came back... Not worthy at ALL

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“OK Mexican for Hong Kong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Previous reviews were a bit harsh. This small beanerie did an adequate job of providing Mexican classics. Service was cold and far from gracious, but the food was edible and a welcome change from Chinese. Not expensive either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I went over for lunch and ordered a chicken burrito and it was one of the worse things I have ever eaten in Hong Kong.
There was no seasoning whatsoever, the chicken was rather raw and tasted like it had simply been boiled in dish water and the cheese was nowhere to be found. To top it off, the price was more than what I would have paid for something similar at another establishment in Soho.
Go elsewhere, soho has so many other culinary offerings that are much better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“If only we had seen the reviews- the worst food in HK. Do not go here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were craving Mexican and happened to stop by this place- great location near to the escalators, and in the buzzing SoHo. What a disappointment.

The food was awful- little resemblance to Mexican food; we tried the burrito, quesdailla, 7-layer nachos, and tacos salad- all inedible. Served in disposable foil trays or in plastic baskets with plastic cutlery, Sullen staff. No atmosphere. Floors were covered in dropped food. Expensive for what we were served.

AVOID like the plague.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Loco also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Taco Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Loco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.