We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, fresh food at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive, Greek & Middle Eastern

Olive, Greek & Middle Eastern
32 Elgin Street, Central, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Olive) (Central)
852-25211608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #439 of 4,627 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Chef Greg Malouf's signature restaurant in Hong Kong
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Starters - falafel was crispy, delicious, and accompanied by a nice fatoush salad. Halloumi was beautifully cooked and accompanied by a date jam, yum.
Mains - a beautiful chicken kebab with jeweled couscous. Really tasty and large portion (too large after a starter). Rabbit pie for the Husband who declared it wondrous.
No room for dessert. Good bottle of Lebanese red at less than 300$.
Service was exceptional (thanks Jimel). Attentive but not overbearing. Wine and water filled regularly.
First time here but not our last. Good prices given the venue in Soho. Saturday night and it was busy, but I got a reservation for two at 7pm that night for a 9pm table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Very tasty meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I really like to come to this restaurant.
The meals are all very tasty! The mezze are good, the fatoush salad is not the best one i had but still is OK.
I recommend the lamb, the risotto and the vegetarian tagine, even though it was a little bit to spicy, yesterday night.
The service is OK even though the waitresses could smile a little bit more.
Often full so don't forget to book in advance.
It's not a cheap restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“It's all good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have been a few times. Because I am a bit of a bargain hunter, I take my girlfriend there on Monday nights when mains are 2 for 1 !!

Every single time we have been all menu items are excellent, entrees are very tasty and mains are hearty and fresh. The staff are friendly and attentive. The restaurant is clean and modern with a good Greek feel. The beer is well priced but like most places in SOHO you will pay far too much for wine.
Definitely recommend for dinner especially on a Monday.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Budget Gourmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I find Olive's food quality to be consistently delightful, considering we have a dinner there monthly.

The atmosphere, price and service is of a 4 star, but food gets a 5 star rating from me.

Mezze, lamb, tuna and haloumi cheese dishes are our favourite, accompanied by an ok wine selection.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have eaten here many times and never disappointed. Its easy to avoid meat and still have lots of choices. Bottom line for me is flavor. The food just tastes good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive, Greek & Middle Eastern also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Olive, Greek & Middle Eastern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive, Greek & Middle Eastern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.