We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Forebase Chongqing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Forebase Chongqing to your Saves list
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.137 Keyuan Second Road, Jiulongpo District, Chongqing 400039, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 1,796 Hotels in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 565 Reviews
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

After a long day on the bullet train, meant to be a 2 1/2 trip turned into 5 hours, turning up at the hotel, met at the door by friendly staff, reception staff rocked, explained what was happpening, were we could eat, were the atms were, if we wanted a massage were to go.
Just excellent, the bellboy who brought your bags up was sweet, practicing his english on us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Sofitel valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We appreciate receiving the direct feedback and it is always shared with our team. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    266
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
8
18
17
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bochum
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was really surprised about the high quality of this hospitality,
over all a perfect businness hotel with french charme
rooms are very clean, king size bed are avaiable in different grade of hardness, very good service in the restaurant
the breakfast quality is 5 stars plus























  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback that we have shared with our team.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Chongqing!

Sincerely,

Quality Department

Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for almost 2 weeks recently on a business trip. A great hotel option if you are staying in Chongqing. Central location, friendly staff, good room size and amenities and a great lobby level restaurant. The breakfast buffet in this restaurant was always very good and the selection was very international. Ordering from the menu for lunch and dinner offered good selections as well.

Room Tip: Car horns in traffic can be a problem on the lower levels, so the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sofitel Valued guest,

Thanks for your choosing Sofitel Forebase Chongqing. We are so happy to hear that you had a nice experience here and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here at very short notice when our Victoria Cruise boat failed to sail.
Fabulous huge bedroom, with an excellent bath + shower room.
At dinner there was a huge choice of very good food; unfortunately the 'hot' food was all somewhat lukewarm.
Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of Chinese, Japanese and English food. There was even apple crumble, which even after two weeks of Chinese food, I know I shouldn't have had for breakfast, but apple crumble eaten at 8am with chopsticks (fortunately no custard!) was wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding our guest rooms and breakfast. We have also shared your comments regarding the temperature of the dinner hot dishes to our kitchen team for improvement.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Chongqing in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Repeatedly this year I found that various Accor properties supply just the bare minimum needed to maintain their star rating. Unfortunately the Sofitel in Chongqing is no exception.

After walking into a room where we barely could breathe due to smoke we were given a different room on a non-smoking floor. That this policy is not enforced becomes clear when reading a card in the room: "Please refrain from smoking in bed". A bad joke. This room is only slightly better than the first!

Everything else in this room is uncomfortable too. The light switches are nowhere near the door. The beds are the narrowest singles available. The toilet cistern needs 10 minutes to refill and will not flush even a little bit if it is not completely full.

The location is mediocre at best, far from any landmarks, 15 minutes walk from the nearest subway station.

The sign near the entry that calls this a "luxury property" is a joke - but certainly they maintain their luxury image in their drinks prices. After asking for the wine list a waiter instead turns up with a bottle of wine. This is the house red, he says. We feel pressured into buying it without knowing the price. It is a nice wine, sure. But for 160 RMB (US$26) a glass it certainly is the most outrageously priced "house wine" I have ever seen. When at billing time I request and finally get the wine list I do not find a house wine listed there at all, yet several other options by the glass were cheaper. Draw your own conclusions.

My advice: do not rely on big brand names, pick a good local run hotel and you will fare better almost everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, please accept our sincere apologies for problems you experienced during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Chongqing in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It is, indeed, a very good hotel, mainly, because of people working there.
Quite often I am in Chongqing and, despite not ever seen other hotel there, I am really happy with this one.
Big recommendation for everybody.
People are really nice, friendly and helpful and, I know what I am talking about. Believe me.

Room Tip: I have been, always, in a suite so, the only I can recommend is this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are so glad to know that you are happy to stay with us. Thank you for the recommendation.

We are looking forward to welcome you again next time in Chongqing.

Yours sincerely,

Quality Department

Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Forebase Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Forebase Chongqing

Address: No.137 Keyuan Second Road, Jiulongpo District, Chongqing 400039, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chongqing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chongqing
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chongqing
#9 Business Hotel in Chongqing
#24 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Forebase Chongqing 5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chongqing Economic and Technological Development Zone, the Sofitel Forebase Chongqing is one of the premier hotels in China. Featuring 464 rooms of pure indulgence, 3 divine restaurants and bars and state of the art conference facilities, thehotel offers unabashed luxury. Perfect for business or leisure trips with easy access to the airport and Chengjiaping Exhibition Centre. Nearby attractions include Chaotianmen dock of Three Gorges, Chiqikou Ancient Town and Tianchi Hot Spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Forebase Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing Hotel Chongqing
Accor Forebase Chongqing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.