We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Forebase Chongqing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Forebase Chongqing to your Saves list
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.137 Keyuan Second Road, Jiulongpo District, Chongqing 400039, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 1,796 Hotels in Chongqing
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I shared a room with a friend and paid for a twin room. We expected it to be cramped as we were told that the beds are large. To our surprise the room was very spacious and comfortable. The beds were Super and the hotel call them My Beds:-) I wish my bed in the hotel was MINE! This is my second time in this hotel so I know the beds.
Some areas of the room was a bit old and paint peeling etc., Most of the staff don't speak english which is frustrating.The corridors are rather dark. The hotel surrounding uninteresting.
The Chinese Restaurant food was excellent and we were told that it had won an award to be the best chinese restaurant..No wonder. We even had the chance to enjoy some authentic Turkish food. We loved the sweets. Yummy...
The staff are friendly and always there to assist. We met the Manager who even offered to take my big shopping bag to the room.
Otherwise we had a very nice stay, ate well, slept well and chilled out in the Lounge. Ahhh...there is no wifi in the rooms so we had to spend time in the lobby:-(

Room Tip: Try the My Bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit to the Sofitel Forebase Chongqing.Stay with us again! We hope that our dedicated and passionate ambassadors have made your stay a warm and enjoyable moment with us!

Your feedback is very valuable in order to continuously improve our service and hospitality. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Director
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    266
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
8
18
17
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bkk, thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

First time in Chongqing, I stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Love this hotel so much, it got the best hospitality, best rooms and best restaurants. I liked the ambiance of the lobby, it is very luxury and it also combines such a warm, cozy and welcoming feeling into it. Staff were very friendly starting from the door girls to housekeepers. The room was big, clean and got the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. They provided a high quality of linens, bed sheets and in-room amenity 'Hermes' very nice :-)
I had dinner 2 nights in the hotel, one was at the private hotpot restaurant and another one was Chinese restaurant called 'Bamboo Pavilion' , the food here was Topnotch !!!!! don't miss it, really recommend. I will definitely stay in this hotel again when I go back to Chongqing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Bonjour, Dear Sofitel Valued Customer.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Forebase Chongqing.
Thank you very much stay with us during this beautiful holiday season, best wishes and greeting you warmly with a wish that sincere from Sofitel Chongqing, wish you a healthy, wealthy, wisdom wonderful Xmas and happy new year!
Sincerely,
Hotel Director of Quality
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

All i have to say is positiv (at leats most of it ) ^^
Clean - new - bright - cheap
I am actually in this Hotel and I want to let you know my experience.

Free WiFI in the Lobby
Free LAN Network in the room.

All needed facilities in the Hotel.
Breakfast IS PERFCT !!! enjoy it

- the personal should be teached more in english ( or should at least have a clue what a guest means when he sits in the bar with an empty bottle of beer - rising his hands and shows with the pointerfinger a one) i just mean - this girl was not really trained. ( yeah maybe not worth to mention - but shall give you an idea)

+ the BED is a DREAM - never had such comfortable bed. WOW

You shall try it !!

Room Tip: basically the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Bonjour! Ni Hao!
Dear Valued Sofitel Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Forebase Chongqing. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our Ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.As you mentioned, we are trying to enhance our ambassadors English Language Skills via all different trainings.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely Yours,

Hotel Director of Quality
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I accompanied business colleagues for a business to Chongqing and stayed at the Sofitel on the 24th. October. It was a very productive trip mainly due to the comforts and the efficiency of the hotel. Unfortunately the hotel does not provide wifi internet, but the G M himself helped me with a router which worked well and I was able to send much needed reports to my office.

The Breakfast restaurant is basic and noisy due to the local people who speak very loud and with little concern for others but we had an excellent meal at the Wafu Japanese restaurant and also enjoyed the Fitness and enclosed pool.

The surroundings of the hotel is not nice but once inside it the Sofitel becomes a sanctuary and you forget the rest of the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit to the Sofitel Forebase Chongqing. We hope that our dedicated and passionate ambassadors have made your stay a warm and enjoyable moment with us!

Your feedback is very valuable in order to continuously improve our service and hospitality. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Quality Director
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you love luxury, specious rooms, nice breakfast and food, this is the place to be. We visited Chongqing last year for a conference and were surprised to see the luxurious hotel - our best place so far we visited Europe, China, India, South and North America. We eat vegetarian food - the manager hooked us up to Pakistani-Indian cook and that was all we needed. He cooked pretty good special food for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks for staying at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing and share your experience regarding the services and food quality during your stay.

After reading your responses we were very happy to learn that your stay with us was all positive comments. I am sure that all this positive feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Our culinary team and all other ambassadors are pleased to welcome you and your friends for a gathering over a meal or for a delightful stay during your next trips.

We certainly look forward to welcome you once again at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing.
Once again, thank you for sharing your comments.

Sincerely,

Quality Director
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Good hotel with excellent rooms and very helpful staff. They even walked me to the only cashpoint in town that would take a 4 digit pin card to withdraw some money. Easily one of the best hotel rooms I have stayed in.

Only down side was that I noticed after a few days that the same food was being brought out at the buffet though so decided to eat out. There is an excellent choice downtown in the city a short cab ride away.

There was also a very bizarre and slightly annoying jingle playing continuously in the lifts..

Don't under estimate the journey time to get here from the airport though, it is a long ride by car in this busy, busy city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Forebase Chongqing. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Our new Chef de Cuisine just on board and will be looking after the buffet now, hope next time visit will meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you again while you are visiting Chongqing either on business or leisure. Until then, thank you once again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Quality Director
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had stayed there 3 times, and it would say accomodation wise, it's an excellent hotel. They have problem with organizing meeting though, as we asked for 3 days of meeting room, but we need to re-confirm everyday. Overall, it's a very nice hotel. Location is not that good if you want to travel to the city centre for sight-seeing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Sofitel Valued Guest:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Forebase Chongqing. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

From the other side we are feeling sorry to hear that the service level from Event Management was not up to your expectations.

However, your feedback is very valuable in order to continuously improve our service and hospitality. Thank you very much.

We look forward to welcome you again while you are visiting Chongqing either on business or leisure. Until then, thank you once again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Quality Director
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Forebase Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Forebase Chongqing

Address: No.137 Keyuan Second Road, Jiulongpo District, Chongqing 400039, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chongqing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chongqing
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chongqing
#9 Business Hotel in Chongqing
#24 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Forebase Chongqing 5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chongqing Economic and Technological Development Zone, the Sofitel Forebase Chongqing is one of the premier hotels in China. Featuring 464 rooms of pure indulgence, 3 divine restaurants and bars and state of the art conference facilities, thehotel offers unabashed luxury. Perfect for business or leisure trips with easy access to the airport and Chengjiaping Exhibition Centre. Nearby attractions include Chaotianmen dock of Three Gorges, Chiqikou Ancient Town and Tianchi Hot Spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Forebase Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing Hotel Chongqing
Accor Forebase Chongqing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.