We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - language is only issue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chongqing North

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Chongqing North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chongqing North
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.96 Wuhong Road, Yubei District, Chongqing 401120, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 1,701 hotels in Chongqing
Doha
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - language is only issue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Holiday Inn has good rooms and nice facilities. No complaints for room or assistance only issue is communication. We have expected reasonable minimum level 3 English speaking staff in a four star hotel.

Booked online through IHG website, everything went smooth. On check-in I was asked for deposit for which I was not informed earlier. I tried to request two adjacent rooms with kitchenette and no one on front desk had clue what I am inquiring. Even Manager of hotel, after listening to my question did not acknowledged anything but starting discussing something in Chinese with his front desk officer. Needed fruit knife in room and had to call three times explaining and spelling out the word KNIFE to room service to send one to room.

Language was the biggest and only issue otherwise a fantastic hotel. Fast check-in, good advises for shopping or seeing places, very good in hiring taxis.

Hotel is far from Tourist places but to downtown it was only 20CNY which was very affordable and takes less than 20 min to reach whenever we went.

Very nice and comfortable bedding with choice of pillow. Good quality Toiletries/sleeper and very nice/clean bath with good quality shower.

This hotel is a safe bet, WIFI is free in lobby and wired in Room. Departmental store and fruit shop is right at the entrance. Bar in hotel also is nice with good music in evening, very entertaining staff surprisingly with very good English .

We had room only, so cannot comment on food quality.

I would recommend staying this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seems to be nice and specious, at least the ones we were in :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    129
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
7
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed her for a weekend in October. Staff had limited English. The bathroom shower had mold in it and did not drain. Room seemed poorly cleaned. No correction of problem by the hotel. The breakfast buffet had very limited non Chinese selections. The bacon was slightly cooked, nearly raw. Not much of interest near the hotel. Amenities adequate. I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Hotel is a Holiday Inn in Name ...the rooms are good size and good value. No complaints about the rooms at all. Stayed on Executive floor...good value. But their Idea of evening happy hour leaves a lot to be desired. Not much on offer and poor service.

Like many big chain hotels in China, they don't understand what servie is expected. The breakfast area is in the lobby and the choice is poor. But they have introduced a no smoking area !!!

This hotel is a safe bet if you are on business, but not much around there to see or do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last week for 2 nites - at the end of my 9 days China Trip.

Hotel was booked + paid for by my office so i have no idea what the room charges were.

Glad to be in an international chain of hotels (would rate this 3.5 stars) in China.

No welcome drink - nothing - at time of check in. Efficient but cold.

Room was OK - overlooked the roof tops of the apartments next door - with lots of trees/plants on the roof.

Toiletries provided were basic - laundry costs were cheap - fraction of the costs vs Hyatt on the Bund in Shanghai.

The bed/mattress was rock hard (and I am used to sleeping on firm mattresses).

Aircon worked - no issue.

Buffet breakfast was OK - do try their Tomato with eggs noodles - sweet and light yet filliing. Coffee was bland.

There is no shopping mall around the hotel - 2 KTVs right across the hotel - quality unknown.

Couple of local - repeat local - alfresco dining joints by the roadside (open only at night) that provides cheap and hearty (read spicy + sitting on low stools) meals across the street. Local beer is good. Open to the wee hours.

All in all - a good place to stay for a couple of nights in a "business class" hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
525 reviews 525 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Arrived from the river late afternoon and was shipped to the Hotel, as you would expect it was only slightly different from the usual. Staff fine and breakfast next morning had a good variety available.
Strolled down to a street market and later to the city center, amazed at the price of western goods in the stores.
We, in comparasion to some of the locals were the shabby dressers!!. Huge city of arpound 25 million in 2004.

Room Tip: Take a walk around, you move a century back in a 1000 yards
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaren et St Mediers
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Its location is not ideal as it's not in the town centre. It would be difficult to find a restaurant in the locality to eat. There was a slight problem with our reservation at reception but it was quickly and politely resolved with our guide. The room was clean and spacious and on the 17th floor. This wasn't a problem as the lifts were fast and you didn't wait long for one to arrive. Breakfast was a buffet style and can only be described as adequate and the service for coffee etc indifferent. The big problem arose when we sat at a table which was broken.,We moved to another table while staff tried to stabilise the other one having relaid the places. Only when they realised that it was in fact broken did they remove it from the restaurant. Where the table had stood was a pile of of debris, some very old, rubbish had obviously been swept under the table base on a regular basis!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The hotel provided us with all we needed for our 3 night stay. Friendly and accommodating staff, a good size and clean room and swimming pool.
We enjoyed the buffet breakfast. We walked to a large shopping district which hotel staff directed us to and also managed to find our way back. The zoo was worth a visit also as it was well laid out, not busy and we saw the pandas.
I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Chongqing North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chongqing North

Address: No.96 Wuhong Road, Yubei District, Chongqing 401120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,701 hotels in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chongqing North 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn North Chongqing is a brand-new property and the first international business hotel in North Chongqing. The convenient location makes it ideal for business travelers. All guest rooms are trendy and modern, equipped with the latest in sleeping comfort and double glazed windows in every room. The hotel also caters to every meeting organizer's needs, complimented by its full meeting facilities, food & beverage outlets, health club and efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Chongqing North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chongqing North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.